We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional Stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homelands Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Homelands Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Woodmancote B&B and Inns
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level Contributor
170 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Exceptional Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

In all of years traveling Europe, the Homelands was one of the best experiences we've had at a b&b. The b&b is located on a quiet country lane near impressive hills with horses. We stayed there for six nights and used Homelands as our base as we explored the Cotswolds. From here, we accessed Oxford, Bath, Stratford-upon-Avon and the various Cotswolds villages. Great location, but one does need a vehicle to get around. There is a bus stop within a short walking distance, but we weren't successful in deciphering the schedule or regularity of service. Our GPS device directed us to the Homelands without incident.

Our room was immaculate with a nice sized and comfortable bed overlooking the hills. The bathroom was spotless with toiletries provided. Homelands also has a sun room and pallor for use by the guests. The sun room overlooks a large and beautiful "backyard" where Erik and Nikki keep gardens, fruit trees, beehives, and chickens. The rooms are cleaned daily and are always fresh. There's also free wi-fi through the house which we used extensively.

Breakfasts were some of the best I've had at a b&b. Fresh food (eggs from Erik's catch, honey from Nikki's bees, freshly cured bacon, and homemade breads, sausage and fruit spreads). Plentiful take to start the day.

Erik was a wonderful and gracious host - full of interesting opinion about various topics when we had conversation during breakfast. He also has lots of information about the area and he was always willing to lend us a hand in planning our day.

Clearly we enjoyed both the accommodations and the Erik's company. My wife and I very highly recommend this b&b if you looking for a place in the Cotswolds. Thank you Erik and Nikki!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank physicsgeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErikBurger, Owner at Homelands Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Physicsgeek,

Many thanks for your kind and long review - very much appreciated.
We enjoyed meeting you both and your great sense of humor made looking after you a great pleasure.
I do, however, take exception with your view that I had 'interesting opinions'. They weren't opinions, they were all scientific FACTS, properly researched, proven, and peer-reviewed! ;)

We do hope we may welcome you back one day...

Kind regards

Erik & Nikki B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
34
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Just spent Saturday night at Homelands. Beautiful and peaceful location. Homelands is a delightful place to stay and admire the countryside. The entire B&B was immaculate and beautifully decorated.
Very spacious comfy room with super king size bed, great views, clean bathroom with separate shower and toiletries provided. Breakfast was great, very good selection of help yourself cereals, fruit, yoghurts, juice and homemade bread and very good cooked breakfast.
Most welcoming, highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claudia2074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErikBurger, Owner at Homelands Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you very much for your brilliant and kind review - we are pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us and we hope to see you back soon!
Erik & Nikki B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Booked through Late Rooms as I was looking for a very last minute weekend break over the late May Bank Holiday. I must confess that I stumbled on this by accident, but so glad I did. Erik is a great host, and cooks great breakfasts. There is plenty on offer on the buffet - cereals, fruit, croissants, juice, yoghurt etc. plus a cooked breakfast should you wish, which as stated are great.

Rooms very clean and we did not have to ask for anything extra as the rooms are cleaned and replenished of towels/toilet rolls daily.

Location is peaceful.

Tip from me not related to Homelands as such - if you like your pubs (and I do) whilst the local (Apple Tree) is nice, a trip to the Royal Oak, Prestbury is a must for both the beer and the pub grub.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephenr10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErikBurger, Owner at Homelands Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you very much for writing a T.A. review - much appreciated!

Yes, we are very fortunate to have a good selection of excellent Pubs and Restaurants nearby. The Royal Oak in Prestbury is high on our list of recommended local Pubs/Restaurants - we are pleased to hear you had a good night out there.

kind regards,

Erik & Nikki B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed at Homelands for two nights 2 years ago and said we should have stayed longer so we returned and stayed 3 nights on this visit.
Nothing has changed ,this is a first class bed and breakfast with a warm welcome from Erik .
Breakfasts are great ,rooms are excellent . Many thanks to Erik and Nikki

Ps every morning we have horses being ridden down the lane and what a great sound this is.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairmont020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErikBurger, Owner at Homelands Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you for your kind and prompt review! It was a great pleasure to see you back at Homelands, we enjoyed your excellent company and great sense of humour.
Just be aware that we may actually take myou up on your invite to visit you in NZ...!

Best wishes and kind regards

Erik & Nikki B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

We visited Homelands and stayed for the 4 days of the Cheltenham festival. Yes it was pretty expensive but then it was festival time. However had to search for non-existent toilet rolls in bathroom and had to ask for more. breakfast was adequate but certainly not 5 star as rated as you had to ask for more if you wanted it and it should have been a buffet at £170 a night. we would not stay there again at that price during race meetings and have opted for out of Cheltenham next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redchris12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErikBurger, Owner at Homelands Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Thank you very much for writing a review on Tripadvisor – it is this kind of feedback from our guests that help us to improve our facilities and service.

We would like to address a couple of your points:

TOILET ROLLS:
You make it sound as if there was no toilet roll in your room – in fact there was, including a spare, we clean the rooms each day and stock up all the consumables and disposables – however on this occasion we forgot to put an EXTRA toilet room in your bathroom cupboard, only once in the four days of your stay. When you made us aware of that fact I immediately brought you more, and apologised, which apology you accepted in good grace at the time.

STAR RATING:
We are rated as a 4-Star B&B by ‘Visit Britain’ , not 5-Stars as you assumed, and we only market our business as a 4-Star B&B.

BREAKFAST BUFFET:
You feel our breakfast was only adequate, and should have been a Buffet. We are rather puzzled by this as we DO have a buffet each morning with the following items: Five different cereals; four different types of milk, four different types of fruit juices, a selection of different yoghurts; a fresh fruit basket; prepared fresh fruits such as melon and pine-apple; preserved fruits such as prunes or apricots or pears; a selection of cheeses; croissants and different breads. In addition to the buffet we have an extensive breakfast menu with all usual breakfast items all cooked fresh to order, in addition to daily changing black-board specialities.

We always make a point to our guests that they can have whatever they like, as much as they like, in any combination they like. We told you this when you first checked-in, it is repeated in your room information folder (which also contains a copy of our breakfast menu); and there is another menu repeating this offering in the breakfast room.
During breakfasts we regularly check that our guests have sufficient tea/coffee/toast, and as you were sharing the breakfast room with our three other guests we offered an attentive and regular service and were at hand all the time. And yes, sometimes guests ask us for another coffee or more toast, we don’t understand why you feel that is an issue.

If you feel that our hot food and drinks should also have been available by way of a Buffet than we ask you to please consider the quality issues as well as the food-hygiene implications of keeping a large selection of self-service hot cooked food available from 7.30AM to 9.30AM for just five customers (as our maximum capacity is five customers). It is not practical, it is waste-full, and it is not considered a quality offering by the vast majority of guests. Maybe suitable for a motorway motel with hundreds of guests- but not so suitable for a small B&B!

PRICING:
Our rack rate for a king-size double en-suite room is £99 per night, however sometimes we run special offers/actions and the room can be available for as little as £60 per night, depending on seasons and regional demand. On other occasions, such as during the Cheltenham Gold Cup Festival, the rates of local accommodation typically doubles or even trebles. Rates of airlines, hotels and B&B’s are subject to large variations dictated by demand and supply and therefore high rates are an economic and commercial reality during times of exceptionally high demand. All the other guests you met at breakfast times and chatted to each morning have immediately re-booked for next year, at an even higher rate.

We are sorry to hear you will not be attending the Cheltenham races next year due to your experience with us. We hope you will reconsider that and maybe find a local hotel or B&B that can show you Cheltenham and The Cotswolds is a great place to have a break.

Thank you again for your review - we hope to welcome you back one day at Homelands B&B.

Erik & Nikki B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Chose Homelands after reading all the wonderful reviews it has recieved. I booked two night stay as a surprise for my wife and we were both blown away with this beautiful bed and breakfast (boutique feel). The room was spacious and very well furnished and designed having both shower, bath and double basin ensuite. Free Wifi, writting desk, air con (should we get a hot summer) are all present in the room. With just two double rooms and one single room the place would always feel 'exclusive' even when fully booked. Along with tea making facilities in your room there is a seperate guest kitchen for lounge and conservatory drinks (also exclusive areas for guests as the owners area is in a seperate wing of the house). The conservatory looks onto the beautiful and huge gardens housing various wildlife and the owners own chickens! Breakfast was perfectly cooked each day with a large variety of continentals and full english to choose from along with daily specials (had the smoked haddock one morning which was amazing!). The location was perfect for us being away from main roads thus providing perfectly silent evenings while being close enough to visit local attractions via car. At the end of our two nights stay we just couldn't face leaving and subsequently booked another night and look forward to staying at Homelands again very soon! Compliments to the owners on this truely fantastic bed and breakfast experience.

Room Tip: We saw all three rooms (two doubles and one single) and all offer the same high level of stay... Boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErikBurger, Owner at Homelands Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Thank you very much for your excellent and generous review - we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay in Homelands B&B and still found nice things to do in the area - despite unseasonable cold weather....!
We look forwards to welcoming you both back

Erik & Nikki B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013 via mobile

We were delighted to find Homelands just when we needed it! Spotlessly clean, extremely comfortable and beautifully appointed, it was just what was needed during a rather difficult time in our lives. A night's stop-over on the way home from meeting dear friends for lunch in the Cotswolds gave us a little more 'time out' so that we were refreshed and ready to get back to the challenges ahead. We would love to revisit Homelands in the future to take full advantage of the facilities including the lovely garden, as well as to enjoy the surrounding countryside.

Thank you Erik and Nikki for creating such a welcoming, restful haven - and for a truly scrumptious breakfast!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Only2FlyingPigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErikBurger, Owner at Homelands Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Whow that is a very nice review - thank you very much!
It was a pleasure to meet you both and we do hope you will come and visit us again one day.

Kind regards,

Erik & Nikki B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodmancote
1.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cleeve Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
4.0 mi away
The Bradley
The Bradley
#6 of 71 in Cheltenham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Wyastone
The Wyastone
#7 of 71 in Cheltenham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homelands Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homelands Bed and Breakfast

Property: Homelands Bed and Breakfast
Address: Homelands Butts Lane, Woodmancote, Cheltenham GL52 9QH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Woodmancote
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Woodmancote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Homelands Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A house of comfort, style and elegance in a convenient semi-rural location very close to Cheltenham. Our aim is to offer a rather special place to stay, providing simple elegance and unrivalled comfort. Casual but refined, understated but with luxurious touches, a superb breakfast, in an environment where you can truly feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Homelands Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homelands Bed And Breakfast Woodmancote, Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing