We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cafe Playa Negra
Nearby Hotels
Playa Negra Surf Lodge(Playa Negra)(Great Value!)
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Playa Negra(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mundo Milo Eco Lodge(Playa Junquillal)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Castillo Divertido(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tatanka(Paraiso)(Great Value!)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Guacamaya Lodge(Playa Junquillal)(Great Value!)
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$335
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$323
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Occidental Tamarindo(Playa Langosta)
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
La Ramona Charming Hotel(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Altos de Eros(Tamarindo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
109
27
2
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
27
2
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscevichegreat foodate herepata negraperuvian cuisineteriyaki sauceminute walk to the beachbeautiful beacha great place to staywhole experienceconcretespotsurfingtamarindobunkvibenature
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived at Cafe Playa Negra yesterday lunchtime after a long drive from the North. We had made a booking for two rooms via telephone the previous evening. When we turned up the young woman on 'reception' (note that there is no reception area, it's just the main bar in the restaurant) did not smile or say hello or have any welcoming body language, and neither did another lady close by called Lula. The woman then proceeded to look rather confused about our telephone booking and just stared at a sheet of paper, saying nothing. After looking at it for at least 5 mins we asked to see a room and she reluctantly took us upstairs to show us (still not a single smile at this point). We saw a room, which was still being cleaned, and it was dark, small and concrete ($65 per night). My husband and I are travelling with my Mum for two weeks (she's visiting us from the UK) and all three of us were unhappy about the way we were being treated and on seeing the 'bleak' room we made the decision to look elsewhere.
My husband did return a few hours later to tell them that we had found rooms elsewhere and to inform them why we changed our minds (bad attitude etc) and all Lula could say is 'ok', not a single word more.
This has been the worse experience of customer service we have encountered on a 5 month long trip through south and central America and I would urge those expecting a warm, friendly encounter at Cafe Playa Negra to look elsewhere. We ended up staying at Los Nancites just up the road and had the complete opposite experience and would recommend anyone to stay there instead.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Joanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea021, Owner at Cafe Playa Negra, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Joanna
I understand that the roads in Costa Rica can be punishing, especially if you have been traveling for many hours, with an older lady in your car, but even so, and the lack of a smile does not give you the right to such hurtful comments about us and our otherwise very appreciated Café Playa Negra establishment.
It seems to us that the truth of the matter is that your real disagreement was the price. And lets also point out that you had no formal reservation.
Lets be honest here: You called the previous night and asked what would a room with 3 beds cost and we answered: 85 US$ per night.
You showed up next day - without any reservation – one hour before check in, (no wonder that our rooms were beeing cleaned)- and asking for 2 rooms for the same price. We could not do that, but we did give you a deal. You decided to leave anyhow, you wanted something more in style with your pocket and you don't mention that.
And Lula: she is the happiest soul in Playa Negra!
We had a conversation with the owner of Nancites, a friend of ours and he told us that you left unhappy from his small place as well.
Maybe you are tired and its time for you to go home.
Have a safe trip.
Andrea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The bungalows at Playa Negra are just the ticket for an authentic Costa Rican experience. They are simple, clean, and comfortable. The ocean front could not be more spectacular. The food is even good, which is rare in Costa Rica. We stayed there for four days and were very pleased with every meal we had. It also does not break the bank. Prices are very very reasonable.

To all surfers, you can't beat the surf here. Be warned that the waves are very fast. They are not the biggest in Costa Rica but will definitely give you a run for your money. The break is about 100 yards out, so it is very accessible for a quick ride. If you're not a strong surfer, then you can easily shoot down the beach to Avillanas for a more chill surfing experience. There is something nearby for all skill levels, which makes it great.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CGO83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea021, Owner at Cafe Playa Negra, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking your time. We enjoy when you enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Great food and service and fantastic rooms! Stayed with a 6 year old and she had a blast. Family friendly, but a fun bar scene as well... until USA blew group stage win in world cup. :o)
Mini super across the street is super convenient.
Lula's tours across the way is a bonus at this fabulous place!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We have been to Café Playa Negra a bit randomly and we have been very surprised by how good the food has been. We took an avocado tuna tartare and then a tuna steak with sesame and a teriyaki sauce and it was definitely very fresh and tasty.
Atmosphere of the place is friendly and nice.
So it is highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank cess_venise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My wife and I totally loved Cafe Playa Negra. Clean, spacious rooms with good a/c and a room safe. The restaurant has great food with a friendly staff. The pool area was nice and never crowded. The common area upstairs was comfortable and had ceiling fans. A short walk to the beach which has great surf and other breaks close by if you have a car. Lula's Tours is in the same building. She was wonderful and can set you up with anything from transfers, fun tours, to car rentals. There is a small store across the street where we picked up cold drinks, snacks and ice cream. When we go back we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Room one is great super cold a/c.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews