We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food and establishment, but let down by service & room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colesbourne Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Colesbourne Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Colesbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely food and establishment, but let down by service & room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

My partner and I had a weekend away in the lovely cotswolds. The Colesbourne Inn provided us with a nice country experience with fantastic food, however we were let down by the service and the noise level of our room (Room 4). We were woken up many times during our one night stay due to the other guests above our room walking, talking etc. you could hear everything. I understand it is such an old building, however the creaking of the floor boards was horrendous and it should not be used for hotel guests.

Furthermore when asking to move tables during dinner we were simply told no, that there were no other tables and nothing was offered to try and accommodate. Also, when asking another member of staff for a half portion of cheese rather than a full portion, I was also simply told no they didn't do that and once again nothing was accommodated for the customer (but finally it was resolved with much effort). Finally, at around 11:30pm ourselves and a full table of other hotel guests were enjoying after dinner drinks when we were rudely asked by the bar maid to "drink up or there would be no breakfast served in the morning" without calling last orders or politely giving us time to enjoy our last drink.

I thought it was a lovely establishment, with fantastic food, and good service from the younger staff members but was let down by the rudeness and non-accommodating approach from a 4 Star hotel.

Room Tip: Do not accept Room 4! Its terribly loud and you will not get a good nights rest if anyone is staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AEFM131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    70
    14
    5
    8
See reviews for
37
176
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Eight of us booked the lunch last Sunday, the food was excellent as was the service, there is also a good choice of beers brewed by Wadworths. The cost was also very reasonable. I would thoroughly recommend a visit to this Inn

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
78 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We spent a Sunday night at the Colesbourne Inn on our way back from seeing family. Drawing up outside the Inn our reaction was positive. Very Cotswold in appearance, a typical English country Inn, an old rough stone building, everything we hoped for and more.

Parking is easy, either at the front or around the back. It is on a main road but the traffic noise wasn't intrusive when we stayed but it was a Sunday so I can't speak for a week day. Entering the Inn and our spirits lifted. A roaring log fire, comfy sofas and arm chairs, a good bar, what appeared to be a comprehensive menu, helpful staff, things were definitely on the up.

Our room was number 4. It faced the road as does every room. First impressions, very good. Very well decorated, co-ordinated soft furnishings, well furnished, tv, well equipped hostess tray (not just the two small cartons of milk), easy chair, plenty of storage, quality fittings, a very pleasant room. The bathroom was spotlessly clean, white fittings, shower over the bath, plenty of storage space, electric towel rail, good quality towels, complimentary toiletries.

After a shower we walked back to the bar and enjoyed a couple of glasses of red wine seated in front of a roaring fire, wonderful. As we had eaten lunch time we were only looking for a snack. Two smoked salmon sandwiches served with a complimentary portion of chips was more than adequate. Several hours later we went back to our room.

Breakfast was included in our rate. Very good with a buffet of cold items including yogurts, fruit juices, cereals etc our cooked order was taken immediately as was our choice of hot drink and toast. Service was exceptional and attentive. It is obvious the staff at the Colesbourne are keen to ensure their guests have a comfortable stay.

Our only negative would be the quality of the bed which wasn't great it let down a superb room.

The Inn is very well placed for Cheltenham, Cirencester and the Cotswolds. Would we stay again, without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Welsh40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, Kent
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Needed a room for the night for a dinner in Cheltenham over a very busy racing weekend so rooms were at a premium.
Found the Colesbourne Inn on Hotels.com, called and got the last room.
Very well placed for both Cheltenham and Cirencester. Room was comfortable, bathroom spacious with a very good shower.
We had a very nice welcome from the Manageress and breakfast had a good choice, we chose Eggs Benedict which were well cooked and they even had my favourite tea! Good value for money, would recommend and visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawson24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have been returning to the Colesbourne Inn for many years and have loved every visit. Liz and Trevor are the most wonderful hosts. The welcome is the warmest and the staff are so friendly. The food is first class and the service is outstanding. We ate in the resturant for the 3 days we were there. The breakfast is superb and the evening meals cooked to perfection. I have read the reviews and am astounded by some of the negative comments given!! Had the Ham and eggs which were perfect. We stay in the Deluxe room which is as described "Deluxe". The rooms are spotless, the bed in the Deluxe is Kingsize and so comfortable. We are booked to return next year and would not dream of going anywhere else!! Can't wait. Thanks to everyone at the Colesbourne, we look forward to seeing you soon.

Room Tip: Quiet location outside of Cheltenham.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

The title says it all, called in on spec travelling home, absolute rubbish eg Ham {not as described} egg {cold} and chips under cooked @ £11;50????????????????

e eat out at least once a week Lunch or dinner, and pass this resteraunt often, so despite hearing some not very complimentary thins about it we thought we wouild try it as it is less than an hour from home, never again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank egonaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Spent a week in the Cotswolds travelling around. Did not stay at the Colesbourne but ate here twice. First time for Sunday lunch which was excellent and then again on Wednesday for the 2 for 1 fish and chips lunch. Both very good value, well cooked and presented and the staff especially friendly and efficient. A really good eatery to put on the list for our next stay in the area. Will try to get a room here next time too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindyB38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colesbourne
11.8 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cowley Manor
Cowley Manor
#1 of 1 in Cowley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
4.6 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Birdlip
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#6 of 8 in Cirencester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
7.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
7.2 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colesbourne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colesbourne Inn

Property: Colesbourne Inn
Address: Colesbourne, Colesbourne GL53 9NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Colesbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Colesbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Colesbourne Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, HotelsClick, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Colesbourne Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colesbourne Hotel Colesbourne
Colesbourne Inn Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing