We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magnificent, breath taking location....top class...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Whangaroa, Northland Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Macey1212...
Greater Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Magnificent, breath taking location....top class accommodation.....wonderful host”
Reviewed 23 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Myself, my partner and a friend stayed for one week January 17 to January 22 2016.....we had a wonderful time and would highly recommend this accommodation. The views are spectacular and cover 360 degrees of the beautiful Whangaroa Harbour with all of its ever changing conditions....mist, sunshine, wind, rain....just wonderful. The accommodation itself was first class, bedrooms were spacious, en-suite delightful and the open space kitchen and lounge very modern and well appointed. Windows and doors provided instant access to the fantastic views and cooling breezes as well as a spacious deck to enjoy the view. Our host Terry was wonderful as a source of information for day-trips in the local area.....a very beautiful region with a lot less of the tourist hussle and bussle of Bay of Islands but so very beautiful and laid back....he was friendly, respectful of our space and a very engaging and entertaining at times, someone who has a passion for the area and the people who share what is a unique and very special part of NZ....please, do yourself a favor and stay here!! ....it is a once in a fifetime experience.......nothing like it anywhere in the world....

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Magnificent views, beautiful well appointed home, lovely host
Liked least: We loved it all....no exceptions
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barb87
Taupo, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A very special place!”
Reviewed 20 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We had a wonderful four night stay here. The views from the house are spectacular, overlooking what is said to be one of the most beautiful harbours in the world(I would agree).Whether it is watching the rain coming in or the early morning mist rising the views are ever changing. We stayed in the large double ensuite bedroom which was luxurious and very spacious with everything you could need. We loved lounging on the bean bags on the large wrap around deck and cooking in the the lovely large kitchen. Terry the owner was so welcoming and hospitable and great fun. The surrounding area is a must see,beautiful beaches and numerous walks. A real treat is taking a water taxi around the harbour and then spending time on a deserted sandy cove! We really hope to visit again very soon. Thank you Terry for allowing us to share your 'top spot".

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxury,views and Terry.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarMarBB
Bulli, Australia
1 review
“Spectacular views”
Reviewed 24 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

The 360 degree views from Terry's house are truly amazing. It was a great place for us to relax on a choice of verandahs taking in the views and reading or eating or sipping wine on large comfy bean bag lounges late into the serenity of the moonlit evenings. No mozzies! The rooms are new, spotlessly clean and very comfortable.
This place is very special, as is the host Terry who couldnt be more friendly and willing to share his local knowledge and also the fasinating stories of his travels. I would definitely stay here again. Thanks Terry for a truly memorable stay!

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marguerit...
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in October 2014

My daughter and I had a two day holiday here and we left, refreshed and rejuvenated. It was peaceful and we totally relaxed. The breakfast included a wonderful marmalade. Thank you to Terry for looking after all our needs. I liked the view and the very comfortable bed.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staying on top of the mountain - for the views!
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2015
Marguerite! it was lovely hosting you and your daughter here; you wisely did not mention the cream in your coffee which your daughter disapproved of!- well, as the saying goes "what the eye does not see, the heart does not grieve over". Looking forward to your return here some day soon! Terry.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.