We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (798)
Filter reviews
798 results
Traveller rating
535
133
55
47
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
535
133
55
47
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak afternoon tea attention to detail garden room scallops four poster bed mini bar groupon voucher roll top bath following morning cooked to perfection the main house great food country house special occasion evening meal lovely grounds
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 798 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Stayed on New Year's Day. Excellent welcome, excellent service, excellent food and wonderful attentive management. The room was excellent and spotless with the comfiest bed we have ever slept in. This was our third visit to this hotel and there is no way we can find a fault. We will definitely be back.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cara D, Owner at Satis House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

See you again soon and thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

We had a special one night dinner, bed and breakfast deal for New Year’s Eve. The food was really good, the staff friendly and more than helpful. A good night was had by all.
I don’t envy the fairly new owners the task ahead of giving the hotel a good make over with new carpets etc as it’s an old Georgian building. Good luck guys. In the meantime you could make it even better by paying attention to small details. The right cutlery, the staff being dressed for occasions such as last night and an inspection of the rooms. I won’t add my photo as you deserve better.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kennedymg148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cara D, Owner at Satis House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Thank you for your feedback. I agree that it is quite a task to take on such a gorgeous antique of a building but we are 23 months in still full of energy and working tirelessly to make improvements in all areas. We hope you will be back to see the progress we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

Came for a relaxing stay and couldn't have chosen a worse place. Constantly woken and disrupted by the owners dogs kept locked up in kennels outside. Whining and distressed the content noise ruined the entire weekend. Staff very much seem like they had better things to do than actually look after guests. Met the owner in the bar who seems to have had one too many to be in a suitable state to actually converse with guests.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
32  Thank lemonade2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cara D, Owner at Satis House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

This is a very unfair and dishonest review as the whining dog was infact a customers dog that was left in a room for long periods of time against our best advice. Although the owners were away at the time of the stay it sounds like we would have needed one to many to feel inclined to engage in conversation with this guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

Having just stayed at this hotel on first impressions the outside of the property looked a little tired. There was no proper reception area and checking in at the small table area it distinctly smelt of damp which was trying to be disguised by the Yankee cinnamon candle burning.

However the hotel areas of the bar and restaurant areas is an eclectic mix of antiques meets slightly theatrical decor. On the Hall areas there are pictures of angels, large mirrors and stuffed animals.

Our room was big with a lovely comfy bed but if you look closer the carpet wasn’t hoovered properly and the light fitting was hanging from the ceiling but that’s if you are being picky. The hotel does take dogs so we could hear a dog from a neighbouring room I think or the kennels at the property.

The food was excellent though and the 3 staff that were there were very chatty and friendly in fact the manager turned his hand to everything.

All in all we enjoyed our stay but if I was the owner I would give the hotel abit of tlc. Would I go back? Not for the price you pay.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
8  Thank louise s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cara D, Owner at Satis House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Thank you for your feedback. Although you won’t be back for the purposes of other customers the commitment and dedicated of the owners and management should not be questioned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

I stayed in Satis House for pretty much the full month of September whilst relocating to the area. Whilst I was there the staff were extremely accommodating and friendly. The food was excellent with a nice variety of dishes to choose from.
I would definitely recommend Satis House to friends and family as it's a beautiful hotel in a nice countryside location.

Michael

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank M_Sedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews