We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good old fashioned pub”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Plough Inn at Ford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014

As a local I like to support local businesses and decided to visit The Plough having not been for a while.
I have decided to write this review because although the food is always very good, generous and freshly prepared, I am always disappointed by the lacklustre, indifferent 'welcome' by the landlord. I noticed however that those who were obviously frequent customers were greeted enthusiastically and he was very friendly, even showing them to tables unlike us. It would encourage to return if he extended this type of greeting to all customers...we're all spending money!!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Corinna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for your review. We do try to greet every customer equally. It may have been that this day was one where some friends not seen for a long time came to visit. Next time we will try harder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

The Plough was recommended by a friend and I'm so glad we stayed here. We were made to feel very welcome from the start. We were given the key to our room much earlier than the check in time. So sensible. The inn is a beautiful old building with beams, flagstone floors and log fires. Lovely little nooks and crannies and comfortably furnished.
The food served at both breakfast and dinner was plentiful and first class.
Our room was comfortable with views over the gallops. We were treated to the horses from Jonjo O'Neil's stables on their daily exercise on the Monday morning.
All of the staff are welcoming, friendly and efficient.
Special thanks to Alex, who is really proud of the pub, it's history and it's links with the equestrian world. He looked after us throughout our stay. Thank you.

Room Tip: If you're not into horse racing, avoid going at a time when big races are on throughout the coun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leedslass01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you. Alex IS a star and we appreciate you noticing that. Hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed again in March this year, fantastic Steak ! good atmosphere, huge portions, comfy rooms and a big breakfast. and horses out in the morning across the road. First class service. The location is convenient to visit Stow and other Cotswold villages.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Went twice during our recent break in the Cotswolds. Really great food and nice atmosphere. Lovely fire on a cool night,nice staff & customers who were very welcoming,what more could you want. Thanks from 4 hungry scousers. Thanks

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Massamsliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This country pub opposite one of UK's top horse racing stable yards and gallops in the Cotswolds, is a firm favourite of Cheltenham racegoers. But, we have been twice recently for lunch, and food is really good, tasty and wholesome, the service and welcome is friendly and efficient, and the bar and restaurant cosy with it's great beers and log fires on a cold winters day.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tusters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We love this pub. The food is consistently good and staff welcoming. It has a good selection of seasonal food which is fairly priced. The vegetables come in seperate bowls to the table and are always generous quantities. The pub itself has loads of character with a strong racing influence.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Susan_Davies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

A big big thank you to the staff at The Plough for feeding 15 starving and slightly tipsy friends on a Cotswold pub crawl. The food was superb and delivered quickly and efficiently with everyone getting exactly what they wanted all at the same time. Great pub, we'll be back for a more leisurely meal soon!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Lee2013_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandlordPlough, Manager at The Plough Inn at Ford, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Fantastic! Thank you and we very much look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Temple Guiting
6.4 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,310 reviews
7 mi away
The Bell at Stow
The Bell at Stow
#3 of 21 in Stow-on-the-Wold
358 reviews
13 mi away
Inn for All Seasons
Inn for All Seasons
#5 of 15 in Burford
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
The Priory Restaurant
The Priory Restaurant
#4 of 15 in Burford
137 reviews
7.4 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#4 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
439 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Hollow Bottom
The Hollow Bottom
#1 of 3 in Guiting Power
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Inn at Ford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Inn at Ford

Address: Ford, Temple Guiting GL54 5RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Temple Guiting
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Temple Guiting
Price Range: £76 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plough Inn at Ford 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are a countryside-lover, sports-fan or race-goer, The Plough Inn at Ford makes a perfect base for exploration of The Cotswold's.Bed & Breakfast facilities are resplendent in a fresh coat of paint and Craig and Becky are proud to announce the award of 4 Diamonds for guest accommodation from both the Heart of England Tourist Board and the AA since taking over the pub.B & B accommodation is provided in the Tallot. This quaint cobble-stoned building once used as a hayloft with stabling below for two- and four-legged visitors has now been converted to provide separate, comfortable accommodation for the modern visitor.Three comfortable en-suite (shower) rooms are available, beamed and differently shaped in true Cotswold fashion. Two family (double and a single bed) rooms and a double room arrangements are offered. We operate a non-smoking policy in our B&B accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Plough Inn at Ford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Inn At Ford Hotel Temple Guiting
The Plough Inn At Ford Temple Guiting, Cotswolds - Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing