We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb accommodation in beautiful surroundings.”
other travellers have booked this property
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Listed properties, beautifully restored Well-appointed and stylish
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
178 reviews
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Listed properties, beautifully restored
Well-appointed and stylish
Above the vineyard on the southerly terrace, facing the clear mountain views
Mountain views from the lounge
Stunning style & character - indoors and out
Great wood stoves & free logs
Step out of the door for walks in our characterful farmland and onto the mountain
Dinner parties catered for
All king-size beds, best down duvets, pure cotton bedding
Huge showers, underfloor heating and sparkling livery in all the shower rooms
Slip out on to the sunlit terrace with a G&T, any time of day
Excellent games room - pub pool, competion standard table tennis table
Dogs welcome - there are 130 acres of grounds to run in!
Masses of Welsh poppies bloom from May to October
Dry hardwood logs being harvested for your unlimited use
The River Wye at Symonds Yat - great walks and rare Peregrine falcons
Llanthony Priory nearby
Iconic Hay Bluff in walking distance
The bedroom window views
Out on the south-facing terrace
Superbly equipped solid oak kitchens
Country antiques and regimented china & glassware
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Craswall, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 178 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Martin_Zo...
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation in beautiful surroundings.”
Reviewed 8 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

I booked Duke’s Farm (all three properties) for a family get-together to celebrate my Dad’s 60th birthday. Being a large party (my parents, five siblings plus their spouses and children, not to mention the dogs), who live all over the UK, I was delighted when I came across Ruth and Ken’s website for Duke’s Farm – I had found somewhere that could accommodate all of us! When I booked it I thought, “This seems perfect” and when we arrived I thought, “This IS perfect!” We were welcomed by Ruth who made us feel at home straight away. All three properties were absolutely delightful – very comfortable, homely and EXTREMELY well equipped. Despite being a large party, there was plenty of space for everyone. Beds were very comfortable and all properties were very clean.

In the evenings we congregated in Swallow Barn, enjoying family meals, followed by games and a glass of wine (or two!) The weather whilst there wasn’t great, but there was still plenty to keep us all entertained – from DVDs, board games, table tennis, pool table, table football, books etc. We made the most of any dry weather by having a barbeque - charcoal etc was provided. The children (and big kids like myself) loved the trampoline! As for the boys, they loved making a fire in the fire pit!

The surrounding countryside is beautiful. If you enjoy walking, you’ll be spoilt for choice. I enjoyed going running a few times, and the locals were always friendly and said hello. There is also plenty to see and do in the surrounding area. In the ‘Boot Room’ there are plenty of leaflets detailing activities to suit all tastes.

Whether you’re looking for a romantic break, quality family time or fun and games with good friends – Duke’s Farm has it all! I will definitely be recommending it to everyone I know. Thank you Ruth and Ken making our holiday perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accommodation
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2012
The spacious ground floor lounge and dining area have great views, perfect for the more sedate members of the party, while the young folk can break out to the games room, trampoline and gardens. We really understand that cleanliness, and top quality beds and bedding are real priorities when away from home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greystoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 May 2012
Dukes Farm's sunny location facing south to the mountain and our lifelong knowledge of the area give us a head's start hosting the best experience possible for our visitors.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accommodation itself
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Apr 2012
Thanks for this review - we love to hear those words "well-equipped, comfortable, tastefully decorated, peaceful and easy to heat" because we enjoy making Dukes Farm a real home from home where people can come again and again to reliably find all of the above. Great to be appreciated!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sabadell
Reviewed 10 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Apr 2012
Guests can walk out from the door over our own farmland: real freedom, and perfect for families with children and/or dogs. There are also great local walks to suit all tastes and abilities, many centred on our diverse local pubs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden.
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Apr 2012
Being able to walk on the farm and to the local pub is a great asset to guests - with or without dogs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2012 for a stay in January 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peace and quiet
Liked least: nothing...at all.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Apr 2012
We really enjoy our visitors, and providing the resources - maps, DVDs, music, guides, games - for them to get the most out of their break.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
pratch
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If you want to get away from the hustle and bustle, then you couldn't do better than Dukes Farm”
Reviewed 2 December 2011 for a stay in October 2011

This was the first time we have been to this wonderful part of the country and Dukes Farm is one of those great finds which just 'hit the spot'. If you want to walk, this is the place; If you wan't to relax, this is the place; If you want comfort, you couldn't do better. We stayed in Goose cottage, the smallest of the three properties and the moment we were shown in by our host Ruth, we knew we were going to enjoy ourselves. Everything was beautifully clean and inviting. Ken, Ruth's husband had lit the log burner and the place was warm, cosy and inviting. We walked on the farm and went to Hay on Wye and enjoyed just relaxing and being together. Ruth and Ken are great hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them. We are going back in May 2012 when we are hoping to be able to do more walking in this beautiful area. i can guarantee you will not be sorry you booked Dukes Farm for that 'away from it all' break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2011
This area has it all in spades: mountains, castles, free house pubs, foodie havens ... We enjoy helping our guests find the best, and providing real class and comfort at Dukes Farm for them to return to.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing