We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An idyllic holiday getaway..”
other travellers have booked this property
The house in summer - a passing boat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house in summer - a passing boat
Kitchen window Sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
The house in summer - a passing boat
Kitchen window
Sitting room
The house in Spring
House and garden, taken in Winter
House in Winter
The kitchen
Drive entrance to house
Twin bedroom - First Floor
Twin bedroom sitting area - First Floor
Double room - First Floor
View from double bedroom
Relaxing by the side of the canal
Large twin-bedroom, space for 2 extra beds
Barbecue area, looking towards canal
Enjoy the local wines!
Cycling on the tow path, looking towards house
Pulling out the house boat
Approach to a neighbouring village
A passing boat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Santenay, Cote d'Or, Bourgogne-Franche-Comte

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chloew197...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An idyllic holiday getaway..”
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We said we would return and we did! This is our 2nd year at this beautiful, rustic little house. We simply love the location - cycling along the canal and through vineyards to the nearby villages. We weren't quite as lucky with the weather this year, but we were still able to eat out in the garden most nights and had a few lazy days in the sunshine at the start of the week. Once again Sue was always prompt in responding to any questions that we had and Serge (the neighbour) was on hand upon arrival, with a friendly smile and tour of the house. We tried a few different things this year; venturing to Nuits St Georges for lunch which was really nice, plus we had dinner in Beaune one evening which again was lovely (spoilt for choice with bars/restaurants). There was a pizza van in the square of Santenay one evening which we used when feeling too lazy to cook (very good pizzas as well) and we did the wine and vineyard tour in Puligny with Olivier Leflaive. We highly recommend the house for a base for exploring the area (Santenay has a supermarket, wine caves, tabac, bakers etc. plus 2 restaurants). We have never eaten in the local restaurants as you are spoilt with the backdrop of your accommodation! Hope to return once again as we had a fantastic time. Thanks Sue!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it
Liked least: coming home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A second visit to a charming gite”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had already stayed at La Maison sur le Canal in 2006 with two of our grownup children and their partners. So we had no hesitation in booking it again with our eldest son and his wife for a second stay. The location is superb, situated on a very pretty stretch of the canal and within walking distance of the little village of Santenay. The house itself is full of character , comfortable and very well equipped - the rowing -boat was a real bonus. Apart from the lovely and extensive canal-side garden there are two terraces so both sun and shade are always available. The house and garden are very well cared for by the caretakers, Serge and his wife, who are very friendly and helpful. The local area is beautiful and interesting. In Santenay we ate well at Le Terroir and at L'Estade but our favorite was L'Escale which is within walking distance down the canal towards Remigny. The nearby small town of Chagny has an outstanding Sunday market (the roast chicken stall was irresistible).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The canal-side setting.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning garden
Liked least: Leaving
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chloew197...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The perfect french holiday”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have not long got back from this beautiful house from a week long stay. We loved the location, being able to hire bikes from the local tourist office and cycling to the many villages nearby. From local wine tasting, picnics along the canal and daily BBQ's in the stunning garden, we had the perfect relaxing break and cannot recommend La Maison Sur La Canal highly enough. Booking the house was simple, and Sue was always available via email for any questions that we had. Serge (the neighbour) was on hand upon arrival to meet us and show us round which was really nice. There is lots to see and do in the area and our regret is not staying for longer. Thank you for a perfect holiday - we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & Style of house
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M
Canterbury
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delightful House, Garden and Location”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Four of us - a married couple and two adult progeny - stayed here for a week, and we all had a great time. The delightfully quirky house is clean, comfortable, cosy and well equipped, the garden is large, well laid-out and contains occasional mysteries such as ruined buildings and an overgrown, former quarry, and the canal at the bottom of the garden is a treat. Serge, the neighbour, visited at the start and end of the week to check that all was well, and he's a friendly and helpful chap (with whom it helps to converse in French or at least in Franglais). His dog is equally friendly and paid us several visits, showing obvious disappointment that we weren't going to feed her scraps!

We ate and drank too much, both at the house and at numerous establishments of gastronomic hedonism, saw the sights, hired bikes to ride along the canal towpath (well, the two younger members of the family did), and spent many hours sitting in the garden, watching, and waving to, the passing boats, cyclists hikers and runners.

We didn't find access to the road much of a problem, although it helps for the driver to look one way, while the front passenger looks the other, when pulling out of the drive. The traffic is audible on the road when one sits in the garden, so don't expect perfect calm, but we didn't find it to be intrusive.

All in all, an excellent holiday from which we were not at all keen to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden and canal
Liked least: Small shower-cubicles.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludwigsburg, Germany
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Orange, Australia
Reviewed 18 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing