We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Candlemas Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Candlemas Cottage, Peak Forest
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
52 reviews
Candlemas Cottage, Peak Forest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Peak Forest, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Wearyfeet...
Southampton, England.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Does the basics adequatley”
Reviewed 6 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Cottage is in a good location, with easy access to Buxton, Bakewell, etc. Eveyrthing was clean, and the cottage is generally uncluttered, with most things that you require.

The insulation is good, as the cottage is generally warm, even with windows open. The main bed is a double, so bear that in mind if it matters to you. Generally upstairs feels a bit cramped, but it’s fine for a short break. The smoke alarm is sensitive, so be prepared to know when your toast is done. There is mobile phone signal inside, and the wifi must have also been on holiday, as I never saw it (although this isn’t an issue for me, it may be for you). The park opposite is good for the children, and the road is quiet bar the odd resident driving past.

The local pub is very close, the beer was fine, and the food stopped is from being hungry, nothing more, and only visited the once.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shakira78
England
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 9 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Lovely short break. The cottage is situated in a quiet lane but in a good location within easy access to Buxton. It’s clean and uncluttered, equipped with all the basics you need and a pint of milk, tea and coffee on arrival.
We both struggled to get a phone signal at all while inside the cottage and the WiFi was very on and off as well (mostly off!). This wasn’t a major problem to us but may be for some.
Due to the heatwave at the time of our stay we found it very difficult to keep cool inside the cottage, especially upstairs and it was difficult to sleep even though the bed was comfortable. A fan would have been very welcome but this was the only thing we found lacking.
We went into Buxton, went on a lovely walk along a section of the Limestone Way and visited Castleton where we did another walk and finished off in a lovely tea shop afterwards.
Enjoyable break, lovely area and would recommend the cottage to family and friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracyrobi...
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A central place to stay and would love to stay in the future when visiting Derbyshire again”
Reviewed 23 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Cottage was everything as described and more. Down a lane away from the main road which was lovely and peaceful, benches to sit on an evening outside which we did on both nights we stayed! The only hiccup was that the pub at the end of the lane was closed (part of the reason I chose it) but that is no fault of the cottage owner! The milk etc was a lovely thought but didn’t touch as always take my own as stay in cottages quite a lot so saying that I would recommend this accommodation. We did a lovely walk from the cottage itself so no need to drive if there for a couple of days and not dependent on eating out. All in all a thoroughly good stay

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEPBristo...
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Spotless property”
Reviewed 9 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

For the two of us this was perfect to do some walking and visit Chatsworth. The property is comfortable warm and welcoming. Everything was very clean. Unfortunately the local pub mentioned in previous reviews is only open Thursday to Friday so we couldn’t use it. However there are many others to enjoy and restaurants within a short drive

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tourist56...
2 reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed 4 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Had a great time at candlemas cottage - a very pleasant, well finished cottage, cosy and well located with a brilliant playground just in front of the cottage for anyone with young kids, and a nice pub nearby too. Also it is very well located within the peak district with most of the best sites within short distance and buxton just down the road which looks really nice at this time of year. My only slight gripe was the wifi. The last few years we've visited the peak district many times for long weekends and i often need to do a bit of work while im away so wifi is useful and have always had enough to work easily. The router is good but the wifi is very weak inside the cottage due to the router being located in a cupboard on the outside wall which is very thick stone. This prevents it from getting coverage in the cottage itself - you can however get decent signal just outside. Its worth taking this into consideration if you need good wifi. Other than that i can highly recommend the cottage as a great base for anyone visting the national park.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claireg15...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfection”
Reviewed 7 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We have just got back from an amazing few days at candlemans 2 adults 2 kids (8 and 5) and the dog. The location is perfect with lots of beautiful walks on your doorstep. The park opposite is great for the kids. We climbed mam tor visited speedwel walked round derwent and lady bower dam and the monsal trail. Castleton is 10 mins away with lots of shops and pubs. We ate at the devonshire arms 1 night which is at the end of the lane. Good food friendly staff. The cottage itself is well done with everything you need and was lovely and clean. We will definitely be back in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing