We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat”
Review of Satis House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Satis House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yoxford
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A real treat”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We started our stay with drinks in the walled garden in the evening sunshine - a perfect setting. We followed this with a meal in the atmospherically and relaxingly decorated dining room - delicious salmon and liver parfait starters, beautifully and imaginatively presented. We both then had lamb shanks in a curried sauce - again totally scrumptious. Throughout the meal the service was exemplary and attentive.but unobtrusive. We spent the night in a large bedroom decorated sumptuously in turquoise and black - every detail had been thought of -the very best toiletries, the very best teas and coffee. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in - large and with a deep mattress. Breakfast was an absolute treat - plenty of choice and a delicious full English with tasty sausages and bacon and mushrooms which tasted as though they had been picked that morning. All in all this hotel has got it absolutely right. The staff make you feel special from the minute you enter. Thank you. We will be back!

Room Tip: We were told that all rooms are large with beautiful decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcgilligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    118
    47
    30
    10
See reviews for
58
499
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I was dreading a five hour trip to stay for two nights in Suffolk but the warm reception and beautiful setting of Satis House made it more than worthwhile. It's hard to believe that there is a main road close by when you are in the grounds. There is an air of serenity that melts away any stresses you might have. The accommodation is immaculate and everything you could possibly need is to hand. The staff are all very lovely and kind, nothing is too much trouble. They are friendly and attentive without being overbearing. We received a very warm welcome from an affable young man who also gave us some very helpful tips for exploring the surrounding area. The beds alone are so comfortable that it was worth the trip just to spend a night in one. The food was delicious and the menu varied and interesting. I had the cooked breakfast which was beautifully presented and more than enough to satisfy the hungriest visitor. We loved it and can't wait to go back

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summerceas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed at Satis House for two nights and it was a fantastic break, of the highest quality. The staff are friendly and welcoming, a special mention for Emma Louise, who took great care of us. Breakfast and dinner were absolutely delicious. All rooms decorated with fabulous taste and attention to detail. We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had a very enjoyable time stopping in and eating at the restaurant. Lovely place ,free wifi, breakfast was superb Eggs Royal one of my favourites ,fruit and yogurt,extra hot Latte and I am more than happy. My wife had full cooked , it looked superb and she certainly enjoyed it. The house is a lovely house with character , garden entertains afternoon tea if required. I never got round to the cheese board ,it did look good. Dinner was a great meal, compliments to the Chef. Never had Lakhsa before, very flavourful , spicy and tasty. Desert was superb.
It is located well for Halesworth,Aldeburgh and Southwold, great part of the world, Satis house certainly contributed to a great holiday.
Only a couple of downsides, it is on the A12, our room had sound proofed windows. And from an earlier review it needs a few touches to bring it back to an otherwise high standard.Don't let this detract from the rest of the review as we would stop here again no problem. You have a very good product keep up the standards.

Room Tip: Facing away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pushp B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The food was outstanding, probably the best roast dinner we have had, maybe ever! The service was second to none. The staff could not be more helpful and friendly yet professional. They obviously enjoy working there and were happy to chat with us at the bar in the evening making us feel relaxed and welcome. They even accommodated my food fussiness! Very clean and beautiful in a great location! I would definitely return

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bag04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here 2 years ago in one of the Best rooms inside the hotel. On this revisit to Suffolk we decided to try one of the recently built Garden Pods.

The hotel has a lovely walled garden to sit out in, and the Garden Pods step straight into it; as well as having their own private veranda with table and chairs.

The Pods have the same luxury feel and extras as our previous hotel room.

The decor is stylishly modern, well furnished, very comfy and spotlessly clean. There are tea making facilities including a coffee machine, hairdryer, flatscreen TV, free WiFi, and a loaded free mini bar. The bathroom is contemporary with a good selection of complimentary toiletries.

The hotel has a fantastic restaurant with an exciting menu which didn’t disappoint - plenty of choice. A good wine list (including cocktails). As well as the Full English, there is an excellent choice of hot alternatives at breakfast including Kippers and Eggs Benedict (with no added charges).

The staff have to be the friendliest ever; they simply cannot do enough for you and we enjoyed this stay as much as our first experience of this lovely 18th century hotel.

N.B. There are also plenty of parking spaces.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaz6160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We booked into Satis house Hotel, for a one night stay, However we found that one night is not enough !! So we extended our stay for an extra night. The rooms and hotel are beautifully furnished. Each room has everything you could possibly need. we even had a coffee machine for making delicious fresh coffee, not instant sachets, the fridge had fresh milk ( I hate those 'long life' milk tubs one tends to finds in most hotels) and it was also very well stocked with chocolate, water and alcohol. The attention to detail is second to none, nothing is too much trouble. The staff we so attentive, we were made to feel very special. The food at both breakfast and dinner was of the highest standard. our whole experience left us feeling relaxed, refreshed and cared for. Well worth EVERY Penny. I would defiantly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a high quality hotel, at affordable prices, and cant wait to return. Thank you to ALL at Satis House.

Chris Flynn

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yoxford
2.6 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
775 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
999 reviews
8.4 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
331 reviews
8.5 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,452 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Satis House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satis House Hotel

Property: Satis House Hotel
Address: Main Road, Yoxford, Saxmundham IP17 3EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Saxmundham > Yoxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yoxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Satis House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Garde II listed Georgian House sits in 3 acres of woodlands. Recently awarded a Gold award, 2 Rosettes and Best Breakfast accolade from the British tourist board and AA, Satis House offers the perfect setting for relaxing or visiting local tourist hot spots like Southwold and Aldeburgh.The Restaurant offers locally sourced Modern British cuisine and has just been voted top tree restaurant in Suffolk 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Satis House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Satis House Hotel Yoxford, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing