We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Prosper Maufoux- Maison Des Grands Crus
Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Fantastic stay - beautiful space, wonderful breakfast, meticulously renovated room and charming hostess ... Don't hesitate. Also excellent to see the wine cellar and tasting. Location is good to explore cote de beaune

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExperienceSeekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
32
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Medina, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The hotel features only three guest rooms, two of which were occupied by us and our travel companions. The traditional decor had elegant details like lofty ceilings and fireplaces, and tall windows with views to the countryside. The modern bath had a separate shower stall, large pedestal sink (the other couple's had a double sink), and a charming clawfoot tub. The mattress was nice and firm, but the pillows were thick, lumpy, and synthetic, and the comforter was too warm, even though the room was cool. The generous breakfast included a boiled egg, selection of breads and croissants, and a dairy item such as yogurt. Judi, who checked us in and then on the next day led us through the Prosper Maufoux cave (on the premises) and an extensive wine tasting, was delightful – and delighted practicing her German on our little group of four. Be aware that this is a country location with church bells pealing on the quarter hour, and a rooster announcing the day a few blocks away. But it’s smack dab in the wine region and quite picturesque. Be sure to try Restaurant Le Terroir across the plaza.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VickyBee333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Gorgeous and spacious room, with a lovely view of the vineyards on the hills. Large bathroom with separate tub/shower, high end toiletries, seating area outside to enjoy the view of the main square. Breakfast was plentiful with yogurt, fruit, homemade jams, fresh breads, and boiled eggs. Dinner options across the square are very good (Le Terroir - reviewed separately). Hotel is also a winery, worth a peek in the cellar.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed here for two nights during a heatwave and were happy to have a beautiful, big and airy room with good air conditioning (Room Les gravieres). The bathroom was also very elegant, with a great walk-in shower and a separate bathtub. And with a view! The location of this Chambres d'hotes on the main town square is ideal, for instance the restaurants are all on the same square. Pascale, the hostess, is very welcoming and helpful. If you like Burgundy wines, go and have a taste in the caves of Prosper Maufoux, just downstairs of the building.
A charming place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PirjoP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights on a recent trip to Burgundy and could not have chosen a better place to stay. On our 15 day tour of France it was quite simply the best and most memorable accommodation, and we stayed in quite a few different places. We fell in love with the house, with Santenay and Burgundy. For us this Chambres d'Hotes was amazing; the lovely old building, the location, the room, the breakfast but especially the hostess Pascale who made us feel so welcome and at so home throughout our entire stay, we were sad to leave and would certainly return.

We almost felt we were staying in a Chateaux or a big old country house. The place itself is huge even though it has only 3 rooms for guests. The rooms are all spacious and beautiful, elegant in style, quality, yet modern in facilities such as the superb bathrooms (with separate bath and shower). Clearly the B&B rooms have been totally renovated where the rest of the house has not, but this contrast really added to the charm, as it was like a step back in time.

We had the Beauregard room at the back of the house with lovely views to the hillsides & vineyards. We had a large and comfortable bed, some of the best nights sleep of our entire trip. Breakfast was ample and excellent, fresh fruit with good choice of bread, good coffee and fresh juice, boiled egg if you wished.

Room Tip: All are beautiful and large
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JazzJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santenay
5.7 mi away
Chateau de Citeaux La Cueillette
3.5 mi away
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
#2 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
329 reviews
19.8 mi away
Chateau Sainte Sabine
Chateau Sainte Sabine
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Sabine
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Le Montrachet
Le Montrachet
#1 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
443 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel le Clos
Hotel le Clos
#1 of 4 in Montagny-les-Beaune
318 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel La Chouette
Hotel La Chouette
#3 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prosper Maufoux- Maison Des Grands Crus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prosper Maufoux- Maison Des Grands Crus

Property: Prosper Maufoux- Maison Des Grands Crus
Address: 1 Place du Jet D Eau, 21590 Santenay, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Santenay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Santenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Prosper Maufoux- Maison Des Grands Crus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing