We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical romantic place to stay”
Review of Chateau De Riell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau De Riell
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Magical romantic place to stay”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I took my husband away as a treat for his birthday - we stayed in the chateau for three nights and we found the place absolutely stunning !!!
the views from our balcony overlooking the Pyrenees were spectacular, Breakfast was amazing with warm croissants and pain au chocolat, breads, basket of fruit and teas and coffees - this was included in our package but if it had not been included it would have costed us an extra 25 euros each per morning .
the grounds are amazing - we ate breakfast outside in the grounds ..
~We ate dinner every night at the chateau and it was amazing - the staff were so friendly and helpful .
The rooms were beautifully furnished and immaculate and clean .The beds are so comfortable ..
Both pools were beautiful, if you are looking for a special romantic get away , then Chateau De Reill is definitely the place to visit ..We are looking at going back later on in the year for our wedding anniversary ........

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent - I doubt whether anybody would be disappointed with any of the rooms .. if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeanaHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    48
    12
    6
    5
See reviews for
32
168
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
179 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

we regretted that it was only a 1 night stop on our way. The tower as main building looks very enchanted. The huge trees around it, the garden with palmtrees and swimming pool and then the inside! The Bar has a theme ' out of africa ' tastefully arranged, the other 2 public area rooms where just like somebody's home, nice details and warm colors. On top .. the rooftop pool.
Our room on the 3. floor was spacious and interesting. Room Amandiere for €270.00.
The wall, doors and closet was covered with fabric showing little chinese in their traditional dress. The Bathroom with 2 copper sinks and a tub was not less special.
We arrived at 1.45h pm and had no lunch yet, the reception did arrange for us to go to the Grand Hotel for lunch, ensuring they will wait for us. Excellent service!
For dinner we went to the Hotel Restaurant and we loved it! the menu for €60.00 had some real surprises on presentation and taste.
The Breakfast is in the Datscha, a wooded house surrounded by trees and greenery. Cost €25.00 which we find a expansive for the standard food.
It has free wifi and an underground parking.
Overall, a very pleasant stay and worth to go again.

Room Tip: we had a deluxe room in the tower ( main building ) 3. floor, perfect view into the trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicagoland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Traveling offseason (mid-October) we were able to get a package price that made a two-night stay at Chateau de Riell fairly affordable. Our room (Aubepine) looked out over the lovely grounds, pool and mountains. The little sitting areas dotted here and there around the perimeter of the chateau were private oases and most afforded views to the mountains. The reception staff was friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The dining room was beautiful, each table decorated with a slightly different fall arrangement. Quality of the food (dining room) fell short of that in other R & C properties or quality French restaurants. Breakfast @ 25E (included in our package) was good: fresh croissants, pain chocolat, breads, yogurt, cheeses & fresh squeezed juice. Hot food could be ordered for a supplement. Good as it was, at 25E per person, we would have forgone breakfast/gone elsewhere had it not been incuded in our room package. It was not worth 50E. I would have given this hotel 5 stars but for the lapse in quality of food for the prices they charge.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beatrice189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights. During the off season I have found affordable deals at Chateau & Relais properties. This was such a place. Funky but elegant. A solid structure with excellent staff, funky decor, rooftop pool as well as a heated pool in the garden. I stayed in the main building and the room was large as was the bathroom - that sported two copper sinks and large Provence-like rustic tiles everywhere . The shower/bath combo was large and excellent and the toilet has a separate door.
A view of the garden and mountains was remarkable as was the excellent quality of sleep.
I did not have their breakfast because of the price ( 25 euros, if I remember correctly ) but I did have a splurge of a dinner there one night that was a meal of a lifetime. Truly.

Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank bobburgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

The lady who saw a ghost made me laugh , it could be possible . The hotel was an overnight stop for us but the area is charming , secluded but with stunning views . Perched among the forests and hills the place is one to come and relax . There is a charming pool shaded by trees and also one on the roof of the Chateau . The decoration inside gave me the feeling of being back in post war France , it was elegant and chic but maybe dated , is that bad ? I do not think so . The service was friendly , cheerful and sincere . The check in & out was excellent and smooth . The restaurant is very good , it is pricey but there are alternatives in the small village . Our meal was 100 Euro's for two but we had an excellent meal with wine etc . The hotel has lots of little nooks where you can hide away with a book , the gardens are nicely done . We stayed in one of the cottages which was fine , the room had lots of space and even a small kitchen which would be ideal for a longer stay . It could use a little work and maybe an update but overall we were glad we visited and would return without a problem .

Room Tip: we liked our cottage near the pool , nice terrace .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lacosteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We booked into a garden suite which was damp, dark, tiny, cave like and not at all the standard of a Relais & Chateau hotel. We asked to move and was offered a room in the main chateau which was much better & more spacious. On our 2nd night i was woken in the night by a figure i thought was my young daughter needing the loo, but was a ghost. It freeked me out completely, we checked out the next morning after getting no sleep and being extremely nervous. The hotel and the whole area where the thermal spa is located down the hill from the Chateau felt like i was in an episode of Lost, very strange energy. Spooky and just felt odd. Massively needs an update and redecoration. I couldnt wait to get out of the hotel !

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank rdoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

The hotel / castle is certainly in an amazing spot, surrounded by idyllic countryside and charming French villages. We were only there for 4 days but could have easily enjoyed longer. The hotel itself is full of character and quirky features - dungeons, roof top pool etc - most of which we loved. The staff were generally helpful but could have been more knowledgable on the area (did not know where to hire bikes or canoes). The restaurant certainly tries hard and produces some amazing dishes but we felt it was too expensive for the overall quality. Not ideal for vegetarians either. Overall good but not perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilipLov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Molitg-les-Bains
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Hotel
Le Grand Hotel
#2 of 2 in Molitg-les-Bains
135 reviews
12.2 mi away
Riberach Hotel Cave-Restaurant
19.6 mi away
Le Mas Trilles
Le Mas Trilles
#1 of 5 in Ceret
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Casa9 Hotel
Casa9 Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thuir
92 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Princess
Hotel Princess
#1 of 4 in Vernet-Les-Bains
155 reviews
21.7 mi away
Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau De Riell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau De Riell

Property: Chateau De Riell
Address: Chemin des Bains, 66500 Molitg-les-Bains, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Molitg-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Molitg-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau De Riell 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Agoda so you can book your Chateau De Riell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Riell Prades

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing