We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rustic & charming”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Grapes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Francavilla Fontana, Province of Brindisi, Puglia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Maralyn A
1 review
“Rustic & charming”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The house was both rustic & charming and largely met our expectations. Pierfrancesco, our host, was helpful & reacted to our minor requests in a speedy & courteous manner. Unfortunately, our stay was marred by the following: excessive noise from the nearby busy road; the frequent trains that ran alongside the property; barking dogs from nearby properties & the incessant noise from the recycling facility 200 metres distant (which started at 7:00am).
The location of the house is at the southern end of Puglia, the conical trullo are located further north. A car is essential!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rustic charm
Liked least: The noise
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2015
Thank you for the time you took to write a review. I have really appreciated. It has been two years I have hosted paying guests at my house and I came to the conclusion that there are two different categories of guests: those who come to get the best of their holiday, who appreciate the effort one does to make them feel at home, and with whom most of the times a story of friendship arises, and those who look forward to putting you down for the sake of it. No mention was made to the champagne you found on your arrival to celebrate your wedding anniversary, along with the local wine, fruit, home made jam and local pastries. You didn't mention the beauty of the fields, the garden, the countryside; the precious linen of your bed,the four towels and one dressing gown each of you had received. You just remember the small local train that actually passes few times a day during the daytime only, and not in the night, which is at least 600metres far away from the house. I also want to apologise in the name of the straight dogs that might have barked in the night... well, we're in the country, maybe next time you should find a room in a hotel in town. Your "minor requests" were actually demanding requests made in the middle of the night, requests that were far beyond what you're supposed to get, but that nevertless I tried to satisfy. Of course you forgot to mention you left the house untidy and very dirty, despite the fact you were not staying in a hotel room, and still, but in a private house. I am sorry to say I don't recommend these guests to anyone. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ToniDavid...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A jump in the past. Absolutely MAGIC!!!”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I do not know where to start because we enjoyed the staying at the Trullo so much that I would like to go back.

The Trullo is located in a peaceful plot of land surrounded by olive trees with an amazing drive. We loved the outside: clean, well maintained, peaceful, private and romantic.

The rooms are generous, functional and the bedroom opens on a private courtyard where it is possible to eat and enjoy the sun.

One of the most important aspect of the Trullo was the hospitality, the kindness, the availability and the warmth of the owner who greeted us with a welcoming basket; and when we left, he provided with a delicious breakfast. He was discreet, charming and made sure we had our privacy at all time.

We also loved the place for its strategical position which allowed us to visit the whole South of Puglia, but obviously we where had our own car.

We would like to tell everyone who would like to visit Puglia to book the Trullo for all the reasons above and more (Puglia is magical).

Pierfrancesco Modeo, the owner of the Trullo, is an absolute a gem.

Toni

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: My face in the mirror in the morning
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2014
Dear Toni,
I too would like to thank you for choosing my house for your holidays. It was wonderful to have you around and I just wanted you to stay as a permanent guest. You're, quite simply, the guest everybody would like to have. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlieal...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rural Paradise”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My partner and I stayed at this wonderful property for 2 nights as we had to leave our original villa early... I wish we could have stayed here for our whole holiday!
The property is located just outside of the pretty town of Francavilla Fontana (30 mins from Brindisi Airport) but it feels like you are in the countryside. It is in a quiet lot, surrounded by tall pines and eucalypts. The grounds are overflowing with brightly colored flowers and original farm features.
The house itself is a cosy and authentic property with a spacious lounge/diner a kitchen (with an original bread-oven renovated but not for use) with a double bedroom leading out into an enclosed private courtyard with citrus trees, a well and a shaded area for relaxing and alfresco dining. The house has been tastefully and elegantly decorated by Pierfrancesco, the owner, with great attention to detail.
Pier himself is hugely friendly and approachable and likes to offer as much support to his guests as possible to ensure they get the most out of Puglia. He is knowledgeable about the local area and will go out of his way to help you.

If there was some constructive feedback to leave it would be that the bedroom can occasionally get a little hot, but nothing the stand-alone fan doesn't sort out.

We had such a lovely time here in a very special property that is obviously well looked after by its owner. I would wholeheartedly recommend this property to couples looking for a relaxing time tucked away in a rural setting but with easy access to some of the best sites in Puglia.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Original period features, well restored
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

It is a wonderful and peaceful place. Lovely house. I felt at home. words cannot express how beautiful the house is and how unique it was to stay in this house. I felt very privileged. On our arrival we found a basket full of local products, such as olive oil, wine, home made jam. It is also conveniently located for all those who want to go and explore Puglia. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the house.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Compagno/a
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;