We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Location, steps from the beach - but..........”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Beaches Motel

Beaches Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Waihi Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beaches Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waihi Beach
New Zealand
Level Contributor
158 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Wonderful Location, steps from the beach - but..........”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed in one bedroom unit number 1 which faces the very busy road. If you are not used to road noise request another room away from the road as the road traffic never lets up!
Unit very basic but seemed clean, however a large cockroach visited us during the night! However we have them at home so it didnt faze us.
Unit gets very hot – a fan would have been good.
Now I bring you to what let the unit down, the bed covers. The sheets were limp and very thin, the blanket was old and yuckie looking, then there was the bedspread. Who uses bedspreads these days? I wonder how many people had used that bedspread since its last wash?! Immediately the blanket and bedspread were taken off the bed as I wasn’t sleeping under them. Come on management bring the beds up to date with fresh crisp linens and new blankets.
Would I come back – no, a good nights sleep is very important to us.
Paid $145 per night – unit not worth this sort of money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sparkle59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    9
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed for two nights in mid-December. Having stayed at Waihi Beach numerous times as a child, I knew what to expect from the town and the beach - it's a fantastic beach town.

The motel was great - spacious bedrooms, very clean, modern appliances. Would recommend to anyone!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank AMLondon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Family( 6 adults) stayed two nights in a two bedroom unit with a sofa bed in lounge for a nieces wedding. The unit was very clean ,tidy and comfortable. Double bed in our room was great , had a very good sleep both nights. Had read comments about weak showers before booking but didn't find it to much of a problem, coming from the countryside we are used to it. Only to be expected with the small dia. pipe out of the water heating unit. Only problem was with wifi ,was patchy for the daughter. Overall was an excellent location to beach and shops, and great value cost wise for our family. Owner was friendly and helpful.Would stay there again if in Waihi Beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobNoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed for one night in a two bedroomed apartment after arriving in Waihi Beach without any accommodation organised. The apartment was clean, tidy and has everything you'd need from a motel room. The only downside was that the wifi was a little patchy but it was included so can't complain too much and the shower in the bathroom wasn't great.

The host was very friendly and provided suggestions of places to eat and things to do locally.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solo_girl_hants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Friendly staff, neat and tidy, excellent location- what more do you want :)
the only thing we didn't really like was the shower but it wasn't that bad just different
to what were use too .
Shops and Waihi Beach very close by.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed for one night in a two bedroomed apartment. Clean, tidy and looks like it has been recently refurbished. the only downside was that our shower did not work well. It was difficult to get the water temperature right and we only got a few small sprays of water that went in all different directions. Back on the plus side we have a small child and she loved the swing and trampoline. Owner seemed friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiddly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

Even though we only had a short stay, we absolutely loved it, and will definitley be back next summer, this time for longer. Great friendly, helpful Hosts, lovely clean, tidy and comfortable units. and nice and quiet. a perfect place to stay especially with a young family. we have a 2 1/2 yr old and she loved it, was safe and nice and close to the beach. Great! Can't wait to stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 2 bdrm unit, lovely and spacious and with the blockout curtains, is great for young k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bailey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waihi Beach
15.6 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beachaven Kiwi Holiday Park
6.7 mi away
Palm Motel Waihi
Palm Motel Waihi
#1 of 2 in Waihi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort
0.9 mi away
Waihi Beach Lodge
Waihi Beach Lodge
#1 of 4 in Waihi Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
5.9 mi away
Waihi Motel
Waihi Motel
#2 of 2 in Waihi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaches Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches Motel

Property: Beaches Motel
Address: 40 Seaforth Road, Waihi Beach 3611, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Waihi Beach
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waihi Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
6 fully self-contained ground floor units just across the road from one of New Zealand's best/safest beaches & yet only 90 minutes away from Auckland International Airport. Units sleep from 1 to 6 persons. Come & stay at Beaches Motel-Waihi Beach whilst down in New Zealand. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing