We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Swallow's Roost

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in The Oa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Swallow's Roost
Ranked #1 of 1 The Oa B&B and Inns
Wexford, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Rarely write reviews but had to after our stay here in late May. View from B & B was spectacular, as was the service and breakfast. Susan was very accommodating and Ralph had been generous enough to give us a lift when we were stuck. Overall, I would consider this one of the best experiences at a B & B and would certainly return. Thank you for a great memory.

Room Tip: King room has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joelmilliken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
28
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Susan made us very welcome from the moment we arrived. Swallow's Roost is situated high up, overlooking Port Ellen - a stunning view on a clear day. The house is new and is finished to a high standard. Our large bedroom had the same stunning view and the bed was very comfortable. We also had the use of a large, comfortable sitting room with widescreen television. The continental breakfast was excellent and made a nice change from the usual cooked breakfast.
We were on Islay for three days and it pretty much rained the whole time. However with plenty of Whisky distilleries to visit (we got to six out of the eight) we were never bored. There aren't many good eating places in Port Ellen so I would recommend taking lunch at the Ardbeg and Bowmore distilleries - excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed here during the heat wave in 2013, and had a fantastic time, made to feel more like we were visiting friends than staying at a BnB.
Could not recommend it enough, we will be coming back on our next visit to Islay.

As Whisky drinkers swallows roast is in a great location as we walked from here to Ardbeg, via Laphoaig and Lagavulin. So is ideal if you want to walk off the effects of a whisky tasting session.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed at Susan's two nights in September, and we loved it! It's a beautiful new home with an incredible view of Carraigh Fhada farm/lighthouse and Port Ellen.

Susan is an accomplished home baker, and she's incredibly generous, so "continental breakfast" doesn't do justice to the lavish spread she offers each day. She also makes sure there are ample treats at all times both in the sitting room and on the tray table in your room. My favorite small touch was a dram of whisky every evening. Needless to say, we had great conversations with our fellow guests, and we slept incredibly well.

Her father-in-law Ralph is a walking compendium of Islay history--and he would've made a fabulous tour guide in another life. (He actually worked as an excise agent for many years, so he's never at a loss for an interesting anecdote.) He's also the go-to guy for getting off the beaten path, and he steered us to a very good meal at the Islay Hotel.

I hesitate to recommend it too highly, though--we don't want Swallow's Roost to be so popular that we won't be able to stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

my husband and i went to Islay for 3 days in September. And what can I say the Swallow's roost is a perfect place to stay at! Clean, nice beds and rooms. And the breakfast was great! Lots of leaflets to look through. A very nice sitting room to relax and chat with other guests. Nice walking distance to Port Ellen.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnikaCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harnosand, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This is the place to stay when you'r on Islay!
Susan and her "in laws" Mary and Ralph made this a visit to remember, they really want you to feel welcome. Incredible breakfasts, fantastic view over Port Ellen and an outstanding service. Ralph took us under his wings and made sure we made the most out of our stay. We will definitly be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans_Ove2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I travelled to Port Ellen to visit some whisky distilleries and play golf, and I stumbled upon Swallow's Roost. What a fantastic find. The Inn is perched above the Kilnaughton Bay just outside of Port Ellen (about a half hour walk to Port Ellen) and offers beautiful vistas of the Bay and town. The owners, Susan and David Middleton, are fantastic hosts; they went out of their way at every turn to make sure I was happy and comfortable, even preparing late night snacks after an evening on the golf course. They prepared me great breakfasts every morning. They are the nicest people and they encourage you to feel at home in their inn. David or his very nice father, Ralph, drove me if I needed to go to distilleries or to go to Bowmore. The rooms are very clean and some offer a nice view of the bay. The price is very reasonable in comparison to some of the other B&Bs on the island and is a real good deal. Islay is a wonderful place to visit and Swallow's Roost is a great place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 927Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Oa
4.4 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
27 reviews
8.1 mi away
Port Charlotte Hotel
Port Charlotte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Charlotte
254 reviews
5.0 mi away
Glenegedale Guest House
Glenegedale Guest House
#1 of 1 in Glenegedale
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Ellen
370 reviews
4.1 mi away
Skerrols House
Skerrols House
#1 of 7 in Bridgend
128 reviews
4.7 mi away
Lochside Hotel
Lochside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowmore
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swallow's Roost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swallow's Roost

Property: Swallow's Roost
Address: Swallows Roost Swallows Roost Kilnaughton, The Oa PA42 7AX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > The Oa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in The Oa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swallow’s Roost Bed & Breakfast is a modern, comfortable family home situated in a peaceful hilltop location overlooking Carraig Fhada Ligthouse and Kilnaughton bay and is only approximately 4km/2.5 miles from the picturesque village of Port Ellen. Our friendly B&B is the perfect relaxing retreat for your stay in Islay. The island is bursting with distilleries, beaches, wildlife and stunning scenery, all waiting to be explored. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing