We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful and relaxing.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Summerleaze Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Spacious king size bedroom
Twin beds in the second bedroom
Complimentary basket of wood upon arrival
Be greeted with a Cornish cream tea
Rugged coastline with sandy beaches
Tamar Lakes with watersports and varied walking opportunities
Small coves and wide expanses of beach to explore along the coast
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kilkhampton, Bude, Bude-Stratton, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nia L
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and relaxing. ”
Reviewed 12 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and my partner visited here as a last minute plan, what a great choice we made. The cosy, warm, relaxing, spotlessly clean cabin was a delight to stay in, we only stayed here for 2 nights but we wish we could of stayed longer, such a lovely weekend get away to get away from hectic work life.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NAMB1979
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful relaxing place.”
Reviewed 18 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Seen the lodge on the pics and it looked impressive. When we got there I was amazed at how impressive it was. Looked even better in life. The owners were really nice people and made me and my girlfriend very welcome. There was some scones and cream waiting on the kitchen side and a full basket of logs for the burner. Bude is a peaceful magical place. Recommend it to anyone who needs to get away from a hectic life. Will defiantly be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrina T
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Would recommend to anyone and be going back very soon!”
Reviewed 18 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The lodge is small on the outside but when you open the door it's spacious, warm, inviting and very clean with lots of charm. The owners are lovely and take great care of the lodges and to make you feel right at home. On arrival we was greeted with scones, jam and cream. (Delicious). There was complementary logs for the open wood fire which was very romantic and if you would like more you can buy them for £5 a bag which is very reasonable. Every morning I woke I was greeted to a heard of calfs at the window which was very friendly. Wifi wasn't great but let's face it who needs wifi on holiday especially in a place like this. Our lodge had everything you need and additional touches like board games, DVDs, books and lots of leaflets of local places to go. The beach was about a 8 minute drive through the lovely country side. Unfortunately the sky wasn't clear enough for us to see the astrology but it's suppost to be excellent as there was a feedback book in our lodge and everyone was saying how amazing it is. The closest town that was quite big is bude around a 12 minute drive where there is lots of shops, food places and quirky gifts with local food produce. Would highly recommend going into st Ives for the day, the sand is white and the sea is clear. We spent the day there and went to the harbour fish and chip shop which is the best we have ever had.
Overall if you are looking for a quiet beautiful romantic getaway this is 100% the place to be.
I can't thank the owners enough.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandy6020...
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 15 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

i booked Eddington Lodge as my daughter wanted to visit Cornwall. As it was her 27th birthday and she hadn't had a holiday for six years, I wanted to find somewhere where we could relax in comfort but not be restricted to meal times or vacating a room as would have been had I booked a hotel or B&B. Having read the excellent reviews, I booked a 3 night stay. I only wish I had booked longer as there was so much to see. We managed to get to the Eden project, Padstow, Tintagel, Boscastle, local beaches and Clovelley, all of which are well worth a visit. The lodge was very clean, comfortable and homely. Hannah and Jonathan welcomed us and a Cornish cream tea was most wecolme on arrrival. Thank you both for a most enjoyable and memorable stay. Mandy White

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness of the lodge
Liked least: nothing
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oystercat...
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Astronomical Delight”
Reviewed 15 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

One week stay with family ,son keen amateur astronomer, lucky with 3 nights dark skies made good use of superb observatory and dobsonian telescopes and helpful informative owner.Amazed us too ,and comfy warm cabin was great to return too after star gazing .Great location ,also cycled ,walked ,kayaked ,surfed and explored,Nearby Bude good restaurants and seafood .Beds very comfy , though sofa bit low for older limbs ,but very good accommodation and facilities ,helpful,friendly hosts.Field behind cabin home to calves and a hare,house martins ,swallows and songbirds, hedgerows full of Spring flowers,delightful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Observatory
Liked least: Low sofa but not a deal breaker.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salsation...
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet, comfy & cosy”
Reviewed 16 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for a long relaxing weekend in March 2016, already planning our return! Had a wonderful weekend, the lodge was perfect, had everything we needed and Hannah & Johnathan are excellent hosts. We didn't arrive until very late in the evening and it was no trouble and Johnathan even had the log burner going on arrival. Beautiful & peaceful location and well placed for visiting the North Cornwall coastline. We would highly recommend staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - peace & quiet
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isaac B
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Weekend Escape ”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and a small group of friends visited for a long weekend, we arrived late but were still greeted with cream tea which was delicious and great to wind down after a long drive. The accommodation itself is cozy, modern and clean. For a bit of extra fun we were shown the telescopes one night and given a guide of the sky and looked at a few planets which was really something special and unique. Thanks for a great stay, will recommend this place to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing