We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Getaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bankpark Lodge

Sitting Room with 40 inch TV CD Player
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting Room with 40 inch TV CD Player
Sitting Room Comfy Leather Sofas and Chaise Bankpark Lodge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Sitting Room with 40 inch TV CD Player
Sitting Room Comfy Leather Sofas and Chaise
Bankpark Lodge
Gardens
Four legged friends always welcome free
Revolving Summerhouse
Bedroom 2 overlooking the Garden
Hallway
Kitchen with Fold Away Dining Table and Chairs
Bathroom with Large Shower with Jets
Free use of Tennis Courts and Play Park 2 minute walk from `property
Tennis Courts and Play Park Free use
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Tranent, East Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Brian E
1 review
“Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed 24 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Bankpark Lodge is a beautiful little cottage on the edge of town, yet close enough to all the amenities that you need. Warm and cosy, spotlessly clean, our landlady was generous with her hospitality and kindness. An ideal place for couples to getaway from it all, or for families with young children or pets to play in a safe environment in the secure grounds. We would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eviebiba
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed 30 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

An amazing week in a comfortable lodge that is fitted to a high standard. Extensive lovely gardens to play/relax in. Bus stops for coast and Edinburgh close to lodge with some stops right outside of lodge.
We traveled via train and found getting around easy, supermarket and take aways as well as pub within short walking distance.
Children made the most of the garden and park across the road as well as walking and visiting local attractions. This is the first holiday that they have not bothered with electronics which was lovely as they just wanted to play and explore. The children loved going out on a morning to see the horses.
We will definitely be coming back, great owners Dave and Jemma were very pleasant and welcoming. They left us to our own devices to explore but were there if we needed anything.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2016
We were delighted to host this lovely family. We hope they will return again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rmck55
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Great family accomodation - everything you need”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We stayed here in January 2016 and very much enjoyed our stay. Set in a great location and all facilities are of a high standard. Fully equipped with everything you need and we liked the style of the decor/furnishings.

The owners are friendly and go out of their way make you feel welcome. You have your own private entrance/parking and the cottage is set in a separate area of the large garden, which means its private and you do not feel you are in intruding.

Bus stop just outside, with convenient access to Edinburgh or East Lothian and a short walk into town for shops/visiting the best Tranent has to offer.

Would definitely recommend for families, people with pets . We would plan to stay here again next time we are in Tranent. All the best Jemma!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2016
Thank you so much Rory.
Best wishes to all the family. Hope to see you soon!
Kind regards,
Jemma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsKandMr...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dog friendly, clean, lovely cottage - would go back.”
Reviewed 3 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Friendly welcome with lovely welcome pack of eggs, home grown tomatoes and grapes, cheese and biscuits. The cottage was very clean and beautifully furnished. Set in lovely grounds with a dog safe, enclosed garden (unless you have a very, very, small dog who could sneak through the gate). Friendly owner who makes sure you feel at home. Would definitely go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Property and garden.
Liked least: The bed - but I am pretty judgemental about beds. I'd have given it a 5 star with a different bed!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2015
Thank you ladies. It was great having you. See you again soon!
Have a Happy Healthy 2016
Kind regards,

Jemma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garyf211
1 review
“Very private, clean cottage with good bus links into Edinburgh”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed for 2 nights in July and were very pleased with the accommodation. We were made to feel welcome from the start and were given a lovely welcome pack which was a nice touch. The lodge is very private within the grounds of the owners house and it is great for children as there is lots of space to run around and there is even a large trampoline which my 3 yr old loved. The cottage is clean and well kitted out with most things you need and has free wireless broadband which comes in handy to check out bus times into Edinburgh etc. The bus takes around 30 - 45 minutes to get into the Edinburgh city centre which is fine and Tranent is just off the A1 so is handy for commuting. Would recommend the cottage to anyone who wants a private, clean cottage, close to Edinburgh and the surrounding area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy
Liked least: The noise of the busy road which we are not used to
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2015
How lovely of you to give such a good review. Look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Happy Healthy 2016
Kindest regards,
Jemma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather c
1 review
“Great wee trip with the dog”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We booked this as a bit of a last minute thing, to get away for a few days with the dog. From the minute I booked it, the level of service Jemma offered was brilliant. So happy to help. Even though Jemma ended up being out the country while we were there, she still text to make sure we had arrived ok and had everything we needed.

The cottage was lovely- nice and fresh and even though it was a cottage, there was still lots of space. There were essentials provided like bread, milk, eggs etc- this was a nice touch.

We were looking for somewhere that allowed pets and the main attraction for booking this cottage was the walled in garden. It was gorgeous. We got very lucky with the weather and ended up taking advantage of the garden for the 3 days we were there and just spent the day lying out. The dog loved it. There was so much space for her to run around, she was in her element.

The area was nice. There is a nice park just a few minutes away from the cottage and we took the dog there every morning. You can easily walk into town and there are lots of wee shops, pubs and takeaway places. The only thing we struggled with was finding a restaurant to sit in and eat. We went to Costello's on the our second night there and it was very nice.

A very nice, relaxing time was had by all- especially the dog!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2015
Thanks for the lovely review. Look forward to welcoming you again.

Happy prosperous 2016!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing