We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B & B!”
Review of Solley Farm House

Solley Farm House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Solley Farm House
Ranked #1 of 4 Worth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Excellent B & B!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My husband picked out this gem for our 10th anniversary. From the moment we arrived, it was clear why Solley Farm House earned the 5 Star Gold Award. We were warmly welcomed and provided with valuable information about Sandwich and Deal. The decor--from our Rose Room to the rest of the home and garden--was so lovely and charming. Breakfast in the morning was a real treat as well. We will definitely be recommending this wonderful B & B to friends looking for a laid-back getaway!

Room Tip: Ask for the Rose Room. It has the ensuite shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drtckelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
115
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

From the moment we arrived at the 5 Star Gold Award Solley Farmhouse it was abundantly clear that the rating and award was well deserved. Such a warm welcome from Sandy showing us our stunning Rose Room then making us a cup of tea with a piece of cake. Sandy is such a congenial host who is passionate about her property and deservedly proud of the stunning garden. We came upon this B and B purely by accident but it won't be an accident when we return. Nothing was too much trouble and felt so at home there I was really sad to leave!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Having gone to Deal for the weekend without having organised somewhere to stay, we were put in touch with Sandy at Solley Farmhouse by a friendly local restaurateur. (Andy at 'Victuals' in Deal). Solley Farmhouse was a charming little village gem and very ably run by Sandy Hobbs and husband Peter. Charmingly decorated, our room was extremely comfortable and a 'home from home' with a view out over her garden. Sandy went out of her way to make sure that we had everything we needed and her full English breakfast the following morning was a triumph. So nice also to see butter on a butter dish along with Wilkin Tiptree jams and marmalades on the table! Staying at Solleys was a real treat! Thank you Sandy!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed in Solley Farm House for an overnight stop on our walking route. We had two beautiful rooms GOLD and BLUE, both of the rooms were very nice and cosy. The atmosphere in the house makes you to feel so comfortable. Owner Mrs Sandy was very friendly and helpful. We would simply say - lovely house, outstanding rooms. Definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seva14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This B&B is located in a small village perfectly situated to visit Canterbury, Sandwich, the cliffs of Dover and the coast. The house is an old dairy farm with a beautiful breakfast room tastefully decorated in classical English style (dark wood furniture, flower sofas and antiques...) and has a fantastic inglenook fireplace. Breakfast is delicious and offers everything you may want (you have to order the night before). The owner is really charming and very helpful recommending places to visit and restaurants. It is obvious that she works hard to make her B&B the best and the stay of her guests as pleasant as possible. The Rose room was extremely well equipped (bathrobes, slippers, hairdryer, all kinds of soaps, creams, shampoo, coffee and tea making facilities with biscuits, chocolates, still and sparkling water.. everything, DVDs are also available in the corridor in case the weather is not good and you want to spend some time in the room). It is a big and cozy room, the bed is of good quality and we slept very well (it is quiet), the bathroom though, it is a little small and the furniture of the room of standard quality. The stairs to the first floor where the rooms are located are steep, narrow and winding (it is an old house), it may difficult if you have mobility problems. And yes, it is a little expensive, but we felt so welcomed that we forgot. Recommendable, indeed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viaj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The farm house is gorgeous, no doubt about it. The location is simply amazing, with every room overlooking a duck pond. I can see why all other reviewers think they experience was excellent or outstanding. I enjoyed my stay and both the house and the village were stunning - a picture card experience. I particularly enjoyed the bed and the ben linen. The host makes you feel at home and nothing seems to be a problem. In your bathroom you will find everything - from 6 towels to a nail file. Her attention to detail is amazing and everything is extremely clean and fresh. This B&B won heaps of various awards and if it something you appreciate, you might want to booking a few nights!
Just a few fair points to other fellow travellers.
- It is a cottage. Some of you might think it is cosy, some of you might be claustrophobic.
- It is located in the middle of nowhere. If you have a car, it is perfect. If you do not, it is a 40 minute walk to the nearest station. Again, I loved it but be prepared if walking is not your thing.
- There are no locks at your door. Not a problem for me but I believe some people might not feel particularly safe.
- The host Sandy is very talkative. Charming for some, too much for others. A bit like visiting your distant relative. I think most you will find it entertaining and sweet but again, be warned!
- The rooms are beautiful indeed. I think the Gold Room is the most stunning one. The Rose Room is equally pretty and spacious. The Blue Room is tiny and you have to actually leave your room to go to the bathroom. Not the most convenient arrangement as you might (like me) bump into your neighbours in your underwear. It is however, admittedly, newly decorated and the deco is very pretty. So choose your room wisely, depending on your preferences.
- Breakfast. You have eat it by 9. So early on a day off from work! Most of the B&B I stayed at offered their breakfast till 9.30 or 10. I am sure it's convenient for the owner but is it for me? You also have to have your breakfast at the big table with all other guests. So even if you try to relax on holiday, you cannot as you have to talk to strangers first thing in the morning. Again, lovely for some, nightmare for others.
- Price. I just cannot justify this price. We paid £150 per night for a small room with a bathroom next door. Blue Pigeons next door offers rooms for £90 per night. A bit of a shocker and I do really travel a lot, both for pleasure and fun.

All in all, if you do not mind all the above, do stay and it will be doubtlessly a wonderful and a very charming English experience.

Room Tip: The rooms are beautiful indeed. I think the Gold Room is the most stunning one. The Rose Room is equ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aeon_Flux2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solleyfarmhouse, Owner at Solley Farm House, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
My sincere thanks for the very complimentary remarks about your recent two night stay with us. For the benefit of other readers, I think it’s worth addressing a few points.

Despite our rural location, there is a rail station in Sandwich just one mile away via a direct footpath and buses run from directly outside our door every 30 minutes daily to Sandwich and Deal and onwards to Dover and Canterbury. So even guests without use of a car shouldn’t feel stranded.

The privacy and security of our guests is of paramount importance to us. Our website makes guests booking the Blue room aware of the separate spacious bathroom, which is exclusively for their use. Luxury bathrobes are also provided, so no-one ever need walk around in their underwear! There are also bolts on every bedroom door and the wardrobes are fully lockable.

It's sad that you didn’t warm to the personal efforts we make to ensure guests feel entirely relaxed and at ease. We’re not a chain hotel, so a cold and impersonal welcome is absolutely not our style! Many guests enjoy meeting each other, particularly over breakfast but everyone is welcome to join us anytime between 7am and 9am and in the summer we have an attractive patio as an optional venue. Perhaps this isn’t for everyone, but the many positive reviews on this site prove that our approach is what the majority of guests expect from a luxury B&B like Solley Farm House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Just stayed four nights and enjoyed it immensely. Echo everything that has been said previously, very highly recommended. We loved the Gold room with its view of the garden and the village duck pond, and all the goodies in the room. Fortunately the weather was good for our stay but if had been rainy there was plenty to read or watch if we had chosen to spend more time indoors.
Thank you Sandy and Peter for a great stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paula2009England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worth
1.4 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sandwich
691 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fleur de Lis Hotel & Restaurant
3.3 mi away
Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 5 in Deal
513 reviews
3.3 mi away
Waterfront Hotel
Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 5 in Deal
81 reviews
2.8 mi away
Goss Hall Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solley Farm House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solley Farm House

Property: Solley Farm House
Address: Solleys Farm House The Street, Worth, Sandwich CT14 0DG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sandwich > Worth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Worth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Solley Farm House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional hospitality is guaranteed at this Five Star, Gold Award, Michelin Guide listed establishment, with thoughtful luxury touches at every turn - fresh flowers, toiletries, chocolates, soft towels and robes in the sumptuous en-suite bedrooms. Nestled in the heart of a peaceful conservation area, this 18th-century farmhouse is full of character, and overlooks the tranquil village duck pond and an ancient Norman church. This picturesque setting is the perfect base for anyone visiting the East Kent coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Solley Farm House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solley Farm House Worth, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing