We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great food, friendly staff”
Review of Satis House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Satis House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yoxford
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great food, friendly staff”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

A lovely hotel, well situated, decor lovely. We ate in the restaurant and also tried room service, both of which were superb. Local produce is used for meals, which are delicious. Breakfast is also very good, tasty and plenty of choice.
Staff are very welcoming, friendly and helpful.
Hotel is quiet and great location for exploring local area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    118
    45
    27
    7
See reviews for
57
493
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed in one of the pods in the garden which a large very comfortable room.Staff in the hotel very friendly and went the extra mile .We arrived mid to late afternoon but although lunch was no longer being served they rustled up a couple of sandwiches which delivered to us al fresco in the.garden .

We would definitely stay again and perfect place for a two day stay in this lovely part of Suffolk .The one point we would make is that the decor is dark in hotel this is a personal preference as we prefer light airy decorations ,we were also surprised that in the breakfast room there were net curtains at the windows and with a lovely outlook over the gardens I would have thought they would have taken advantage of that aspect.

Overall perfect stay and well worth the money.

Room Tip: rooms in garden lovely i would think excellent in late spring early summer but during wet /cold wea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed in the pod 'Southwold', which is situated in the very pleasant and quiet walled garden. Room is superbly appointed. Breakfast was freshly cooked and served in the breakfast room in main house, dinner is taken in the pleasant restaurant and is perhaps not enough for a hearty eater, (the nearby Kings head will serve a very filling bar meal, if preferred). The only criticism is that only 2 tea bags are available in the room (more are available if you ask) but at these prices one would expect a few more.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zaniskull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Having driven past this hotel too many times to remember we decided to have a break not too far from home. Beautiful house. The attention to detail in the decor is superb. The staff could not be more helpful. The accommodation and food were spot on! Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Yoxford has the most amazing roll top bath - the longest and deepest I have seen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickham Bishops, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We have stayed at Satis House 5 times now and have always enjoyed our break. The staff are very friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them. The food is extremely enjoyable and the sticky toffee pudding is a must! We have stayed in 2 different rooms in the main house and a garden room and most recently one of the new garden pods. All have been beautifully decorated, warm, clean and very comfortable. We shall be returning again as we love the area and the whole ambience of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_Smiffy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We tend to keep returning once we find somewhere we enjoy...this applies to Satis House. This was our third time staying here and we have to say that all of the reasons for returning still apply. Please read my earlier review, dated March 2013...all I can say is the same goes for last week's visit. We absolutely love it and will certainly return next year!

Thanks to all at Satis House!

Room Tip: We stayed in Walberswick (was the Garden room) located in the garden, which we love. An earlier revi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel on a one night package DBB. We had asked for a twin room & were shown to a very nice modern garden room which even had a DVD library. The food was first class and
the staff very friendly. But unfortunately during the night I had a very nasty incident, when I got up to go to the bathroom I trod on a slug! NASTY. When the management were informed they
had the audacity to suggest that we must have carried it in on our luggage or our shoes,
I know they call it a garden room but I didn't expect to be sharing it with garden creatures!
Also the hotel is situated next to a busy road, so you can hear the traffic noise and the squawks from the rooks in the trees.

Room Tip: Not a garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeDe22_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yoxford
8.9 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
8.5 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
8.2 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
20.9 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Satis House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satis House Hotel

Property: Satis House Hotel
Address: Main Road, Yoxford, Saxmundham IP17 3EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Saxmundham > Yoxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yoxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Satis House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Garde II listed Georgian House sits in 3 acres of woodlands. Recently awarded a Gold award, 2 Rosettes and Best Breakfast accolade from the British tourist board and AA, Satis House offers the perfect setting for relaxing or visiting local tourist hot spots like Southwold and Aldeburgh.The Restaurant offers locally sourced Modern British cuisine and has just been voted top tree restaurant in Suffolk 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Satis House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Satis House Hotel Yoxford, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing