We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Cafe”

Caistor Arts and Heritage Centre
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Caistor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Delightful café area with outside terrace seating for when the sun shins and indoor options for those chillier days. Dogs are welcome within the upstairs seating area. We can cater for groups of walkers, cyclists and coach parties, serving breakfasts lunches and afternoon teas. An ideal place to meet your friends and colleagues. Watch the world go by through the magnificent gothic windows and enjoy the wonderful ambience of this fabulous building or enjoy the lovely view of the Hosemarket from outside on the terrace when the sun shines. Offering weekly specials as well as an appetising menu, the café offers local Lincolnshire produce within its tasty homemade dishes. We will cater for special requirements and always try to have gluten free cake available. Heritage Caistor's heritage was undiscovered for many years but the Centre has provided the opportunity to tell the story. In the Centre you will see interpretive panels about Caistor's past including a massive print of the 1907 Ordnance Survey Map and a 6 metre long time line describing Caistor's history from 8000 BC to the present day. If you are interested in Castor's history and would like to see images and films about the town and local area please go to our website where we have a large collection available. Meeting Room and Event Hire Our light and open space is ideal for • Exhibitions • Workshops • Meetings • Training • Celebration events • Children Parties Whether you need the whole building or just a room why not consider us for your event, we can provide catering, staff, bar and entertainment if required please call us for more information about hiring this fabulous venue. Events and Workshops Please see our website to view our full calendar of events, regular updates on our facebook page and register on our mailing list to be the first to know about our Pudding Clubs, Music Concerts, Workshops and Exhibitions. Volunteering Do you have some spare time or are you looking to gain new skills? We rely on volunteers to keep the Centre open and to be able to provide exhibitions, training and services for the local community. Please contact our Volunteer Manager for an informal chat about how you can get involved. Opening Hours: Monday - Saturday 09.00-16.00, Sunday & Bank Holidays 10.00-16.00
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Cafe”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I made an impromptu visit whilst walking around Caistor, and discovered a wonderful place to eat, drink, to learn and to watch the world go by. The cafe served fabulous food at very reasonable prices; the soup was tasty and hot, the serving of strawberries and cream was huge, and the lemon drizzle cake was moist and tangy. Service was friendly, swift and efficient. It's a gem of a place serving superb food and drinks in a great location. I will definitely be calling in again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
28ploughhill 2, Manager at Caistor Arts and Heritage Centre, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thanks a lot for your lovely review! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    25
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simply Delicious”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

The home made soup is wonderful as is the cake. You can learn about the fascinating history of Caistor too.

Helpful?
6 Thank YveClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
28ploughhill 2, Manager at Caistor Arts and Heritage Centre, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
We're really happy you enjoyed our food, we try our best to freshly prepare all of our lunches and treats. Thank you for your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Called in to view art exhibition and we were really surprised by the buildings interior.
We stayed for coffee at the very well managed cafe, which also served delicious looking snacks and cakes. Excellent coffee too. Outside seating on terrace for sunny days. On street parking outside. Lots of lovely gift ideas and greetings cards on display and for sale. Upstairs is community based, with a library, IT suite, gallery rooms, ect. Small but perfect. Well worth popping in for a look at the sympathetically restored building, and a coffee. Will certainly go again, wish our town had such a lovely facility.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
28ploughhill 2, Manager at Caistor Arts and Heritage Centre, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thankyou for your lovely review of our centre. We have a lot of help from volunteers to keep all of the different parts of the centre running, so we really appreciate your kind words. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unexpected Treat”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Super place with loads of interesting info about Caistor and the surrounding area. All topped off by a super selection of teas, sandwiches and cakes. I can strongly recommend a pot of tea and toasted teacake, and believe me I have sampled many in my time. Good value for money and very friendly, helpful staff.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JbsquaredDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
946 reviews
216 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 604 helpful votes
“Delightful Teas & Cakes”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed tea and cakes in the Heritage Centre, calling in quite late in the afternoon. Despite not being far away from closing time, we were happily served our order and the cakes were delicious. Cafés such as this play a key role in the community.

Helpful?
Thank TrevorHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caistor Arts and Heritage Centre also viewed

 
Market Rasen, Lincolnshire
Barton-upon-Humber, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Caistor Arts and Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing