We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent coffee and cake stop.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caistor Arts and Heritage Centre

Caistor Arts and Heritage Centre
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Caistor
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Doncaster
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent coffee and cake stop.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

You get what you pay for. Superb quality cakes and excellent coffee. Interesting building.
Well worth a stop if you're passing.
In the village, you need to come off the bypass.

Helpful?
Thank beeboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    22
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A valuable restoration”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

This restoration is a tribute to all the work and time spent to (re)create and run it. It is in a prominent position in this small, uncelebrated redbrick town with a Roman history.
Being able to visit is a privilege and it is extremely pleasant to walk round and look at exhibits and to sit on the balcony with a coffee and cake.
As a library and exhibition centre, however, it is, owing to its restricted size, rather limited.
Much credit is due to the staff and the experts who have brought this fascinating facility to the public.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank rse13nr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Lovely multi purpose building with lots interesting artefacts. The food is very good, we tried a beef stew which was very tasty. I would love to know who supplies the meat as it was the best I have had in a long time. The presentation is excellent. We have returned again a few times and are keen to recommend to all our friends and aquaintances.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank R0salaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
“So much more than meets the eye”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Although features on the TV a while back I'd not been before but I'll certainly be going back! I had a mint/choc milkshake which had been made with home-made fresh mint ice cream to accompany the best treacle tart I've ever had. Although the prices are a tad higher than most tea rooms in the area, I feel they are very justified but the taste sensation and very high standard. Cakes & drinks for 4 adults came to £15 so less than £4 per head. We didn't leave sufficient time on our visit to have a proper look at the Library & historical displays but it was very effectively presented and gave a basic over view of the area. Very well appointed facilities.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nixpix_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Coffee and cakes!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Going through Caistor is a regular route for us but due to the lack of signage we have missed this delight before. So glad we found it. It is a lovely renovation of a chapel. There is plenty of information on the walls and the stairs lead up to the local library. The current exhibition can be found here and this is changed a few times a year.
The highlight is the cafe. Luckily on the day we went it was a sunny day and there are chairs outside, otherwise we would have had to wait for a table. We had a lunch of bacon,brie and cranberry wrap and an omelette. Both were delicious. There is a wide choice of coffees, teas and gorgeous cakes as well as a menu to suit many tastes.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank scarlettblushes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caistor Arts and Heritage Centre also viewed

 
Market Rasen, Lincolnshire
Market Rasen, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Caistor Arts and Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing