We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kawiti Caves

Kawiti Caves
Book In Advance
More Info
US$105.66*
and up
Shore Excursion: Bay of Islands Sightseeing Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
205 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stopped here on our way south after spending three days in Paihia. It was recommended by the owner of a coffee shop in Kawakawa, opposite the "World's Best Bathroom". There were only five us on the tour and the guide. He gave a very informative talk about the cave system, it's formation and the glow worms. The trip through the cave was on a raised walkway and took about 20 minutes. When we were will inside the cave he extinguished his light and the view of the glow worms was like looking at the milky way at night. Further into the cave we were able see several worms at close range. We have not been to the caves in Waitomo yet, but they will have to be something to top this experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank rrobbinsCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    62
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Magic Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

This was our third glow worm cave experience in New Zealand over the last few years and we were impressed with what this series of caves had to offer. You were so close to the glow worms that you could fully appreciate them. We were all amazed when the guide turned off all the lights and the glow worms by themselves were enough for you to see others in the cave. The walk back through the limestone formations was pretty in itself. Though it is a little off the track, it is well worth taking the time and effort to see this cave.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceeded Excpectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We saw these caves on GrabOne so decided to go. After driving down a pot-holed road to get there and seeing only a very basic ticket office, we didn't have high expectations. However, the guided tour was FANTASTIC! Our guide was knowledgeable and friendly and we were amazed by the caves and glow worms! Even at full price ($15 per person) I would recommend these caves.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LBrown013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Magical...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

These caves are awesome. Non-commercialised and very friendly staff. A wooden boardwalk goes through these caves with a stream running underneath. 2 guides with lanterns take you through and gave a very thorough and educational tour explaining the myths and legends and all you need to know about glow worms in regards to this cave. It was like being in a scene out of Indiana Jones. It finishes with a short but very picturesque bushwalk over the mountain back to the carpark where there is a lovely picnic area. It is a very cheap outing and a great experience for all the family.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gray112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing value, family run glow worm cave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We had given up all hope of seeing a glow worm cave on our short trip to NZ as the Waitomo caves were just in the wrong location for us.

Fortunately we saw the sign for this place as we visited friends in Kerikeri. There was our family of four and another family on the tour. Pretty sure it was $15 for adults and $7.50 for children.

Great value for what you get to see. That first moment the guide turns off the light and your eyes adjust to the sights that are all around you is mesmerising. We learnt so much about the life cycle to during the tour. Thanks for the great job your doing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheArcticHare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kawiti Caves also viewed

 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Kawiti Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing