We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Value for money”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hillside

Chalet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chalet
Double Room Double Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
29 reviews
Chalet
Double Room
Double Room
Shower
Bathroom
Bathroom
Kitchen
Lounge
Twin Room
Twin Room
Lounge
Lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kilkhampton, Bude, Bude-Stratton, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tracey L
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Value for money”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Just back from a short break at Hillside chalet and had a fantastic time, yes it could benefit from a bit of up-dating but towels and bed linen were provided and were clean. Little welcome packs of tissues and shower gel were a nice touch and flowers on the table too. I could happily have stayed longer and the park itself was lovely, I would definitely consider rebooking next year. The only suggestion would be that the owner invests in some new blinds for the French windows as they are very worn but other than that the chalet was great value for the price charged.
Thank you :-)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birde2
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Had a great time!”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have just got back from a great weekend at Hillside. Overall we were very happy and have had a great holiday. The lodge it's self is spacious compared to other places we have stayed. The kitchen, bathroom and bedding was clean and smelt fresh. The kitchen is outdated but adequate for what you need. There was a damp smell but once aired we had no issues. The property is nicely decorated with a shower. If we had to pick fault in anything we would say the blinds could do with a clean and the sofas and freshen up however you get what you pay for! Overall great places would book again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abraham H
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A little dissapointed, accomadation needs a refurb.”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This accommodation is quite small and has very little storage space especialy in the kitchen and we had to leave most of the groceries on the kitchen worktop. The building was damp, not helped by the overcast weather we had. Tiles were falling off the walls and the bath leaks onto the carpet in the lounge and bedroom door opening. As I said it is quite small and bit tight for a couple with two teenage children (it is listed as 4 persons). On the plus side, it had all of the kitchen utensils and cooking stuff. The chalet is in parkland and is a private part of Penstone Manor a holiday complex so the entertainment is part of the deal, you only have to pay for the sports facility. There was entertainment every night day for children and all sorts of stuff in the evenings, which also was enjoyed by younger children in the venue which has its own bar, and restaurant. Towels and bedding were provided. You will need transport as there for even the local beaches( 3 miles) I was a bit disappointed as my family constantly reminded me as it was August it was not cheap, but I did not complain as I felt it would disrupt our 2 weeks holiday. But if the owner reads this, it needs refurbishment/ redecorating and the problems sorting, so should be easy to remedy during the quite season.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma E
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worse weekend ever”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Well exspected more than what we recieved the place smelt like damp, it was a mess , water damage in master bedroom wall, shower leaked wen on through the master and living room, sofas were vial , they stunk had to use bedding on so could sit on it , bedding was good , only thing that looked clean and was clean. When arriving we arrived at 2.30 thinking well have a look were it was and when we got there a guy who said he looked after the place who was in fact manager , was cleaning only with trousers on, looked like he been living there. One of the children's bed had piss stains on it and bees near outside patio doors, would never ever think of staying there again... Have pictures to show how it actually is compared to the pictures on here !

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2014
I am absolutely shocked by this review and is competely not at all fully reflective of the property. To be quite honest it borders on defamation.Tripadvisor- please explain fully why you did not follow procedure with this review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GypsyChes...
Chesham
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Typical Holiday Park Chalet”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Quite an old chalet with some modern additions; power shower and microwave were much appreciated. Nicely decorated throughout with new carpets and double glazing and patio doors. Heating in all rooms. Some furniture is a bit wrickety and the kitchen is dated.(there was a major water leak under the sink when we arrived,which meant we had to keep the water turned off, but it was fixed the following day) Quite dull inside as it is under trees and there is the usual slightly musty smell that many of these places have. Would be crowded with 4 adults but a family with small children would be fine. The holiday park is nicely laid out and much bigger than first impressions give. There is a lovely indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi and gym for which there is an extra charge.(the sauna is no longer there). There is also a large outdoor pool which we didn't try. Great being able to take the dog too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the shower and location
Liked least: the water leak!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;