We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding, 23rd Nov.”
Review of Troutbeck Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Troutbeck Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Nyanga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We just hosted our wedding at this perfect resort and to say it was perfect was an understatement. The wedding package is so reasonable and value for money. The list is endless of the things included for such a steal of an amount. The staff is nothing less than helpful and they assist above and beyond their station. The weather was raining and misty which is beautiful but not with an outdoor wedding. However, thank the Lord, the weather turned an hour before the ceremony and the staff went into instant set up mode for the outdoor ceremony. The food was sensational and so creative. I can not rave enough about this wonderful hotel with a colonial feel. Its in lovely condition. The views are next to none so definitely worth a visit.
The rooms are a bit pricey but they are superb quality and you feel more than pampered. Best night sleep in those gorgeous beds.
This hotel is first class all the way. And to comment on previous reviews mentioning its outdated, I whole heartedly disagree. Its very colonial with modern service but that's the perfect charm. Its set in a different era liking to the Livingstone in Vic Falls.
A must visit.

Room Tip: There are 70 rooms which are all lovely but the deluxe suites are highly recommended. They're th...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mesh27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
There are newer reviews for Troutbeck Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

We spent a long weekend in one of the timeshares, superb accommodation and fantastic views. Lovely walks in the surrounding area and excellent golf course. We ate for one night at the hotel which was a great disappointment, very poor and expensive buffet. We subsequently cooked for ourselves which was much more enjoyable. It is much higher and therefore cooler here than in many parts of Zimbabwe so warmer clothing is required in the evenings. If you get the opportunity to stay in one of the timeshares - take it !

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Troutbeck is timeless, it has not changed for 20yrs nor would you want it to. Walk into the reception to the roaring log fire, step outside to that breathtaking view and breathe in the fresh mountain air. Stay at Blue Swallow Lodges - self catering. Take EVERYTHING!

Room Tip: Blue Swallow Lodges - self catering. Take EVERYTHING!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ROBYND83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed in the Blue Swallow self catering lodges next to the hotel, we were in No1 and it has recently been refurbished with a new fridge freezer and everything worked well - importantly we had only brief power cuts, the staff were helpful and friendly. We didn't eat in the hotel but made use of the kitchen and Braii (BBQ) facilities. I did play 9 holes on the golf course that you have to go round twice with variations to get the other 9 holes in, having said that it is quite challenging and quite hilly with some great shots over water. A great experience but take some warmer clothing if you're coming from a lower altitude! Free WiFi is available at the hotel!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
5  Thank Cookee101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Our group of thirty stayed here in September. This is another one of those Zimbabwean hotels that urgently needs to be brought back to its normal status or taken over by people who know how to run an hotel. Everything very worn out and past its sell by date. The billing system is archaic.
Food average, rooms average and all in a beautiful location

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Afriod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The location is lovely and so is the scenery. However, it needs serious renovation and modernisation. The property is well maintained, but feels like it is yet to enter the 21st century. The staff is friendly, the food is good. The conference facilities are adequate. Please Africa Sun, do polish up this gem, and restore it to its former glory.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsTM199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

the hotel is beautiful loved the fired in the welcome area coz it was a bit chilly when we got there welcome was great the rooms were good the service impeccable, the food was also great enjoyed the view from the dining room. i just loved it would love to go back with my kids. check in and check out pretty hassle free

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nyanga
0.0 mi away
Rhodes Nyanga Hotel
Rhodes Nyanga Hotel
#3 of 4 in Nyanga
35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cutty Sark Hotel
Cutty Sark Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kariba
27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ancient City Lodge
Ancient City Lodge
#3 of 9 in Masvingo
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Amalinda Lodge
Amalinda Lodge
#1 of 9 in Matobo National Park - The Matopos
229 reviews
0.0 mi away
Big Cave Camp
Big Cave Camp
#4 of 9 in Matobo National Park - The Matopos
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Troutbeck Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Troutbeck Resort

Address: Nyanga, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Manicaland Province > Nyanga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Nyanga
Price Range: £112 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Troutbeck Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Troutbeck Resort’s 70 well-appointed rooms are increasingly used by those wishing to combine pleasure with business. Conference facilities, with the Rainbow Trout Suite holding up to 400 people, are complemented by the resort’s own 9-hole golf course and well-stocked lake. As well as golf and trout fishing, a swimming pool, tennis, volleyball and squash courts are there for the holidaymaker or conference-goer to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Troutbeck Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Troutbeck Hotel Nyanga
Troutbeck Resort Zimbabwe/Nyanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing