We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish relaxed & comfortable..with a top menu” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Satis House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Satis House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yoxford
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stylish relaxed & comfortable..with a top menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

From a swift a welcoming check-in through to super breakfast before departure Satis House never failed to please.The proximity of the A12 should put no one off as once you are through the gates its forgotten.

Rooms are named after local villages and Minmere was huge with a very comfortable bed anda huge bath to compliment Qualty Teabags and fresh flask of milk in the fridge are the sort of great detail you can expect.

Two new Garden Pod rooms look a facinating addition to accomodation and are already reported as booking well.

Not the cheapest accomdation on the coast but as well run privately owned hotel out of the clutches of the Adnams empire well woth a visit.

Room Tip: Front rooms looking over garden have a lovely view The Garden Pods look like a luxury experince espe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staffslad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    113
    40
    21
    4
See reviews for
55
480
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Just returned from another fantastic stay at Satis House. We stayed in the brand new "pod" rooms situated in the garden. Lovely setting, huge comfortable bed, air.con mini bar etc.
Had a fantastic Sunday lunch and evening dinner. Traditional Suffolk breakfast is a must. We can't wait to go back. Well done the boys from the big house...............!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BedfordshireSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge England
Level Contributor
231 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Lovely hotel with very friendly staff and all the other great things that have been said by others many times. We were in the Aldeburgh room which was spacious if a bit dark in decoration. Sorry to find there was no shower, only a hand attachment on the bath taps for hair washing but not strong enough for showering, as both of us are shower people in strong preference to baths. But good service in very comfortable surroundings and a Groupon deal that made it even better. We ate one night in the hotel, great food but the restaurant was a little lacking in atmosphere, partly due to several singles eating and we were one of only two couples at the time we were in. Not the hotel's fault obviously!! The Aldeburgh Room was a little noisy as we were over reception so you hear the phone every time it rings and others pass your door on the way to stairs/reception/restaurant. But these are minor matters in an overall very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bridgemagoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed for 2 nights on a very good deal through Money Supermarket. We had use of the Middleton room which was very spacious, clean and comfortable.

We had breakfast both mornings and evening dinner at the hotel on the second night which was fantastic. The service and the food was amazing!!

The staff gave an absolutely 1st class service. They were very friendly and always at hand when required.

With an extensive DVD library and complimentary Kit-Kats the weekend was perfect. Thank you Satis House. We definitely hope to return again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed 2 nights on a very good deal and were given the garden room ["Orangery"]. This was spacious, secluded, spotlessly clean, beautifully warm and the beds were extremely comfortable.
I am fussy about ceanliness, noise etc, but had no compaints here at all. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, and the attention to detail was very good - fresh milk, coffee, etc.
The breakfasts were freshly cooked, and the evening meal was superb - plenty of choice, fresh ingredients - gorgeous!
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The Orangery room is outside the hotel, though very close. We liked the seclusion and space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MargyJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Can't say it any better than any of the previous reviews. Our stay at Satis was a treat. It's the little things that showed how much thought has gone into creating a delightful customer experience - the fresh milk in the minibar, the fresh ground coffee in the room, the kitkats that get replaced and the mineral water bottles included in the price. What I wasn't expecting was a proper dinner setting and the chef at Satis could easily humble a lot of the London Michelin types. I particularly recommend the Goan SeaBream - I liked it so much that I ordered the same for my second dinner. The fish is cooked just right, with the skin a tight crisp and served with a fragrant coconut sambal, fresh coriander and red chilli, steamed rice and a salad. We actually had a Goan amongst us and he remarked it was better than any goan fish preparation he'd ever had. Super.

Room Tip: The Yoxford has a beautiful large bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GirishBalachandran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012 via mobile

Spent a super 2 night stay here on a great deal. On arrival we were allocated the Dunwich room which was spacious and the decor was to a very high standard. The attention to detail was fabulous. Fresh milk in the minibar fridge, fresh ground coffee, an extensive DVD library etc.
The grounds are beautiful, we had dinner on our first evening which was cracking, pity we did not have room for a desert!
The breakfast lives up to its reputation and then some. The staff are all very friendly. We shall be returning!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank insp0459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yoxford
8.5 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
8.4 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Satis House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satis House Hotel

Property: Satis House Hotel
Address: Main Road, Yoxford, Saxmundham IP17 3EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Saxmundham > Yoxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yoxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Satis House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Garde II listed Georgian House sits in 3 acres of woodlands. Recently awarded a Gold award, 2 Rosettes and Best Breakfast accolade from the British tourist board and AA, Satis House offers the perfect setting for relaxing or visiting local tourist hot spots like Southwold and Aldeburgh.The Restaurant offers locally sourced Modern British cuisine and has just been voted top tree restaurant in Suffolk 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Satis House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Satis House Hotel Yoxford, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing