We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“excellant”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Shipton Oliffe, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Julie M
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“excellant”
Reviewed 30 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

what a excellent place . spacious , very clean, the owners were lovely. everything you could need, welcoming pack a lovely touch, great location. and Maisie the doggie so cute, could have brought her home with me!!! would definitely recommend .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Greenfing...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply perfect !!”
Reviewed 10 August 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

My partner & I took our 2 dogs on a Cotswolds holiday last month and chose this lovely cottage to stay in based on the fact that it's in a very convenient location for access to Cheltenham and Cirencester - the 2 towns we wanted to spend most of our time in whilst on holiday.

When we arrived, the welcome was 2nd to none (& we regularly stay in self catering cottages). The hosts, Binna & Tim couldn't do enough to help but weren't over bearing in the slightest. The homemade bread in the welcome pack was delicious! We had a slight issue with the Wi-Fi which was quickly and effectively resolved whilst we were out sightseeing. (Let's face it, you don't go on holiday for the Wi-Fi, do you?!)

The cottage itself is stunning - beautifully furnished but highly practical with everything carefully thought out to make your stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible.

The cottage is dog friendly but is located fairly close to a busy road so you wouldn't want to let your dog out unsupervised and the hosts are more than happy to recommend some absolutely gorgeous local walks.

We didn't want to leave at the end of our stay and will definitely stay here again if we come back to the Cotswolds (which I think is highly likely as we couldn't find anything not to like!)

Thanks Binna, Tim & Maisie (the lovely cocker spaniel!)

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jules W
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy barn cottage”
Reviewed 30 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Shame no enclosed garden for our dog, as dog friendly? No downstairs toilet, two bathrooms, one toilet not flushing properly, door lock moved up high, not working properly either, WiFi kept dropping, hosts very nice, but welcome pack let them down, no bottle of wine? Always get wine, but enjoyed, but very overpriced.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2018
Thank you for your feedback, we will pass on your comments to the owner to action.
Best wishes
Bolthole Retreats
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crouching...
Leeds, UK
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Home From Home...”
Reviewed 17 October 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this lovely (huge) cottage for a week at the end of April this year (apologies for the delay in reviewing!). We had originally booked to go to the northeast of England but due to circumstances beyond our control, we amended the booking and decided on The Cotswolds instead. Glad we did!

Tim and Binna were consummate hosts from arrival through to departure. There was some communication between my fiancée (now wife!) Louise and Tim about directions and the best way to get there and when we arrived in the afternoon, we had an excellent and informative welcome which started our holiday off in the best way possible. We were also provided with some lovely homemade bread and jam, cake, local eggs and apple juice, which is a really nice touch.

The cottage is very well located just off the A40, but it’s very quiet considering how busy that road can be. Although there are many local places to eat and drink, we both decided to really use it as a base and be out and about for most of each of the 8 days we were there. Coming back to West Barn Cottage at the end of every day was great as it really is a home from home and it’s very easy to relax there.

I can’t recommend this place highly enough. We have stayed in a number of rental properties over the years and this is very close to the top of our list. If we were to come down to The Cotswolds again, this would be our first choice to stay for sure. And our Cocker Spaniel, Chutney loved it too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2017
Thank you so much for the positive review, it means a lot to us.

Best wishes,

Bolthole Retreats
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing