We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old building with new management, own breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helensville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grand Hotel Helensville
Ranked #1 of 3 Helensville B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
513 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
“Old building with new management, own breakfast”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed one night in the large and high blue room with old sofa and fireplace, 16m2 and separate communal male and female bathrooms down the corridor. We had an inside courtyard room, so no traffic sounds. No bedside lamps or bathrobes provided, but good bed. Since September 2012 new management and new decoration of the downstairs dining area. On the bedroom floor a spacious sitting area on the sunny street side which was used at night for the permanently houses workers for watching TV. Although the manager had asked them to be quiet at 6:00 am when they go to their work, a lot of crockery and pan rattles came from the next door kitchenette because the hatch was not at all sound insulated. After this, we also made our tea and breakfast here, because the restaurant downstairs was closed. Private parking on own terrain. Good cost-service ratio also for the restaurant.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a courtyard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank huys25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    8
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
5
6
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

Lovely clean rooms. We slept in, our bed was nice and comfortable. Loved the pork and vegetables we had for dinner. And bacon and eggs in the morning League on the bigscreen and a fantastic fire burning to keep us toasty warm10/10 guys thank you we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Recyclers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for one night. The room prices were very affordable.The rooms were very clean and the bed so comfortable that I skipped my morning run so I could lay in! There is a beer garden that catches the afternoon sun that we made use of too. The food in the restaurant was very good, we tried the creamy mushrooms and pizza. The staff were very friendly and we would come back here to stay

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank platypus2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We were passing through Helensville and saw the lovely building and just had to go in for a look. Rooms were cheap enough so we decided to stay a night. Good value for money rooms were big comfy and clean, staff was friendly. Had a few games of pool downstairs and a couple of beers in the bar and a few laughs with the locals Liked the large courtyard outside that had a nice outside fire burning. Free WiFi . But what really made me think this place was awesome was the yummy food! Best seafood chowder I have ever tasted home-made garlic bread too! mmmmm... gettin hungry thinkin about it now. Thanks guys One day we will be back to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sam e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Great value for money, the old hotel has heaps of character and the rooms have recently been renovated. Nice pub downstairs, played a few games of pool, great way to meet the locals, everyone is really friendly here. Had both dinner and breakfast at the pub, the food is awesome!! There is also a restaurant which looked good as well. Good place to stay if you're into mountain biking (Woodhill Mountain Bike Park is only 5 minutes down the road). Also, a 5 minute drive to Parakai Thermal Springs. Will definitely be back again for another weekend of mountain biking, thanks heaps Bonnie!!

Room Tip: There is one room available that has a bunk bed. The sun room also has fold out couches for larger g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank KiwisCanFlyWhangarei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

I went with my Dad to the Grand Hotel Helensville, we ate at the restaurant in house.

Rosso Restaurant was very nice, I loved the steak meal. We stayed the night in a very nice large room. It was very pleasant. Bonnie the hostess was very helpful.

We will go and stay at the Grand Hotel Helensville again. It is the best place to stay in Helensville.

Room Tip: The room on the East side was the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level Contributor
644 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The 'grand old lady' is up and running again albeit sans dining room. Loos for Ladies & Gents across the hall. Sunroom with internet access & a morning cuppa a further few steps away. Value for $ @nzd65 for a couple in this clean and tidy historic property. No frills. Lotsa 'steps' for 'keepfit' types. Showers are hot. Parking on the road is free. Host is bright & pleasant

Room Tip: earplugs & eyeshades for a better sleep?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank r s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helensville
5.6 mi away
Vineyard Cottages
Vineyard Cottages
#1 of 1 in Waimauku
25 reviews
14.7 mi away
Albany Oak Motel
Albany Oak Motel
#1 of 3 in Albany
43 reviews
1.3 mi away
Parakai Springs Lodge
Parakai Springs Lodge
#1 of 1 in Parakai
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Bridgewater Country Estate
Bridgewater Country Estate
#3 of 3 in Helensville
2 reviews
17.4 mi away
Whangaparaoa Lodge
Whangaparaoa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Whangaparaoa
306 reviews
14.1 mi away
Bush Sand and Sea
Bush Sand and Sea
#1 of 1 in Te Henga (Bethells Beach)
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Helensville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Helensville

Property: Grand Hotel Helensville
Address: 1 Railway Street, Helensville 0800, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Helensville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Helensville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly restored Grand Hotel and Rosso Restaurant. We offer hotel accommodation in Helensville. We have 14 Rooms available for Helensville accommodation.Our restaurant Chef needs to be congratulated for his professional service. We offer a wide range of quality foods and wines.We will be adding two Honeymoon suites shortly, the lounge bar is now open with huge TV screen ideal to watch events. We are creating an outside barbecue area with wood burning pizza oven. Bonnie, Wayne and the team look forward to the pleasure of your company – you won’t find better country hospitality (or coffee) anywhere in NZ.The lounge bar caters to many various groups and live music.If you are looking for accommodation in the Auckland region come and give us a try. The ambiance of The Grand Hotel Helensville is often commented on by our guests. So if you are looking for a place to stay in Helensville come and give us a try.Cheers from Bonnie & the team... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Helensville New Zealand - Auckland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing