We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service with a smile...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mbotyi River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mbotyi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mbotyi River Lodge
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service with a smile...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

A few weeks ago some friends and I were running down the Wild Coast and overnighted at Mboyti Lodge. Nothing was too much for the staff at Mboyti to help us - afternoon sandwiches for hungry runners, extra fruit at dinner, a rush laundry job and breakfast at 05h30 in the morning and delicious lunch packs for our next day of adventure! After a tough day of running there is nothing like being met by kind and helpful people...

Room Tip: I enjoyed our room on the southerly side of the property!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kylie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    35
    20
    3
    6
See reviews for
24
48
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and I do a lot of local and international travelling and have by far experienced the best service of any South African establishment at Mboyti River Lodge. A very personal touch, great food and beautiful location.

Well done guys

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Phuket123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Spent three nights at Umngazi River Bungaloes, absolutely amazing, brilliant food, room and service all outstanding. Then onto Mboytji for three nights paid two weeks prior! Just R480.00 less than Mngazi. Arrived and managed only two nights! Terrible food, zero service, uncaring owners present and management and staff not interested. After a shocking luncheon we paid our tabs for the bar and packed up a day early and headed home. No refunds, poor excuses, no accountability by the owners or managers! Email sent to them outlineing grievances, no response! Spread the word, do not waste your hard earned cash here! One holiday that started of great, ruined.

Room Tip: Don't go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Denis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Mbotyi River Lodge is not about fine dining and perfectly made bedrooms. Its about the world outside of the resort which is endlessly beautiful. Just use the resort as a friendly, comfy base and venture out on the amazing waterfall walks and horserides, wonder the hills around, go deep in the forest and swim in waterfalls, and let your kids run feral and free! Its magic!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenni_S_12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Having stayed at other resorts on the Wild Coast we were hugely disappointed with what Mbotyi River Lodge has to offer. The grounds are superbly maintained, the linen is fresh, the beds comfortable and the rooms adequate. The riverfront rooms have inter-leading doors which are locked if you are not part of the same group. However the walls are very thin and loud TV's and conversations can be easily overheard. There are Three big problems with this resort: Firstly whilst the setting is on the river and sea, you are fenced in" Estate style" and can only access the beach and river via two small gates which are security guarded. Nice to know you are secure but hardly "Wild Coast" in my opinion. Furthermore The resort is small enough to feel trapped in. Should you wish to go to the beach or lagoon you will have to pass by every man and his dog (literally) who are picnicing outside the gate. When we were there in December 2013/January 2014 the locals had their car boots open and music was pumping on the other side of the fence. Secondly, the food is simply terrible. The diet consists of meat and a starch. In 10 days we had vegetables twice. There was a coleslaw on hotdog day and twice a green salad with lots of lettuce and very little else. There was an obvious recycling of food too. Like if you had chicken at supper you could guarantee (leftover) chicken for lunch the next day. Whilst we never expected gourmet food, we were limited in variety and health options. Two of our party were vegetarians and had to have toasted cheese sandwiches at lunchtime (with the best slap chips ever by the way) and very little else for supper. For the price of around R1275 per person per day we expected a lot more value for money. And lastly, there are very few activities to do that do not add to your costs. Other resorts on that stretch of coastline organise day walks, sunset cruises up the river, sporting competitions and general fun activities for young and old. New Year at Mbotyi was a huge bust! We were promised an evening of entertainment but landed up in bed before 11, bored witless. Management were rarely seen. You would do well to spend your hard earned money elsewhere in my opinion.

Room Tip: River front rooms have aircons and tvs, thatches have fans and no tv. Block 4 is your best bet for v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Colleen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

I agree with the general sentiment about the superb location, and facilities. Children are well catered for. Also, the lodge is quite easy to reach (in Wild Coast terms) and really any car can do it. The last bit is well maintained (if bumpy) gravel, and the road leading up to the gravel is very good. Staff are friendly, but two aspects of the service were shocking. Firstly when we reported that our room fan did not properly (It was very hot) nobody really seemed to give a damn, or offered to move us to the empty room next door. When we had our washing done, it came back with a rather expensive item missing. We immediatly enquired, and got told that they knew about it, they had it in bleach since it was white, but they did not know exactly where it was. During the next two days we repeadly enquired, (nobody got back to us) and eventually we got told matter of factly, that it just got lost. Nobody suggested anything, or even vagualy apologised, or even pretended to care. The one lady at reception said she was only the bookkeeper, she could not make a call (nor apparently even escelate our problem). Eventually we lost it. We could not speak to the manager because, then Phil was having dinner, and wouldn't want to be bothered by this, but instead the outgoing managers wife gave us a lame apology, and gave us the cost of the item off our final bill. We would have been happy with less, if people just pretended to care and keep us informed. What really angered us was the complete disinterest. Some of our relatives have stayed there on previous occasions and recommended this place. It seems like things are good unless something happens. Unfortunately, even if I want to, there is no way I'll be able to convince my wife to give Mbotyi another shot.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank kwaaikat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

This Lodge has so much potential but unfortunately the food and service let it down.
The positives are that it is in a beautiful setting right on the beach and river. The rooms are rustic but have everything you need and are clean. I had a good massage from one of the therapists.

On the negative side, the food was bland, lacked imagination and the portions were tiny.
For lunch all we could get was a toasted sarmie and on the second day........ same thing again.
If you get to lunch half an hour after the sitting starts, you will probably miss out on whatever they have at the buffet as they don't seem to cater enough food for their guests. Salads are the usual limp iceburg lettuce, tomato and cucumber combination.
What I found most disappointing was that with being right on the beach, there was no fresh seafood on offer. 1 Night there was a linefish on offer, but it was for 'vegetarians' only.
The service for dinner was also none existent - it was impossible to get someone to take a drinks order, so you had to keep going to the bar for drinks.
Would we go back? Probably not. I don't think it was worth the +- R900 p/p and would rather pay a bit more to go down to the other lodge down the way! But if you don't mind pap'n wors for supper, then it's the perfect location for you!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bushbabe99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mbotyi
17.7 mi away
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
Amapondo Backpackers Lodge
#1 of 14 in Port St Johns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
17.6 mi away
The Lodge on the Beach
The Lodge on the Beach
#5 of 8 in Port St Johns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
18.1 mi away
Delicious Monster Retreat
Delicious Monster Retreat
#6 of 14 in Port St Johns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
N`taba River Lodge cc
N`taba River Lodge cc
#2 of 14 in Port St Johns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
15.7 mi away
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
Jungle Monkey Backpackers
#4 of 14 in Port St Johns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gecko Guest House
Gecko Guest House
#1 of 6 in Coffee Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mbotyi River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mbotyi River Lodge

Property: Mbotyi River Lodge
Address: Pondoland, Mbotyi 4820, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Mbotyi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Mbotyi
Hotel Class:3 star — Mbotyi River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Mbotyi River Lodge, the Wild Coast's leading seaside hotel we offer a range of accommodation options for couples, groups, families or corporate and conference bookings. Guests enjoy a comfortable 3 star hotel experience at this wonderfully remote Wild Coast resort. Our bedrooms all have a private balcony or patio to enjoy the wonderful views whether it is of the sea, the lagoon or valley. All rooms also offer tea and coffee making facilities, a ceiling fan and a safe for your valuables. We have 48 well appointed, en-suite rooms of which 36 are log cabins and 12 in thatched units that blend beautifully into the lush natural environment of Pondoland. 12 Rooms interconnect - perfect for families. We also cater for sporting, adventure and conference groups. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing