We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hosts and Accomodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waihi Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waihi Beach Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hosts and Accomodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

We stayed with Greg and Ali in February 2013 and were made incredibly welcome, it was just like staying with friends, they are the most amazing hosts. The breakfasts were great as were the muffins and leaving treats, and their advice on what to do and things to see amazing. Many thanks for the info on the glow worms cave and the torch to get us there, it was just the icing on the cake.

Our room was very clean and comfortable with a view of the ocean. It is most certainly a place we would return to on our next New Zealand trip and we would not hesitate to recommened it to anyone

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MillyWestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    19
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
193
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

The last place we stayed after a 4 week trip to Australia and New Zealand and couldn't have found a friendly place to finish. Greg and Ali's greeting was so warm and friendly, it was like visiting long missed friends. They gave us lots of useful advice on what to do locally and a bit further afield. If it hadn't been for them we would have missed out on our very enjoyable visit to Hobbiton, for Lord of the Rings fans a must do. The place was spic and span, Greg's cooked breakfasts and Ali's muffins were superb and all just a very short stroll from the beach. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyWhalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Staying here made an interesting comparison between a luxury b&b and an upmarket hotel. The stay was about as good as it could be. We had The Beech Suite a room on the ground floor overlooking the sea. It was large and comfortable and it was equipped with everything possible to make the guests more comfortable. This included top quality bath robes, face flannels, perfect coat hangers and free wifi. We had a bath with a spa and a walk in shower.
Breakfast was cooked personally by the hosts Ali and Greg and it was one of the best we have had in New Zealand. We were there 2 nights, the first on our own and the second when the residence was full we had an enjoyable communal breakfast. However on both mornings Ali and Greg were excellent company and made us feel like friends.
Compare this with a hotel. You know what to expect and have an extra feeling of security with a reception staff and a night porter. However although the staff are usually friendly and knowledgeable you cannot help knowing you are one of a crowd. Also the breakfast will be an expensive. Dying revolting looking buffet certainly not cooked for you personally. Free wifi is less likely as are coat hangers you can be trusted not to steal. This makes an interesting choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gmm83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

All our hosts in New Zealand were very friendly but Greg and Ali were the greatest. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Ali bakes little treats and leaves them in your room also there are always fresh baked muffins with breakfast. They helped us choose where to go and even provided a spade when we said we were going to the hot water beach.The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the breakfasts are good. Would not hesitate to recommend this stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaym46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Greg and Ali are the friendliest hosts we met in NZ - attentive and full of good ideas. Within minutes of arriving they said 'why don't you go for a swim?' So we did - and they beat us to the beach (which is 3 minutes walk). Nice, modern accommodation, great breakfasts and some good ideas on where to go. It is a good base for exploring the Karangahake Gorge (a great walk) and we even made it down to Hobbiton! It is 2 hours from Waihi Beach to Whitianga, Cathedral Cove, Hot Water Beach etc. Greg and Ali recommended Ocean Leopard Tours as a way to see Cathedral Cove and the coast - they arranged it for us, including a pick-up at ferry landing to save the extra time to Whitianga - great tour. Best local food is at The Porch (closed Monday evenings)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

Greg and Ellie we fabulous hosts! The food was great, the rooms clean and comfortable, and their suggestions to improve our itinerary were spot on! We had an amazing time! They did our laundry for us! We left it and when we came back from our day it was folded and clean on our bed! The snack box with treats for the road was welcome in our drive to our next destination.

Room Tip: We had the Manatak room. It was perfect for us , even though we didn't have "outdoor"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hengelo, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

Both the facilities and the hosts are outstanding. Just opposite the ocean and the beach a high standard lodge providing all desirable services comes with the kind and friendly hosts Greg and Ali. From the first until the last minute we felt very welcome and taken care of.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mart v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waihi Beach
16.4 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
2.2 mi away
Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort
1.9 mi away
Beachaven Kiwi Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Pacific View B&B
Pacific View B&B
#1 of 12 in Whangamata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
16.4 mi away
Brenton Lodge
Brenton Lodge
#1 of 10 in Whangamata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
14.6 mi away
Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waihi Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waihi Beach Lodge

Property: Waihi Beach Lodge
Address: 170 Seaforth Road, Waihi Beach 3611, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Waihi Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Waihi Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waihi Beach Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waihi Beach Lodge is a Boutique Bed and Breakfast Lodge, two hours south-east of Auckland just off State Highway 2 (Pacific Coast Highway) at Waihi Beach.The real benefit of Waihi Beach, apart from it's natural beauty, is its central location (see our map of the Coromandel Peninsula) as it provides you with the flexibility to see the Coromandel, Hobbiton, Rotorua and Waitomo from one base as well as being able to spend time in the Karangahake Gorge, view the gold mining history of Waihi and of course, a stroll or swim at the beach is a must.We have 3 king /queen bedrooms with ensuites and a modern studio apartment.All rooms are furnished in an uncluttered style with quality beds and cotton linen. Toiletries, luggage racks, hair dryers, televisions, DVD players and other thoughtful details are provided for your comfort.Tea and coffee are available anytime. Waihi Beach has several great cafes for dining. Waihi Beach Lodge is smoke-free indoors. Many guests come as strangers and leave as friends.Free Wifi is available throughout the lodge for checking emails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Waihi Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing