We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, comfortable bed, clean, quirky, .”
Review of Colesbourne Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colesbourne Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Colesbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed here a couple of weeks ago, the manager gave us the key to our room without taking us to it, a bad sign..
Though the room was lovely, great bathroom with bath and shower.

We had an evening meal in the restaurant which was very good.

Breakfast was average however, cooked fine, but the ingredients were not great quality.

The manager seems cold, and hostile, though this is just his strange manner, which he really needs to change as some people will be offended.
We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mick054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

A small hotel with comfortable, well appointed accommodation - spotlessly clean. The staff were attentive and professional at all times, the food and wine selections are commendable and to a very high standard for the price. Some road noise as stated in other reviews but only during a short peak time and not excessive as secondary glazing fitted. A pleasure to give the management and staff a well deserved thumbs up and an excellent rating.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Friendly welcome and efficient booking in. Large, very clean and well appointed room with good size on suite. Exactly as shown in photographs. Comfortable bed and what a treat to have 3 comfortable chairs when so many hotels only provide1. Some road noise in morning but not loud or frequent enough to be a problem. It's an inn after all and they are invariably adjacent to roads. Bar and restaurant areas are everything an inn should be and provide a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere in which to eat or just hang out.
Ordered from a la carte menu on first night and took advantage of the steak and wine deal (£11.99) on 2nd night. Staff friendly and efficient and all food perfectly cooked with generous portions. We were both impressed with the quality of the wines including that with the steak, of which we ordered additional glasses. Great breakfast each morning. Will be staying again

Room Tip: Go for the suite, room 9. It's a bargain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Walker150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Four of us stayed at the Colesbourne Inn for two nights,having decided to re-visit the village two of us lived over 60 years ago.We were not disappointed.The accommodation was excellent,clean,and comfortable.Friendly,young,smiling staff,great breakfasts and good choice of evening meals. Overall,a most enjoyable stay.Many thanks Liz,you were great too!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bigcatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Had a wonderful time at the colesbourne inn. We stayed at the same time at the last reviewer and have no idea what they are talking about. Trevor and Liz were a wonderful welcoming couple who went beyond to help. Even faced with customer's who were unable to say please and thank you to staff that all work very hard in an increasingly difficult industry, they still managed to smile.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zxcvbnmlkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have visited this Inn on a few recent occasions. The building, which is in typical Cotswold style, is alongside the busy Cheltenham to Cirencester road and so makes for a convenient place to stop when taking the scenic route between the two locations - although we usually avoid filling our car at the adjacent petrol station because it seems to have some of the most expensive fuel costs around. Unfortunately, the same road also generates a lot of traffic noise and this can prove to be a real irritant whenever the weather has meant that we have opted to eat outside. The tables in front of the Inn are no more than about 10 feet from the kerb! Not great when the widely ignored speed limit is 50mph. We are not surprised that some reviewers have commented on having been woken by the traffic.
The interior of the Inn is nicely arranged, with three distinct seating/dining areas. Visitors have the choice of sofas or tables, provided the visit is not during a busy meal period. We have tried several items from the menu and have found the food to be generally good. The younger members of staff have always been friendly and welcoming.
What really lets the place down is the very frosty attitude of the landlord. At first, we found it to be mildly amusing, even quaint, and had thought that we had visited on a bad day. But the hostile manner has continued through each visit! - it seems to be normal for the place. There is no friendly welcome on arrival. Our attempts to engage him in discussion have been ignored. Orders are taken without a smile and with no suggestions or friendly chat. Any requests made for side orders, etc after the meals have arrived at the table have been met with responses that border on hostility. Each time we visit, we regret giving the place 'one last chance'.
Before visiting, we recommend that you read the many other average and below reviews - it seems that our experience is not uncommon. We will not be back - there are much better local Inns no more than about 3 miles in either direction along the road.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank ExplorerLog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Great place to eat. Bar and restaurant very nice decor and comfortable. Lots of choice on bar and restaurant menus, plus a specials board to choose from. Great service staff friendly and helpful. We were made welcome from the moment we stepped into the inn. If you in the area stop and sample the great food for yourself! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Only stayed for lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ValRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colesbourne
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
387 reviews
6.4 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
565 reviews
15.7 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Beaumont House
Beaumont House
#4 of 69 in Cheltenham
632 reviews
14.3 mi away
The Porch House
The Porch House
#2 of 21 in Stow-on-the-Wold
577 reviews
16.2 mi away
Abbots Grange
Abbots Grange
#3 of 29 in Broadway
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colesbourne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colesbourne Inn

Address: Colesbourne, Colesbourne GL53 9NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Colesbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Colesbourne
Price Range: £66 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colesbourne Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Colesbourne Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colesbourne Hotel Colesbourne
Colesbourne Inn Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing