We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the kindness of strangers....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Plough Inn at Ford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2011

This review is in response to the question posed in a recent Trip Advisor email: "what is the quirkiest place you've stayed?" There's a contradiction here between that question and the pull down menu of choices in "when did you travel?" which limits you to dates since 2009. The question posed in the email didn't say "what's the quirkiest place you've traveled since 2009?", so I had to mark the oldest date even though the stay I'll describe took place long ago.

About 20 years ago my girlfriend and I loaded our bicycles onto a plane and took off to explore Ireland, England, and Europe. We had tons of gear because we were camping every night, just about. One day in England we were really tired going up a long hill on the B4077 and I said "when we get to the top of this hill, I'm stopping for a drink in the first pub I see." As it happened, The Plough at Ford sits at the top of this hill! Our drink turned into dinner and we had a marvelous evening chatting with the gentleman who was the publican then, Les Carter, and some of the local folks who had come in for ale and conversation. During dinner Les came over and told us that while we were welcome to camp overnight in the field beyond the car park, he thought it would be a cold night. As an alternative he offered to let us sleep on the floor of his "second bar" (which he used for large private parties), which was on the second floor (first floor for non-Americans) of a large stone barn-like building across the car park. We took him up on this and not only got a good night's sleep but enjoyed a huge "trucker's breakfast" in the pub the next morning. So I guess "a spare bar room" is the quirkiest place I ever stayed.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

What a great story. It would have been interesting to see what the Plough and the area was like 20 years ago. Hope you join us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2011

my family and I enjoyed a reunion dinner at the plough over the summer and had a very enjoyable evening. The food was delicious, with genorous servings and locally produced ingredients (A LOT of asparagus on the menu as it was asparagus season...luckily we all like it!).
The staff were attentive and friendly despite it being a busy saturday night.
The Plough is a traditional country pub restaurant with a friendly welcoming feel about it.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank williamblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Thank you. Do join us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We were told about the Plough by a local at a nearby village, who even rang the owner and booked us a room! The rooms were lovely, even down to the basket of toiletries in the bathroom. The food was great and reasonable. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. We checked in for two nights. On the third morning the weather had taken a turn for the worse. While we were pondering on what to do the owner offered us another night with breakfast for half price. Needless to say we accepted, which was a much better option than driving in the rain and wind and then having to search for another hotel. Would highly reccommend this pub for great accommodation and good food

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillyobe7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Thanks for the lovely feedback. We pride ourselves on trying to go the extra mile for our customers so was happy to accomodate you in this way

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Busy Saturday night so glad that we booked for the restaurant. Shown straight to table by landlord. Pleasant and attentive staff served us very good food. Would certainly recommend a visit and we'll be visiting again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Edmond1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Thank you and we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

A friend and I often meet in the Cotswolds for a weekend of walking and catching up. This time, we thought that we would try the Plough. Following a morning walk, we arrived at the pub with a view to checking in and having lunch. We were informed that there was only one room booked. The attitude of the bearer of this bad news was one of total indifference. We were told that the manager was not in at that time. The response I would have expected is that a drink might be offered whilst a few phone calls were made to other establishments, but no, we were met by a blank look. My friend and I went to Winchcombe, were a lovely lady in the Tourist Board office did her best to help, but to no avail. The end result was that we had to abandon our weekend and return home. I have since emailed the pub, forwarding my original email enquiry, but have heard nothing. What a disappointing result. Obviously, the landlord doesn't need to curry favour with his potential guests or he would have at least apologised for the confusion. We won't be going back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Service
4  Thank YayaBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

We are sad to learn of your poor experience with The Plough.

Although we cannot comment on the exact circumstances of the day, we do try to employ staff that understand and implement good customer care. Sadly, it doesn't always work out 100% the way we wish with new staff. Suffice to say that staff with that sort of negative attitude to our customers do not stay with us!

Usually, as you can see from the majority of the reviews, we do pride ourselves on customer care and are always reviewing better ways to serve our customers. We have recently subscribed to online bookings to further help to prevent any rare mistakes from happening.

We are sorry to learn that you had to cut short your holiday. Should you ever decide to visit The Plough again please rest assured we will do our best to create the positive experience that most customers have with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

It is difficult to review this pub. Breakfast was supposed to be served from 8.30. The guest rooms are in the old stable block away from the pub itself. All the guest rooms were full. All the guests went to have breakfast at 8.30. The pub was locked. We were forced to wait outside in the bitterly cold wind until 8.50 when the room maid arrived for her days work. She let us in through the kitchen. We were served our breakfast at 9.30 after a young waitress was called in on her day off.
The manager eventually turned up just before 10.00am , No apologies whatsoever not even a good morning. When he was asked what happened we had a tirade of whats your problem etc:. We went to the Cotswolds for a relaxing break not to be stressed out by a very rude and arrogant landlord. We checked out immediateley and certainly will not go back or recommend The Plough to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

So sorry to learn that your time with us was not a good one. I am uncertain of the circumstances of that day. Our doors are usually open early for customers and deliveries and we have staff on site from 8am at the latest. We can only apologise and say that we normally pride ourselves on customer care. It is sad and unfortunate that you had this experience with The Plough.

Please know that this is not the way that we treat customers and if you ever did decide to come back we will hopefully show you the positive customer care that most of our reviewers have experienced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We have eaten here twice now and been impressed on both occasions by the quality of food and value for money. It is unpretentious, proper pub food and does the job very well. We have eaten in the pub part of the building which is rustic and not fine dining - but its not meant to be. A number of our friends had mentioned it and we gave it a try and were not disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Blueted_1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Thank you... hope you will join us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Temple Guiting
9.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
292 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,268 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
394 reviews
7.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,345 reviews
4.1 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Inn at Ford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Inn at Ford

Address: Ford, Temple Guiting GL54 5RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Temple Guiting
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Temple Guiting
Price Range: £76 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plough Inn at Ford 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are a countryside-lover, sports-fan or race-goer, The Plough Inn at Ford makes a perfect base for exploration of The Cotswold's.Bed & Breakfast facilities are resplendent in a fresh coat of paint and Craig and Becky are proud to announce the award of 4 Diamonds for guest accommodation from both the Heart of England Tourist Board and the AA since taking over the pub.B & B accommodation is provided in the Tallot. This quaint cobble-stoned building once used as a hayloft with stabling below for two- and four-legged visitors has now been converted to provide separate, comfortable accommodation for the modern visitor.Three comfortable en-suite (shower) rooms are available, beamed and differently shaped in true Cotswold fashion. Two family (double and a single bed) rooms and a double room arrangements are offered. We operate a non-smoking policy in our B&B accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your The Plough Inn at Ford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Inn At Ford Hotel Temple Guiting
The Plough Inn At Ford Temple Guiting, Cotswolds - Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing