We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Bed & Breakfast”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Stradbroke, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alison P
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Bed & Breakfast”
Reviewed 8 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed for 1 night and wish we could have stayed longer. We stayed in the larger room which was amazing. Couldn't have asked for anything better. Breakfast was also fantastic. Suzan was so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The views from the bedroom and bathroom were superb. We will definitely stay here again when visiting family. Thank you

Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Your age range 35-49
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2017
Thankyou for taking the time time to leave such a great review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArchCriti...
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very old cottage with beams in quiet location and large grounds”
Reviewed 20 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We received a nice welcome to this quiet B&B, and stayed just the one night on our exploration of Suffolk. Bumble Cottage dates back to 1500, so it is unsurprising that the floor to the large beamed room we stayed in is on a bit of a slope. In fact, I had to sleep reversewise to counter the slope; walking around the room necessitated ducking to avoid a large horizontal beam whilst expending effort in keeping one's balance. The bathroom is next to the bedroom and very nicely equipped. What we didn't much like are the gloomy curtains and bedspread that adorned the room.

Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dickens01
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A most enjoyable overnight stay”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We received a warm welcome from Suzan to her beautiful thatched cottage.There were tea and coffee making facilities in the room and fresh milk in the fridge. Suzan was unobtrusive but readily available if we needed anything.
We slept very well in the peaceful surroundings and were served a delicious breakfast in the morning.
We would highly recommend.

Rooms Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LadyPPark...
London
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Full of Character”
Reviewed 15 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We were here for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The 16th century house is full of character with wooden beams and old floors. The bed was really cozy, so much so that the only thing that lured us out of it was the thought of the wonderful breakfast that awaited downstairs. Suzan is not only a wonderful cook but was extremely friendly and welcoming. From Bumble cottage it is a 10 minute stroll to the village where there are 3 pubs. We went to the nearest one, The Ivy House and the beer and wine there was first rate. Thanks again Suzan for a fabulous stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucy l
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Country Retreat”
Reviewed 31 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012
4
people found this review helpful

Stayed at this lovely thatched country suffolk house recently just for one night for a family gathering. from the moment we walked through the door the host made us feel welcome. The room was big with low beams in character with the old cottage with a bathroom just for this room. We went out for the night when we returned had best night sleep for ages the bed extremly confy we didn't want to get up for breakfast. Breakfast was worth getting up for delicious full english! We would definatley like to return to this bed and breakfast a lovely country retreat!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elefunk
Essex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hounded out of B&B”
Reviewed 9 June 2011 for a stay in May 2011
12
people found this review helpful

When booking this place for two nights we were asked for full payment up front ... now we know why. We were given a room with an extremely strong dog smell, and then kept awake by said dog barking directly under our bedroom for most of the night.
We left on the 1st morning without saying anything because we didn't want to spoil our 1st weekend away together in 10 years any further by risking an argument. We immediately sent a polite email explaining why we wouldn't be back for the 2nd night and suggesting they might like to at least refund us for that 2nd night. We received no response.
All we can conclude is that these B&B owners have been in this situation many times before and continue to operate in an unprofessional manner by failing to put their guests first and asking for full payment upfront. We feel foolish for being so trusting.

Value Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing