We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wondeful location, cottage and people”

Cleave Farm Holiday Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Gennys
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cleave Farm Holiday Cottages
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
“Wondeful location, cottage and people”
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We have stayed at Cleave more than 10 times, and we will keep coming back. It is just perfect for a family holiday. The location is very special and provides quiet natural beauty, of a quality we havnt seen in other holiday cottages. It really is a special place, just a field away from the cliffs and the sea. Even in high season you can walk from the cottage and not see many people. Then again when we want to go to the beach for the kids, it is only a short drive, or a lovely walk along the cliffs.

The cottages themselves are also great, providing comfort and style that feels like a home away from home. Inside they are comfortable and cosy, while there is a substantial space outside for eating and relaxing, and lots for children to explore. Finally the owners of these cottage have always provided us with a special welcome.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We have just returned from what we think is our 10th visit to Cleave Farm Cottages in St Gennys. We spent the week in Abels cottage celebrating our daughters 21stbirthday. Other family members stayed in a nearby pub called The Coombe Barton in nearby Crackington Haven.We love the cottages and the location the most. They are well off the beaten track, in fact they are about a mile off the road down a track and the only noise you can hear is the sheep, cows and the crackling of wood on the open fire they have. There is even a farmer down the road selling sacks of logs.
The family who own the cottages are very helpful and friendly. In fact so are all the locals too. We got invited into a farm by a farmer on a walk one day for a full showround. Even the locals in the Coombe Barton pub were very friendly towards us whenever we was in there ( which was quite often).
We was recommended a restaurant called Elements in Widemouth Bay by Sara the owner of Abels for us to celebrate our daughters 21st birthday. This restaurant did not disappoint. The Italian food was excellent and the atmosphere was buzzy. We had a great evening in Elements all ten of us. I can highly recommend the Crab Spagetti !! The waitress from Elements then came out with a birthday cake for my daughter and the whole restaurant sang happy birthday.
We will certainly return in the near future for our 11th visit !!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tioman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We spent a week at Cleave Farm in Abel's Cottage in July, and it was utterly lovely. We traveled from Canada with our daughters (13 yrs old and 10 yrs old) and had never been to Cornwall before, but we will definitely return someday.

Abel's Cottage is a beautiful barn conversion with three bedroom spaces, so we were able to give everyone their own bedroom. The open plan kitchen and living area is bright and beautifully decorated, there is even a granite countertop (much nicer than the one in my kitchen!). There's a small fireplace, which is very nice on a cool night. We've stayed in a number of cottage rentals in a wide variety of places and the owners of Cleave Farm have certainly gone the extra mile in making their property a pleasant place to be.

There were some spectacular views to take in on the coastal walk, and the walk to St Genny's church and to Crackington Haven were very lovely. We spent time playing in the surf at the beach in Crackington Haven and catching crabs and shrimp in the tidepools, went to the castle ruins at Tintagel (really fantastic and worth the better part of a day!), Launceston castle, the witch museum (take it with a grain of salt, but fun, especially for the kids), cream tea and pasties for a hearty lunch.

The best part, though, was the quiet. Because the cottages are fairly remote, there was very little noise and it was a very relaxed place to recharge our batteries on this trip. There was plenty of space for the kids to ramble about a bit and enjoy themselves while we adults unwound. The owners are lovely people and were very friendly and helpful. I can't recommend them enough! Thanks for one of the best holidays ever!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 24fps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2010

We have been returning to stay with at Cleave cottages for many years now and have always had a fantastic time there. Most recently we stayed over the half term holiday with our three children 11yrs, 9yrs and 3yrs. The cottages are four old stone barns which have been lovely developed into chic, comfortable child friendly spaces....which is great if you are entertaining or spending a rainy day in-doors. We have stayed in all of the cottages at different times of year...from celebrating new year, long weekends in spring and summer breaks. Friends have sometimes stayed in other cottages on the farm and sometimes we've all squeezed in together.
This time we had glorious sunny weather!
A 5 minute walk across a field takes you up on to a dramatic headland where you can watch the surf pounding against the cliffs and rocky bay below. A coastal path will bring you to Crackington Haven with its pub, pasties, ice creams and beach/surfing articles.... I guess grown-ups would walk this in 30 or 40 minutes but we tend to dawdle along and one of us drives down with all the beach gear and sandwiches. It's well worth having wetsuits for the children... Crackington is a 'secret' spot well known to local surfers ...but we tend to be quite happy with our boogie boards and sandcastles.
The four sisters who look after the cottages are lovely and friendly (as are their children) and are always be able to let you know about local things going on (such as the halloween party for children we went to last year) and can suggest lots of things to do on a day out. We tend to visit the, quite scary, Witches Museum in Boscastle ... and even better the Cobweb Inn. A little further along the coast is 'King Arthurs' Tintagal, where I love to make drawings and paintings.....very dramatic place!
Wainhouse Corner has a couple of local food shops and then there are the trips in to Bude for the supermarket, surf shops, cream teas, toy shops etc....
From a 'checking in with work' point of view, mobile phone reception can be intermittent but OK if you walk up into the field. I am kind of glad that there is no broadband (although there is Sky TV) in the cottages and when I did need to log-in for work, one of the girls was kind enough to let me do this from her house.
All in all we and many of our friend love the place and have had many happy holidays there.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mckeeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cleave Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleave Farm Holiday Cottages

Property: Cleave Farm Holiday Cottages
Address: Cleave Farm, Saint Gennys EX23 0NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Saint Gennys
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Saint Gennys
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Cleave Farm Holiday Cottages UK/Cornwall - Saint Gennys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing