We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey and with no WIFI but still worth it”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caledonia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mersey River Chalets and Nature Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caledonia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Pricey and with no WIFI but still worth it”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

What a place! It's beautiful, rustic and extremely well maintained. There are lovely wooden paths going along the shores of the property with occasional chairs along the way.
There are also kayaks, sporting toys and some books available (all free). Extremely beautiful and relaxing if you want something that is well hidden in nature.

The only two cons are the price (250 a night is a bit much) and the fact that there is no WIFI. I was told there isn't because they need to pay for the usage, which is a bit of a "duh!" statement. At the price they're charging they can afford to provide internet access to their guests.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DavidCatriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    18
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
34
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

My friends just got married at Mersey River Chalets on Saturday, and I was VERY impressed with the venue. It is a stunning location, and all of the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were great value for the money too!

I would highly recommend this location to anyone looking for a beautiful outdoor ceremony with the perfect setup to have guests stay overnight. Beautiful boardwalk!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My husband and I and two adult daughters were able to spend only one night rather than the three we had planned, because of disruptions caused by Hurricane Arthur. Even as they dealt with the challenges of getting things back to normal after the storm, our hosts, Tim and Andrea, were warm and helpful. The chalet we rented was very comfortable, quiet, and beautifully situated with a view of the river. We enjoyed the kayaks and canoes, the tennis courts, and the many lovely places to sit near the water and read or chat. We also were impressed by the measures that have been taken to make the property wheelchair-accessible. "Nature retreat" is an accurate description of Mersey River Chalets, and I hope we are able to go back someday.

Room Tip: The small chalets are perfect for a family of four, even four adults. The kitchen is well equipped...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We initially booked a chalet here because it was near Kejimkujik National Park; however, the Mersey River Retreat is a beautiful nature sanctuary of its own. My husband and I had our first close up view of hummingbirds in flight from the hummingbird feeder on the deck of our chalet, which contained a fully functional, albeit small, kitchen and two comfortably sized bedrooms. The chalet was only feet away from the wooden boardwalk surrounding the beautiful river. Tim, the totally unpretentious and calm proprietor, gave us the option of using their canoes or kayaks, the cost of which is included with the chalet rental; however, after three and a half hours of hiking in the park earlier, we chose to sit, relax, and enjoy the different views of the river from the various Adirondack chairs dotting the boardwalk. If ever I have a nervous breakdown, Mersey River is number one on my list of places to convalesce.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8cake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigonish, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My Fiance and I spent 2 nights here in June. After checking in we enjoyed the Boardwalks, and the deck of our cottage with a few drinks.
The next day we spent hiking and sightseeing through Kejimikujik national park as this is a great home base for Keji since it is so close!
Our second evening back we enjoyed the the Canoe's at Mersey River Chalets after cooking a nice meal in the Cottage. Everything you need for a peaceful week-end getaway is in the cottage including Firewood, kindling, and matches to light the Wood stove inside during the colder seasons!
I will definitely check this place out again, and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinT85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

After a good day at Kejimkujik we arrived to a friendly warm reception at Merseyriver Nature Retreat.

Quite and beautiful scenery, unspoiled and just what was needed to stay in the "nature mode". The small chalet was spotless clean and well equipped with everything we needed.

Canoe rental was FREE and the boardwalk is great for a dusk/dawn walk.

The area does however need maintenance but nothing serious at all.

Recommend highly after a great day at the park!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InCape2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My husband and I decided to rent a chalet to enjoy a winter wonderland. Hey, if you can't beat it, join it! What a relaxing time it was. Although the restaurant is not open this time of year, the chalets come with a kitchenette and we made our own meals and enjoyed out meal by a crackling fire. If you are in dire need of treating yourself to a weekend of pure relaxation, check out this wonderful hidden gem.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caledonia
22.8 mi away
Annapolis Royal Inn
Annapolis Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Annapolis Royal
104 reviews
11.6 mi away
Caledonia Country Hostel
Caledonia Country Hostel
#1 of 1 in Caledonia
3 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Whitman Inn
The Whitman Inn
#1 of 1 in Kempt
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Tranquil Times B&B
Tranquil Times B&B
#1 of 9 in Annapolis Royal
57 reviews
0.0 mi away
B&B Art of Germany
B&B Art of Germany
#1 of 1 in Caledonia
17 reviews
22.9 mi away
Queen Anne Inn
Queen Anne Inn
#3 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mersey River Chalets and Nature Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mersey River Chalets and Nature Retreat

Property: Mersey River Chalets and Nature Retreat
Address: Mersey River Chalets Rd 315 | Nova Scotia, Caledonia, Nova Scotia B0T 1B0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Caledonia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caledonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mersey River Chalets and Nature Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing