We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic genuine agriturismo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tenuta Pantano Borghese
Hudiksvall
2 reviews
“Authentic genuine agriturismo”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Tenuta Pantano Borghese is a most lovely and friendly agriturismo situated just 20 km east of Rome, easy to find and difficult to leave. This is an authentic and genuine agriturismo with all the perfumes and sounds you should find in a healthy countryside. While you are swimming in the pool you hear the cows in the meadows and birds singing in the trees. You are in the countryside at an estate famous for its high-quality milk-production from more than 100 cows and work is going on all night and day. Still there is a silence and a kind atmosphere which sweep your stress away. As soon as you arrive you calm down in front of the agricultural buildings bearing the history of the Borghese family since 1613, with them also the history of Rome and the history of Lazio and Italy since many hundreds and thousand of years. You are at a place with an amazing past and a strong identity of Lazio and very close to Rome. You feel the importance of history, and the owner´s love and care for the estate.It was a great pleasure to get to know Tenuta Pantano Borghese and I was sorry to leave after a few days only. But I will come back and stay for longer periods, also because the persons employed to take care of the guests are asauthentic, genuine, lovely and interesting as the whole estate. I warmly reccommend a stay at the Agriturismo Tenuta Pantano Borghese, in Lazio,in Italy..

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maj-Britt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    14
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
25
9
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asker, Norway
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We had an apartment with 3 bedrooms. It was nice and spacious for the 5 of us. We had wifi, and it worked also outside. We slept like babies, and had to wake the kids up to get to breakfast in time. The breakfast was fine, but we missed some fresh fruit. The milk from the farm was delicious. The kids enjoyed the pool and the ping-pong table, and the big space. As this is a working farm, you see cows "everywhere", and every now and then you smell them, but for us that was just charming. It was nice to walk on the grounds, and to see the horses and the aqueduct! Quite impressive! The entrance to the farm is wonderful, with the most impressive ally we've ever seen. We are definitely coming back, and would reccomend this place for families with children, and groups of friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eli_Asker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

The property is very picturesque with lots of land for walking which we liked. The immediate surrounding area however is not at all pictureseque and actually quite dodgy so you definitely need a car to get anywhere nice. The facilities on the farm are minimal. The pool is relatively small and is often dirty as it is not cleaned efficiently/regularly. The appartment was nice but basic eg. only 2 hobs, a sink and a fridge and no counter top space to cater for 6 people. There are regular/weekly events/weddings which we were not told about in advance and the music kept us awake until 1/2am. The owners are unfortunately not at all interested in good customer service and are impolite, aggressive and patronising, in particular the lady (Monica) who spends a lot of time walking around the grounds shouting the name of her son and barking orders at staff. When she is in her office she is very unapproachable and if you need to ask questions or have any requests the attitude is very defensive and rude accompanied by a fake smile. We would definitely not go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dago090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pantanoborghese, Direttore at Tenuta Pantano Borghese, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Sometimes doing this job we welcome into our "home" people who seem "way" and instead turn out to be anything but. It 'a regrettable but unavoidable inconvenience!
Do not imagine to have guests (an English woman pregnant married to an Italian) that did not meet the cleanliness of the apartment leaving always unacceptable conditions (see garbage and dirty dishes everywhere). Do not imagine that for 2 people renting one of our larger apartments, then more people use it without our permission, including a dog.
As always we do with all our guests, We have warned them that in our property we have Weddings, so we can not accept any complaints to that effect.
Unfortunately, our disappointment and disillusionment peaked when we saw that after their insistent demand for use of the garden for a private party, with absolutely no cash refund of course, have used and abused the pool (perfectly clean and clear every day ) and this time the 20 people sent to our knowledge have used the pool is in use to all guests of the farm !
For any request we have endeavored to provide all of them to solve any problem and without charge (me, my husband, our secretary and our assistant:
-The arrangement of cars, motorcycles of the lord
-The arrangement of their luggages in a storage room when they left the apartment for a week
- Sending e-mail with document scanning
-Installation of wi-fi Internet connection in the apartment to facilitate
Finally, we hope that after a lot of nice people who attend our "home", only 2 of these people are just an accident to be forgotten!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Conveniently located close to Frascati, Rome, and the Castle Romani area. But, the traffic made my 8 KM trip commute to the conference center into a 30 minute ordeal. The farm is 1 KM back from the main route, providing peace and quiet from the hustle of the town of Finnochio, which was nice. This 2 room balcony "apartment" provides the absolute bare minimum in creature comforts with only a 2 burner stove/sink/refrigerator combo with no counter space to even put dishes. No microwave, no toaster, not even a can opener. There are 2 close-by groceries. The breakfast items provided were dated 2 weeks prior to our arrival and we needed to ask for more breakfast items. The fresh farm milk and eggs were nice. There was no internet in the room and we had to go to the office area and sit outside with no power (or in the office with the power if the proprietor was there) to get the wireless. No extra blankets or pillows were provided (and we could have used them!). Based on other Agritourismos we've stayed at on the Almafi Coast and Florence, this was okay, but expensive for what was provided.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MinersView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pantanoborghese, Direttore at Tenuta Pantano Borghese, responded to this review, 5 April 2011
We are very upset and astonished reading the above comment made probably because our guests didn't read carefully about what is our property and the services and facilities offered in the apartments. No interest about the FarmHouse activities or walks around in spite of our talks and information given at the arrival.
Our breakfasts are always prepared with care and fresh ingredients: homemade marmelade, fresh milk and eggs, fresh croissants and bread and so on.
We hope people will come to our property looking for a friendly welcome and relaxing place for vacation. Everybody must find the right place to go and now with internet is very easy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neuchatel, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

A nice farm.... but a bad disponibility of the proprietary, really antipathic. Obligation to take the breakfast between 9 -9.30 (why doesn't she simply let coffee in a thermos and something to eat on the table, like everywhere?).
The rooms wasn't clean. We'll never come back there.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lololololololo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pantanoborghese, Proprietario at Tenuta Pantano Borghese, responded to this review, 4 November 2010
we are extremely sorry for the misunderstanding because we have never had guests complaining about our hospitality but always people regretting for leaving our relaxing and peaceful place and thanking us for our gentleness and disponibility. Try to believe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We arrived late (our fault) and tired, and were initially disappointed to discover that we had been booked into a 2 bedroom apartment, despite requesting the 3 bedroom apartment on our booking form (Cesare). The owners were away on holiday and their assistant didn't speak much English.

However, Inga (the assistant) couldn't do enough to help, even phoning the owners (who speak excellent English) to try and resolve the problem. An hour later and we were moved into Cesare which is a lovely apartment. Everything was spotlessly clean. Only downsides are (1) there's only a very tiny two ring hob and sink, with fridge underneath. It's not easy to cater for a family of 4 with just that! (2) The master bedroom has a huge bed with the most uncomfortable mattress I've ever slept on (no springs). Fans were provided in all three bedrooms (thankfully, as it was SO hot!)

The pool is lovely and was a great way to feel refreshed after a day in Rome.

The local railway line (which runs from the bottom end of the farm) was being renovated and won't be open until 2011 (we didn't know this in advance) - however we were told how to reach the nearest station and the owners had thoughtfully written out the times of trains to and from Rome.

Be prepared - this is a working dairy farm so you'll get the smells and noise of cattle. Also a very noisy donkey and two dogs who bark (guarding their territory) but don't let that put you off. The owners and their assistant could not be friendlier, more helpful and this is a lovely place to stay if you don't fancy being in the centre of a city (only 20 minutes by train).

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elswickian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monte Compatri
5.6 mi away
Tenuta Cusmano
Tenuta Cusmano
#1 of 4 in Grottaferrata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.6 mi away
L'Ottava Hotel
L'Ottava Hotel
#1 of 2 in Monte Compatri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
2.8 mi away
Agriturismo Tenuta Quarto Santa Croce
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Agriturismo I Casali della Parata
2.8 mi away
Country House Erba Regina
Country House Erba Regina
#1 of 25 in Frascati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
10.2 mi away
Il Falco Eco Agriturismo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenuta Pantano Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta Pantano Borghese

Property: Tenuta Pantano Borghese
Address: Via Casilina Km. 20 N.1, 00077 Monte Compatri, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Monte Compatri
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Monte Compatri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historical farmhouse since 1613 is still a dairy farm. We have 11 restored and well equipped apartments to rent. Only 20 min. From Rome downtown by regional train. Wide green spaces for children and adults relax. A restored dining hall and huge gazebo in the park offer a great opportunity to organize weddings, special events and bus. Meeting. Consecrated chapel at disposal.Rome surroundings are very interesting to visit like Frascati, Tivoli, Castelli Romani. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Tenuta Pantano Borghese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta Pantano Borghese Rome, Italy - Monte Compatri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing