We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A biker friendly way to see the sights of Paris”
Review of La Sucrerie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Sucrerie
Reviewed 1 October 2011

This was the first stop for my wife and I on our long motorbike trip back to Malta from the UK. We were joined for the weekend by my daughter and her fiance, each on their own bikes. Chavenay is a quaint little village within an easy distance of all the sights in and around Paris. We chose to stay here because it has secure off street parking for the bikes, and like for like it is considerably cheaper than staying in Paris. Also being in the countryside, there is not the traffic or noise of a big city. Mike is a great guy and he and his sister made us all very welcome right from the start. La Sucrerie is a splendid period house, which was where they both grew up when they weren't traveling the world with their parents. The first night we ate in the village, which is a short walk from the house. We had an excellent meal at a very reasonable price. Over the weekend we traveled to and from Paris by train, which is fast and very cost effective, since the ticket we bought was valid for the Metro too. the only problem is that there was no taxi service to get to the station, which is about 3kms away. It is easy to park a car at the station but it was not practical to use our bikes, because of all the gear that that entails. Mike very kindly ran us there and back, but we did walk it once. The rooms are very large but unfortunately they are not en-suite. The breakfast is superb with plenty of fruit and coffee etc. etc. We enjoyed our stay very much, and will certainly stay there again when we are in the Paris area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank b1gr0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
There are newer reviews for La Sucrerie
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2011

La Sucrerie was unbelievebly beautiful and quaint, each room with it's own personality. The food was delicious, and the service amazing. Mike was such a fantastic host, everything we needed or wanted was totally covered and he was such good fun! Great location - quiet and tranquil in the middle of the countryside with a lovely little village centre 5 minutes walk away, and not far to Paris for nights out on the town and sight seeing - All 13 of us loved it! ....We realy couldn't have imagined a more perfect place!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobbie2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

This is the most beautiful house for groups of friends to stay in. Peaceful, rural setting a short walk from the delightful small town of Chavenay yet close enough to Paris to take in the sights and nightlife. Mike and his staff were wonderful. We could not have asked for more helpful and friendly hosts. Breakfast in the conservatory was great. The rooms are spacious and very individual. Beautifully designed throughout but retaining a sense of a home. I will definitely visit again in the future!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lyOung6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

We had a great stay at this bed and breakfast. The owner was very accommodating. The home is absolutely beautiful and very clean. There is a train station about 5 minutes from the home which we were able to ride the train into Paris. It is a very peaceful serene place to stay if you want to get out of the city.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allisonblack43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

B&B approx 25 km outside of Paris, close to Versailles, ideal for those who want to take a break after full day sightseeing in Paris, friendly courteous owner who helps out with advice and hints about Paris

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aenno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

we stayed at this b&b with some friends, everything was great from the spacious rooms and the gorgeous house to the breakfast in the morning. the owner helped us organize a very nice itinerary around the region to visit all the important things as this was our first time in France.
I would seriously recommend this B&B for people who are traveling to Paris and want to see Paris, without the hassle of a busy city.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marc_hugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2010

We have stayed at La Sucrerie a couple of times already and each has been great! The owner was nice and extremely accommodating. The house has all the basic needs, is in a quiet quaint town and has everything we wanted from a B&B - a quiet private place in a country setting with few other guests, close to Versailles (golf courses) and to Paris. Its perfect for a weekend getaway!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jameson25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chavenay
4.5 mi away
Domaine du Verbois
Domaine du Verbois
#1 of 1 in Neauphle-le-Chateau
94 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fasthotel Paris Ouest - Plaisir
1.2 mi away
La Villa Moulin de Champie
La Villa Moulin de Champie
#1 of 1 in Thiverval-Grignon
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Les Chambres de Beynes
Show Prices

Been to La Sucrerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sucrerie

Address: 502 rue de Grignon, 78450 Chavenay, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Chavenay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Chavenay
Price Range: £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Sucrerie 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Bed and Breakfast near Versailles and Paris. 3 rooms and 2 suites for a total of 14 guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing