We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent brunch in a gorgeous seaside town”
Review of Hot Pipi Cafe

Hot Pipi Cafe
Ranked #10 of 20 Restaurants in Waihi Beach
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent brunch in a gorgeous seaside town”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We happened to stop at Hot Pipi at Waihi, hungry and ready for a break from our road trip. A beautiful husband and wife team looked after us and we enjoyed a tasty and great value breakfast. They were both very friendly, the food was fresh and the sweet restaurant very clean. Lots of locals called by coffee and snacks while we were there too! If you are ever in the area call in for a chat and a meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    15
    6
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome brekky”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Called in and order breakfast for my husband and I with coffee. Staff was very friendly coffee arrived promptly and the breakfast was real hearty, Try the bacon eggs and mushrooms, the mushrooms were divine, my husband got the mince on toast with eggs and throughly enjoyed it, will definitley call in again. A great start to the day

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brekkie and lunch”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Fresh Food served well . Interesting but not to fussy menu.
Great Baking and catered well for Children

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank n a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Just a coffee and a cake”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

No complaints from us and if you cannot get the basics right you will not last long.
Our coffee's were great and yes it was only a coffee and cake but our second visit here and we left happy and that's what its all about and will call in again next time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Definitely an ALL DAY beach cafe!”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

When a local recommended the Hot Pipi Cafe and Bakery as having great food then we just had to go and try for ourselves. He was so right!

We got a warm and friendly welcome from the staff and our selections and coffee arrived promptly - great staff!

The Hot Pipi has three eating areas; inside the cafe, in the lean-to with clear roof (rather funky and a great place for a large group & families), and outside with sun shade and tables. On such a lovely day we decided to eat outdoors.

The Hot Pipi is a beach styled cafe focusing on delivering good food by way of all day breakfasts (very much a brunch menu); lite meals and gourmet burgers. You can expect to pay between $19 and $20 for most of the menu items – what more could a surfie ask for!
In addition to the menu items the Hot Pipi offers and wide selection of cabinet food in both saviour and sweet foods.

We would recommend that if you are visiting Waihi beach and you want an enjoyable, relaxed cafe with all day food then the Hot Pipi Cafe and Bakery certainly fills the bill.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Winetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hot Pipi Cafe also viewed

Waihi Beach, Bay of Plenty Region
Waihi Beach, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Waihi Beach, Bay of Plenty Region
Waihi Beach, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Hot Pipi Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing