We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Near to Home Break”
other travellers have booked this property
The light and airy lounge.  Tastefully decorated to give you that holiday feel.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The light and airy lounge.  Tastefully decorated to give you that holiday feel.
The kitchen is fully equipped. We hope we've thought of everything!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
The light and airy lounge.  Tastefully decorated to give you that holiday feel.
The kitchen is fully equipped. We hope we've thought of everything!
Double bedroom, with wardrobe and chest of drawers.
Twin bedroom, with wardrobe and chest of drawers.
Summerleaze Beach at sunset.
Summerleaze Beach - Lets go surfing...
Fun in the sun!  Our girls and their little cousin.
Penstowe Manor Sports and Leisure Complex.
Crooklets Beach - Home made art!
The view down to Sandymouth from the coastal path.
Beautiful Sandymouth.
Wild flowers growing on the cliffs.
Port Isaac (Home of Doc Martin)
Boscastle
Tintagel
Kevin and his brother prepare a BBQ for our families on Summerleaze Beach, Bude.
Stunning, rugged scenery at Hartland, just over the boarder into Devon.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kilkhampton, Bude, Bude-Stratton, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andrew C
1 review
“Good, but could be better”
Reviewed 29 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Nice place to stay at, but the front door seriously needs looked at. There are gaps all the way down the whole length of the door which left it very, very draughty. It wouldn't even stay shut unless it was locked. The windows in the lounge were not much better - we had to buy tape to keep it draught free as we were spending quite a bit on electric to keep warm - unfortunately we were there during storm Brian which didn't help.
The smoke detector should have been replaced 3 years ago.
Would think of staying in another dwelling if we come back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2017
Thanks so much for your feedback. How disappointing that Storm Brian came during your holiday! We have arranged for the door and lounge window to be replaced during the winter shut down. We regularly test the batteries in the smoke alarms to ensure they are in good working order but were unaware of the expiry date on the detectors so thank you for bringing this to our attention. This will be addressed ready for the new season.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camshell2
Bude, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Near to Home Break”
Reviewed 27 April 2017 for a stay in October 2015

Kilhampton is the village where Penstowe Park is it close enough to walk to.There are shops there & it has a Coop now. The pubs are local types & do good food.Nearby is the seaside town of Bude & its beaches were there are plenty of shops & restaurants. We were allowed to take our dog with us. Indoor pool is just right & as it was out of season we had it to ourselves, good idea.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Really lovely week away”
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My partner and I, with our 2 year old son, really enjoyed our week away at 7 The Drive, Penstowe Park.
It was quiet and relaxing being there off season.
The chalet was comfortable with some nice little touches and everything was thought of e.g plastic cups and plates for little one.
Was a bit concerned about the shower door seemed a bit unstable on its runner and the airer was falling apart, there was also a broken slat under one of the beds. Just wanted owners to be aware.
Penstowe Manor is really handy and the pool was great. Some lovely treatments are available too. Enjoyed the Stables bar and the pizzas on site. Kilkhampton is lovely, great fish and chips and The London Inn does a fantastic carvery on Sunday. We loved Bude and its beaches.
Would definitely go back.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2016
Thanks so much for your review - we're really pleased you enjoyed your holiday. Your feedback is important to us and we have since rehung and adjusted the shower door and fixed the bed slat. The airer has been replaced. We hope to welcome you back to Cornwall again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BethanyLa...
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing last child -free holiday!”
Reviewed 11 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a lovely stay at 7 the drive in may half term. (This us not the first time we have stayed here, we returned knowing it would be the perfect stay for our last holiday before the arrival of our baby!) We were blessed with beautiful weather from start to finish.

The chalet was immaculate, once again and still feels just as new and clean as the previous time we stayed - showing the owners take pride in keeping this chalet up to a good standard. The chalet was thoroughly cleaned and spotless when we arrived. It was equipped with everything that we would need for the week and felt like home from home. Very tastefully decorated to!

I was a but worried, being 37 weeks pregnant but this chalet was perfect for our needs. The shower cubical is nice and spacious and the beds were comfortable.

We spent many days relaxing on the beach (and my husband enjoyed the surf) down at Summerleaze. We also visited Boscastle twice during our stay, which was breath taking. We discovered the new outdoor pool that Penstowe has made (which can be used free of charge) it was brilliant for the hot days!

Thank you once again for a beautiful holiday, filled with wonderful memories. I would highly recommend staying here and cant wait for our next visit with the baby!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandpa...
Staines, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed 18 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My partner and I stayed at 7 The drive in Penstowe Park and were very impressed with the chalet. It was very reasonably priced and it had all the home comforts we needed and was well maintained. The location was perfect. Penstowe Park was very peaceful but with the lodge and Stables Inn on site you could swim, eat, drink and play games. From a wider location, it was great for access to Bude, Clovelly, Padstow, Tintagel, Widemouth.....all of which were fantastic days out. We were also extremely lucky with the weather - which definitely made our holiday. Thank you for having us Jane!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the property
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traceymck...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay in a lovely bungalow in a beautiful area”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This was a lovely base to explore North Cornwall. The site is quiet and clean and the bungalow has everything you need to enjoy your stay aswell as little thoughtful extras such as games, books and information on local activities.
The owner is quick to reply to any questions and the property was lovely! Thankyou for a lovely stay x

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timmy-Dom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely and peaceful and well-equiped”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A lovely, clean chalet with well-equipped kitchen. An extremely peaceful area. It did, however, state that a DVD was included and there was not - the purpose of my trip was for research, having taken along DVDs but luckily had laptop. Although I'm sure most people would be there for a holiday it may not be important. Other than that, was wonderful service from the owners and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2015
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time in our holiday bungalow but are sorry that you were unable to locate the DVD player which is incorporated within the TV itself, to the side of the screen. Kindest regards, Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing