We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place”
Review of Beaches Motel

Beaches Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Waihi Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beaches Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waihi Beach
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Our party of three adults booked this motel at the Information Centre at Whangamata at the end of a long drive from Auckland via the Coromandel Peninsula, so it was a "this place has a vacancy, we are tired, let's go for it".
Great place. Two bedrooms. Good size kitchen and living/dining room. A pleasant two minute walk to the beach. We drove into the town to go to the supermarket, but you could walk it in around 15 minutes.
The owners are friendly and helpful. The Wifi, while free, was very dodgy and we had to stand close to the office with our iPads to get reception. The owners apologised for this and said the reception is usually very good

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank 51traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed in one bedroom unit number 1 which faces the very busy road. If you are not used to road noise request another room away from the road as the road traffic never lets up!
Unit very basic but seemed clean, however a large cockroach visited us during the night! However we have them at home so it didnt faze us.
Unit gets very hot – a fan would have been good.
Now I bring you to what let the unit down, the bed covers. The sheets were limp and very thin, the blanket was old and yuckie looking, then there was the bedspread. Who uses bedspreads these days? I wonder how many people had used that bedspread since its last wash?! Immediately the blanket and bedspread were taken off the bed as I wasn’t sleeping under them. Come on management bring the beds up to date with fresh crisp linens and new blankets.
Would I come back – no, a good nights sleep is very important to us.
Paid $145 per night – unit not worth this sort of money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sparkle59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed for two nights in mid-December. Having stayed at Waihi Beach numerous times as a child, I knew what to expect from the town and the beach - it's a fantastic beach town.

The motel was great - spacious bedrooms, very clean, modern appliances. Would recommend to anyone!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank AMLondon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Family( 6 adults) stayed two nights in a two bedroom unit with a sofa bed in lounge for a nieces wedding. The unit was very clean ,tidy and comfortable. Double bed in our room was great , had a very good sleep both nights. Had read comments about weak showers before booking but didn't find it to much of a problem, coming from the countryside we are used to it. Only to be expected with the small dia. pipe out of the water heating unit. Only problem was with wifi ,was patchy for the daughter. Overall was an excellent location to beach and shops, and great value cost wise for our family. Owner was friendly and helpful.Would stay there again if in Waihi Beach.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobNoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed for one night in a two bedroomed apartment after arriving in Waihi Beach without any accommodation organised. The apartment was clean, tidy and has everything you'd need from a motel room. The only downside was that the wifi was a little patchy but it was included so can't complain too much and the shower in the bathroom wasn't great.

The host was very friendly and provided suggestions of places to eat and things to do locally.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solo_girl_hants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Friendly staff, neat and tidy, excellent location- what more do you want :)
the only thing we didn't really like was the shower but it wasn't that bad just different
to what were use too .
Shops and Waihi Beach very close by.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed for one night in a two bedroomed apartment. Clean, tidy and looks like it has been recently refurbished. the only downside was that our shower did not work well. It was difficult to get the water temperature right and we only got a few small sprays of water that went in all different directions. Back on the plus side we have a small child and she loved the swing and trampoline. Owner seemed friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiddly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waihi Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
Tohora View Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 8 in Waihi Beach
8 reviews
0.9 mi away
Waihi Beach Lodge
Waihi Beach Lodge
#1 of 5 in Waihi Beach
259 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Hibiscus B&B
#6 of 8 in Waihi Beach
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaches Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches Motel

Address: 40 Seaforth Road, Waihi Beach 3611, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Waihi Beach
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waihi Beach
Price Range: £49 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
6 fully self-contained ground floor units just across the road from one of New Zealand's best/safest beaches & yet only 90 minutes away from Auckland International Airport. Units sleep from 1 to 6 persons. Come & stay at Beaches Motel-Waihi Beach whilst down in New Zealand. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing