We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If Keji had chalets...”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caledonia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mersey River Chalets and Nature Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caledonia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If Keji had chalets...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

If you like Keji but sometimes want to get away from tenting, this place is very close and has a similar environment. Staff are great, rooms are nice, and the wildlife and sunsets are worth the drive.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler_127245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    18
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
34
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed in a large chalet with our child and two of our friends. We hadn't been there before but were delighted at what we found. The chalets are in the forest, on the river or on the lake and it feels like yours is the only one around. The bedrooms were spacious; the main room was large enough to have us comfortably sitting at the table and/or on the two sofas. Even the sofa bed was comfortable to sleep on. The kitchen is a little on the small side and could do with another cupboard unit so be prepared to live out of your grocery bags. The fridge however was more than adequate. The appliances worked well and the BBQ was way better than the one we have at home. They even had a properly sharp knife in the drawer and unscratched non stick pans. No problem cooking. We ate inside and outside despite the weather being non cooperative. The bathroom was a surprise as the shower is part of the room and there is a movable unit holding the towels. This is to accommodate wheelchairs. Everything is wheelchair accessible, even the kayaks (and there is a rope ladder to lower yourself into the boat).

The owner Tim (we didn't meet his wife Andrea) was so wonderful that it felt like we were old friends. They work very much on a trust system so people feel like they are a part of the place. Shame their restaurant was closed.

The setting is amazing and so close to Kejimkujik National Park that those who prefer a little luxury or security against weather can opt for this and still spend the day at the park. My only regret is that it's a little out of our price range so we probably won't be going again unless we can split the cost with another family.

Room Tip: If you have four to six people opt for the large chalet. If you have three families or want more roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

My husband and I were visiting Nova Scotia for the first time and booked just 2 nights in a log cabin. We were both sorry to leave as it is very peaceful and beautiful and wished we could have stayed longer. We took a canoe out and, in mid-September, were alone on the gloriously sunny lake. We stayed in cabin 5 which is on the river side and woke to the warmth of the sunny morning creating swirling steam coming up from the river. The boardwalks are lovely, and there are lots of places to sit out and just contemplate the views. The staff were very friendly both when I booked and when we stayed.

Room Tip: we stayed in cabin 5 which had a super location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

I stayed one week in the Loft of the Log House overlooking Lake Harry. I loved the lake view and the large trees surrounding the area. So peaceful and tranquil, just what I needed! Was my first time at this retreat. I called at the last minute and Cindy was wonderful in finding me the perfect peaceful place to stay. Especially liked the pet-friendly policy. I walked all the trails and rode my bicycle. The trails in the forest need a bit of maintenance. I couldn't find one trail as the trees and bushes had grown over the opening. There are many peaceful stops on the boardwalk along the beautiful Mersey River.

Room Tip: Ask to stay at the Log House. There's a beach and picnic spot in front of it, plus a large grass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

This was one of many great experiences at Mersey River Chalets and Nature Retreat. I have been going there at least once a year for the last 6 years. This time my best friend and I brought my 2 nieces and we stayed in the large wall tent and had a fabulous time! The river was perfect for swimming. We used the common kitchen area to prepare our meals, made some new friends, it was perfect. It's always clean and the staff is always so helpful and friendly! I will keep going at least once a year! LOVE IT!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gomechaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
321 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

I stayed one night in a chalet, and it was very comfortable and clean, great layout with a nice wood stove and grill and deck seating area. The hosts were very friendly and accommodating and I would love to stay there again. The property is about 2km off route 8 and very quiet and spacious. Nice river flows thru it and good space to play or relax. As I was going during the off season (late May) some of the services are not online there yet like the restaurant so plan ahead depending on when your going. If your on a bike, note there is a manageable dirt road leading to the resort area.

Accommodations are pleasant and comfortable but not chic in case your expecting a posh time. You'll be more than comfortable and though there is wireless in some places, be prepared to be offline:)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flipper95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

We stayed at the Mersey River Chalets last summer. I must say I have never stayed in such a shabby cottage before. To make it worse it smelled horrible. I guess that people with dogs have been there before us and they haven´t clean up properly afterwards. The floor looked so awful no one would believe this, it should have been renovated years ago, like the whole cottage. I only give 2 points because the restaurant is nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KarenE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caledonia
22.8 mi away
Annapolis Royal Inn
Annapolis Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Annapolis Royal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
11.6 mi away
Caledonia Country Hostel
Caledonia Country Hostel
#1 of 1 in Caledonia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Whitman Inn
The Whitman Inn
#1 of 1 in Kempt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Tranquil Times B&B
Tranquil Times B&B
#1 of 9 in Annapolis Royal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.0 mi away
B&B Art of Germany
B&B Art of Germany
#1 of 1 in Caledonia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
23.8 mi away
Crown Cove Cottages
Crown Cove Cottages
#1 of 4 in Granville Ferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mersey River Chalets and Nature Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mersey River Chalets and Nature Retreat

Property: Mersey River Chalets and Nature Retreat
Address: Mersey River Chalets Rd 315 | Nova Scotia, Caledonia, Nova Scotia B0T 1B0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Caledonia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caledonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mersey River Chalets and Nature Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing