We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Plough Inn at Ford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Booked late in the afternoon for a meal in the evening on a busy Easter Saturday. The staff were very attentive, especially the guy from New Zealand who, without a doubt is a definite asset to the restaurant, even though he had only been there for five days .. He was enthusiastic and really lovely. The food was really good with very generous sized portions. We would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h0waythelads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Thank you for your great feedback and it's good to know that our staff are looking after our customers in the way that we like

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2012

Stayed here prior to the Cotswold Marathon. Found the service pretty decent - due to my marathon asked for a pasta dish the night before and this was no problem. Staff accomodating, and decent room. Bit out in the sticks which is a good attraction especially in the summer when the countryside can be appreciated. Problems with the wi-fi despite being told on booking I could log onto wifi in my room this wasn't the case. Apart from this no complaints.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmyfantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Thank you for your comments, feedback is always welcome. We had a bit of an issue with our Wi fi connection earlier this year so switched suppliers and it is working as it should now

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

This review is going to be difficult to write, as it is going to be rather difficult to be critical of an establishment that was always above reasonable criticism. We are long-time enthusiasts of this lovely Cotswold inn, and have had many an excellent stay. We particularly cherish our pre-Christmas Cotswold break. However, our last stay just before Christmas 2011 was a bit of a disappointment, especially on the culinary side, and more particularly as it was my wife's birthday. The Plough has always enjoyed a great reputation for food, but we were sorely disappointed with the apparent decline in both the quality and quantity of dishes on offer. Whatever has happened to the floor-to-ceiling Specials Board that was such a feature for years? This has shrunk to offer a fraction of dishes once proudly displayed. Also, the portions of what is available seem to be quite mean too in comparison to earlier days....is this a sign of the times, my bigger appetite, or just a decree from the accountants at Donnington brewery?? Whatever it is, it has rather taken the sparkle out of the diamond that was The Plough Inn. We actually ate elsewhere on several occasions during our stay, and that is a "first", as we were always eager to dine at the Plough in past times! The old candlelit ambience was not apparent either on this occasion (elf n' safety I wonder??) The rooms are excellent though, and there has been a definite improvement in this area over the years. However, when we arrived, on the coldest evening of December, we found to our disappointment that someone had forgotten to turn the heating on in the room prior to our arrival.....A cold cotswold night is COLD, but we soon got comfortable with a little help from the caretaker who found the heating switch before we froze.
Maybe nothing stays the same forever, but when a business has the right recipe for success, it seems madness to change it or let standards slip. The landlord (Craig) is still as friendly as ever, and no doubt is doing his best to maintain standards, but he may be struggling with "staff issues" and brewery directives.... Maybe they have lost a good and dedicated chef recently? A bit of investment in fixtures and fittings in the restaurant area wouldn't go amiss either....don't lose the "character", just get rid of the strip-lighting, and creeping shabbyness.
Sorry for the negative comments, but it is constructive criticism from long-term friends of The Plough. Good Luck & Best Wishes for 2012!

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent, but "Red Rum" is recommended for it's quieter location ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RangeRover29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Constructive criticism is always welcome even if it is difficult to hear but we take on board your comments and will continue to work on long term improvments for our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

stayed here for 1 night had a brilliant stay,a warm friendly pub excellent food ,the rooms are proper 4 star ,the landlord is a great front of house type running a vibrant cotswold pub .try it out.

Room Tip: any room will do
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dinkytewkesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Thank you. We look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

This review is in response to the question posed in a recent Trip Advisor email: "what is the quirkiest place you've stayed?" There's a contradiction here between that question and the pull down menu of choices in "when did you travel?" which limits you to dates since 2009. The question posed in the email didn't say "what's the quirkiest place you've traveled since 2009?", so I had to mark the oldest date even though the stay I'll describe took place long ago.

About 20 years ago my girlfriend and I loaded our bicycles onto a plane and took off to explore Ireland, England, and Europe. We had tons of gear because we were camping every night, just about. One day in England we were really tired going up a long hill on the B4077 and I said "when we get to the top of this hill, I'm stopping for a drink in the first pub I see." As it happened, The Plough at Ford sits at the top of this hill! Our drink turned into dinner and we had a marvelous evening chatting with the gentleman who was the publican then, Les Carter, and some of the local folks who had come in for ale and conversation. During dinner Les came over and told us that while we were welcome to camp overnight in the field beyond the car park, he thought it would be a cold night. As an alternative he offered to let us sleep on the floor of his "second bar" (which he used for large private parties), which was on the second floor (first floor for non-Americans) of a large stone barn-like building across the car park. We took him up on this and not only got a good night's sleep but enjoyed a huge "trucker's breakfast" in the pub the next morning. So I guess "a spare bar room" is the quirkiest place I ever stayed.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

What a great story. It would have been interesting to see what the Plough and the area was like 20 years ago. Hope you join us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

my family and I enjoyed a reunion dinner at the plough over the summer and had a very enjoyable evening. The food was delicious, with genorous servings and locally produced ingredients (A LOT of asparagus on the menu as it was asparagus season...luckily we all like it!).
The staff were attentive and friendly despite it being a busy saturday night.
The Plough is a traditional country pub restaurant with a friendly welcoming feel about it.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank williamblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Thank you. Do join us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We were told about the Plough by a local at a nearby village, who even rang the owner and booked us a room! The rooms were lovely, even down to the basket of toiletries in the bathroom. The food was great and reasonable. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. We checked in for two nights. On the third morning the weather had taken a turn for the worse. While we were pondering on what to do the owner offered us another night with breakfast for half price. Needless to say we accepted, which was a much better option than driving in the rain and wind and then having to search for another hotel. Would highly reccommend this pub for great accommodation and good food

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillyobe7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Thanks for the lovely feedback. We pride ourselves on trying to go the extra mile for our customers so was happy to accomodate you in this way

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Temple Guiting
6.4 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,356 reviews
9.3 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,076 reviews
17.5 mi away
The Old Brewhouse
The Old Brewhouse
#4 of 30 in Cirencester
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#4 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
447 reviews
20.2 mi away
The New Inn
The New Inn
#1 of 10 in Lechlade
652 reviews
7 mi away
The Bell at Stow
The Bell at Stow
#3 of 21 in Stow-on-the-Wold
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Inn at Ford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Inn at Ford

Address: Ford, Temple Guiting GL54 5RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Temple Guiting
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Temple Guiting
Price Range: £76 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plough Inn at Ford 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are a countryside-lover, sports-fan or race-goer, The Plough Inn at Ford makes a perfect base for exploration of The Cotswold's.Bed & Breakfast facilities are resplendent in a fresh coat of paint and Craig and Becky are proud to announce the award of 4 Diamonds for guest accommodation from both the Heart of England Tourist Board and the AA since taking over the pub.B & B accommodation is provided in the Tallot. This quaint cobble-stoned building once used as a hayloft with stabling below for two- and four-legged visitors has now been converted to provide separate, comfortable accommodation for the modern visitor.Three comfortable en-suite (shower) rooms are available, beamed and differently shaped in true Cotswold fashion. Two family (double and a single bed) rooms and a double room arrangements are offered. We operate a non-smoking policy in our B&B accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Plough Inn at Ford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Inn At Ford Hotel Temple Guiting
The Plough Inn At Ford Temple Guiting, Cotswolds - Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing