We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terribly dissapointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Plough Inn at Ford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this inn and I would not return. Really poor condition in rooms that could do with a clean and shower did not work despite our complaints.Breakfast was ok and we only ate one evening meal which was completely uninspiring. We ate elsewhere the following evening but wasn't much better A little courteous service would have helped but young inexperienced staff added to a dismal experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joel991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

It's disappointing for us to read such a review when the vast majority are saying the diametric opposite. We don't rest on our laurels and the rooms are cleaned every single day without fail and re-painted every 18 months. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the rooms. We also have four star rating for these rooms which doesn't come without some effort on our behalf.

'Uninspiring' is a word that has not been used in relation to the Plough Inn before. We are only sad that you were not able to have the experience that most of our customers have

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

recommended by a friend who visits the Cotswolds regularly. Stopped here for lunch on Thursday and was not disappointed, and then booked for Sunday lunch today and .. well .. it was stunning, plentiful and tasty .. mm...!! Lovely little rural pub, helpful pleasant staff and the food was served quickly and was piping hot. what more do you want..... x

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynonpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank you much appreciated :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Drove up from Somerset last Tuesday ,as on our last visit our meal was excellent value and supremely good,lets hope the summer weather continues then we will return again very soon.This is a great pub for walkers to work up a good appetite or combine with a visit to Cotswold Farm Park.nearby

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Topchef37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

We are delighted to hear that you liked our pub. Hope we see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Made a detour one sunny afternoon to enjoy the famous asparagus with some brown bread. The sign outside said 'food all day' so we thought we were in luck at 5pm
but no, food was not bring served before 6. So, what is the point of saying you do! Nice pub in a Cotswold village but don't expect to get food outside of std mealtimes.

Stayed: May 2013
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

We offer Monday - Thursday 12:15pm - 2:15pm & 6:00pm - 9:15pm and Friday to Sunday 12:00pm to 9:15pm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We 1st visited the Plough Inn a number of years ago stopping for a lunchtime drink in their lovely garden, on our recent visit to the Cotswolds though we decided to stop for Dinner, I'm so glad we did!!! The Food was outstanding: My sons shared the Fillet Steak which was one of the best steaks I've ever seen served in the UK, I had the steak pie which was absolutely delicious and my wife had the Chicken wrapped around Asparagus! An amazing meal, but make sure you save some room for desert (the Apple Crumble is wonderful)!! Staff were incredibly polite and service was faultless! A lovely pub with wonderful food, we'd DEFINITELY go back!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stunew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Fantastic!! We are so glad that you enjoyed your meal. We try very hard to get it right and it is lovely when our customers tell us that we are

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

A group of us finished a days walking in the Cotswolds here on Sunday and stayed for an evening meal. The menu was a Sunday one so mainly Sunday roasts but also vegetarian options. The starters were very expensive at £6 a go and the deserts were similarly priced. This Pub likes it local asparagus dishes which featured heavily. As food goes it was ok with good ingredients, nicely cooked. A two course meal with a drink will set you back at least £20- £25 which I think is a bit high for pub food. We had some problems with the itemised bill, not helped because there were 11 of us and it was a busy day. However, this was quickly sorted out by the manager. The service was very good with polite attentive staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikemayTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Glad you enjoyed it. Most pubs in the Cotswold's will have similar prices unfortunately. Our materials costs have risen dramatically as much as it has for the public, in the last year or so. To make up for that, we do try and offer good portions and good service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I've driven past The Plough many many times, and yesterday had the opportunity to have a meal there. Sadly, I have to say that the experience was not as I would have hoped for. Started at the bar with 3 staff, 4 customers and we still had a 5 minute wait to get served as 1 person was playing about with the CD player, 1 serving and the other polishing a glass. Never mind, got to sit down and have a look at the menu where everything sounded nice but MY GOD was it expensive. Nothing less than £11 and for that price outside London the food needs to be damn good. We opted for a Pork Sunday lunch at £13 and it was best described as good, not brilliant. The roast potatoes are a point worth mentioning. They we're all uniform in size and looked like they we're Aunt Bessie frozen potatoes, deep fried. Yes it was nice but nowhere near value for money. If it was just that little bit more sensibly priced we would go back but alas, its gone down as a disappointment.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuartadair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Sorry you felt that we are an expensive pub. 99% of our food is fresh and we source meat and vegetables all locally. In fairness, our prices pretty much reflect what most busy Cotswold Pubs are charging. Our portions are generous, and we pride ourselves on the quality of our food.

Prices continue to rise from our suppliers, reflecting what we are all noticing in the supermarkets and, indeed, with everything that we buy as consumers.

We try our very best to be as fair as possible, and keep our prices as reasonable as is humanly possible.

Sadly, there isn't a lot more we can say.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Temple Guiting
9.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
292 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,268 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
394 reviews
7.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,345 reviews
4.1 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Inn at Ford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Inn at Ford

Address: Ford, Temple Guiting GL54 5RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Temple Guiting
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Temple Guiting
Price Range: £76 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plough Inn at Ford 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are a countryside-lover, sports-fan or race-goer, The Plough Inn at Ford makes a perfect base for exploration of The Cotswold's.Bed & Breakfast facilities are resplendent in a fresh coat of paint and Craig and Becky are proud to announce the award of 4 Diamonds for guest accommodation from both the Heart of England Tourist Board and the AA since taking over the pub.B & B accommodation is provided in the Tallot. This quaint cobble-stoned building once used as a hayloft with stabling below for two- and four-legged visitors has now been converted to provide separate, comfortable accommodation for the modern visitor.Three comfortable en-suite (shower) rooms are available, beamed and differently shaped in true Cotswold fashion. Two family (double and a single bed) rooms and a double room arrangements are offered. We operate a non-smoking policy in our B&B accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Plough Inn at Ford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Inn At Ford Hotel Temple Guiting
The Plough Inn At Ford Temple Guiting, Cotswolds - Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing