We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing B&B, Incredible Hosts”
Review of Waihi Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waihi Beach Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Greg and Ali were the most friendly and welcoming hosts. We stayed with them for 2 nights. The B&B is centrally located, but still intimate, modern, and relaxing. Upon arrival, we felt as though we were meeting up with old family members. Ali and Greg recommended local activities, made sure we were prepared for our excursions with snacks, maps, and "torches", gave us great touring advice for our drive up the Coromandel Peninsula, and recommended one of our favorite restaurants in all of New Zealand, Bistro at Falls Retreat. After hearing that we tried New Zealand's indigenous feijoa fruit in a smoothie for the first time and were intrigued to try more, Ali made us feijoa muffins the next morning.

I highly recommend Waihi Beach Lodge to anyone looking for a pampered, beautiful getaway. You will enjoy each moment, but wonder how your time there passed so quickly. If we find ourselves in this corner of the world again, we will undoubtedly return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mksisler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

Greg and Ali are awesome. My fiance and I had a shortened visit due to car problems in Auckland, and they were very helpful in resolving these issues. The accommodations were great and the attention to detail was very appreciated. Our room had an amazing view of the ocean, and I really wished we stayed longer because the beach is only like a 2min walk away. I especially liked the morning breakfast that Greg cooked, and Ali's homemade jam... I'm not too big on breakfast but everything was delicious. Our first time in New Zealand, and we were glad that our Travel Agent Rebecca booked this place... enjoyed talking to both Greg and Ali, and hopefully we can spend at least a week at their Lodge next time.

-Kim and Mike

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed with Greg and Ali in October 2013 and we would rate it as the best accommodation we've had in years. We were made incredibly welcome and the room and the food exceeded expectations. It's the small touches like fresh baking in your room when you return from being out. They also organised massages for us (highly recommended) and dropped us off for a hike along the coast. Nothing was too much trouble. We will be back again next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gobbla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed with Greg and Ali in April, 2013. We were made incredibly welcome, excellent hosts. Rooms were well equipped and very comfortable. Breakfast was very good, cooked fresh for you with home baked muffins. Always a home baked treat when you returned after a day out. Very good area and plenty of advice from Greg re places to visit. Would recommend anyone to stay here, made to feel like friends not paying guest.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytripper020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We had a blast and Greg was a GREAT HOST! Clean and a great place to stay. Great location to get in and out of. Food was wonderful and all the information and history Greg gave us was a BIG help!.

We would stay again and bring some friends next time we are in New Zealand.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G0ldsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We stayed with Greg and Ali in February 2013 and were made incredibly welcome, it was just like staying with friends, they are the most amazing hosts. The breakfasts were great as were the muffins and leaving treats, and their advice on what to do and things to see amazing. Many thanks for the info on the glow worms cave and the torch to get us there, it was just the icing on the cake.

Our room was very clean and comfortable with a view of the ocean. It is most certainly a place we would return to on our next New Zealand trip and we would not hesitate to recommened it to anyone

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MillyWestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

The last place we stayed after a 4 week trip to Australia and New Zealand and couldn't have found a friendly place to finish. Greg and Ali's greeting was so warm and friendly, it was like visiting long missed friends. They gave us lots of useful advice on what to do locally and a bit further afield. If it hadn't been for them we would have missed out on our very enjoyable visit to Hobbiton, for Lord of the Rings fans a must do. The place was spic and span, Greg's cooked breakfasts and Ali's muffins were superb and all just a very short stroll from the beach. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyWhalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Waihi Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waihi Beach Lodge

Address: 170 Seaforth Road, Waihi Beach 3611, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Waihi Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Waihi Beach
Price Range: £118 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waihi Beach Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waihi Beach Lodge is a Boutique Bed and Breakfast Lodge, two hours south-east of Auckland just off State Highway 2 (Pacific Coast Highway) at Waihi Beach.The real benefit of Waihi Beach, apart from it's natural beauty, is its central location (see our map of the Coromandel Peninsula) as it provides you with the flexibility to see the Coromandel, Hobbiton, Rotorua and Waitomo from one base as well as being able to spend time in the Karangahake Gorge, view the gold mining history of Waihi and of course, a stroll or swim at the beach is a must.We have 3 king /queen bedrooms with ensuites and a modern studio apartment.All rooms are furnished in an uncluttered style with quality beds and cotton linen. Toiletries, luggage racks, hair dryers, televisions, DVD players and other thoughtful details are provided for your comfort.Tea and coffee are available anytime. Waihi Beach has several great cafes for dining. Waihi Beach Lodge is smoke-free indoors. Many guests come as strangers and leave as friends.Free Wifi is available throughout the lodge for checking emails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Waihi Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing