We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one of the best B and Bs” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Grange
Ranked #1 of 2 Normanton B&B and Inns
Hamilton New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“one of the best B and Bs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

we had two rooms booked for us by friends from York who booked us into Stewart and Sara's bed and breakfast for 5 nights . From the moment we arrived till we left Sara and Stewart were wonderful hosts and made us feel very welcome in their beautiful home which has been in the family for over 100 years. Our rooms were big and spacious with a comfortable bed and the en suite was spotless and cleaned every day and given fresh towels. This couple love food and it showed in their presentation of the breakfasts that were available each morning . Our friends were rung on our arrival unknown to us by sara to say we had arrived and they came to the Grange to see us and made welcome by Sara and shown to the guests lounge where we could sit and chatter before heading out to to visit the area.. We could visit York city , whitby and Goathlands where they filmed the TV series of Heartbeat all from the Grange . This couple go the extra mile with everything they do and treat you as family . We cant praise them enough . We will certainly be staying here again on our next visit to the UK.

Room Tip: we had the first two bedrooms on the left going up the stairs. Both had lovely views of the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
6
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

My deepest thanks to Sarah and Stewart for making a home away from home. This B&B is better than 4 and 5 star hotels I have stayed in. The accommodation is spotless, the rooms comfortable and the en-suite shower/bathroom modern and super clean. The 'power shower' was luxurious! Sarah's cooking was delicious and very filling. I couldn't think of a better place to stay. With easy access to Leeds and York it is in a great location. I could go further but suffice to say this is the place to come to!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fudge237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

This has got to be one of the best b & b's I've ever stayed in! The room was gorgeous - really pretty. The bed was comfortable and the en suite was spotless. The house & the garden were delightful. The breakfast was delicious & loads of it :) The lounge was a lovely room to relax in, I could have stayed there all day just reading & enjoying the peace & quiet. Sarah was a lovely host..... I will be more than happy to stay there next time I am in the area x

Room Tip: Any room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

I and my friend Helen stayed at the Grange as we were competing in a quiz. We were with two other friends.
Fantastic welcome. The rooms were gorgeous. I invited my daughter over for the second night and we shared a triple room . I asked if we could eat there in the evening and Sarah and Stuart conjured up a wonderful Italian 3 course dinner. My other friends had gone to a restaurent and I believe they wished that they had stayed in with us. We spent the rest of the evening in the comfortable lounge watching DVDs from the massive selection.
Breakfast was excellent and we will be definately staying again .

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieP943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S.A
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

My sisters and mom were here to visit a friend, and the location was perfect. Sarah and Stuart were very helpful in all ways. The house itself was very beautiful, and the garden was one of the most delightful we have seen. Everything about the food was delicious, and we enjoyed it greatly (wish we could have taken some back with us to the US) In summation: Thoroughly enjoyed our stay!!! Delightful host and hostess!!! Food was delicious!!! Wonderful service!!!! And everything about it was marvelous!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePhillipses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks,
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

We recently stayed here for one night while visiting a friend who lives in the area. The Grange was perfect, a clean and comfortable place to stay which felt like home. There is a nice lounge area to relax in which meant that we weren't stuck in our room or feeling that we were intruding in the family house. Sarah and her husband were very helpful, it really couldn't have been better. We'll most definitely stay here again when we're up that way and in need of a place to stay. Recommended without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiFruit_Bucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012 via mobile

We spent two nights with our 16month old little boy and they could not have made us feel more welcome, they were so helpful and Finlay had a lovely collection of toys to play with at breakfast ( along with a high chair and own bowl) the breakfast was amazing as so flexible with the times and choice was great. Finlay enjoyed splashing about in the monster bath and even though the bathroom was seperate ( but our private one) we never meet anyone on the way to the bathroom and felt like an ensuite. The room was lovely and we all got a good night sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlemisssmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Normanton
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Castleford M62 Jct 31 Hotel
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Castleford (Xscape, M62 J32) Hotel
3.1 mi away
Stanley View Guest House
Stanley View Guest House
#12 of 19 in Wakefield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
4.0 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,384 reviews
3.6 mi away
King's Croft Hotel
King's Croft Hotel
#2 of 6 in Pontefract
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange

Property: The Grange
Address: 2 Snydale Road, Normanton WF6 1NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Normanton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Normanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing