We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hush ......... don't tell anyone”
other travellers have booked this property
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Listed properties, beautifully restored Well-appointed and stylish
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
192 reviews
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Listed properties, beautifully restored
Well-appointed and stylish
Above the vineyard on the southerly terrace, facing the clear mountain views
Mountain views from the lounge
Stunning style & character - indoors and out
Great wood stoves & free logs
Step out of the door for walks in our characterful farmland and onto the mountain
Dinner parties catered for
All king-size beds, best down duvets, pure cotton bedding
Huge showers, underfloor heating and sparkling livery in all the shower rooms
Slip out on to the sunlit terrace with a G&T, any time of day
Excellent games room - pub pool, competion standard table tennis table
Dogs welcome - there are 130 acres of grounds to run in!
Masses of Welsh poppies bloom from May to October
Dry hardwood logs being harvested for your unlimited use
The River Wye at Symonds Yat - great walks and rare Peregrine falcons
Llanthony Priory nearby
Iconic Hay Bluff in walking distance
The bedroom window views
Out on the south-facing terrace
Superbly equipped solid oak kitchens
Country antiques and regimented china & glassware
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Craswall, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 192 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
P V
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hush ......... don't tell anyone”
Reviewed 11 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Our stay was so good we really shouldn't be telling anyone!

Ruth and Ken are the perfect hosts, a warm welcome and there if you need them. Each property has a copy of Ruth's wonderful guide/history - it is certainly worth taking the time to read. The local area is incredibly beautiful and with amazing places to be found for good quality food at reasonable prices. Great books to be found in Hay and to have locals chat to us in pubs - well that's almost unheard of!!!

We loved our stay so much that we booked again as soon as we got home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and Ruth's book
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jim b
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm welcome, very helpful, stunning scenery”
Reviewed 23 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The communications from the owners were very good, so easy to find the farm. If you like the outdoors it is a perfect place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A cosy warm cottage surrounded by stunning scenery
Liked least: Condition of the roads
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bee003
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation”
Reviewed 15 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I stayed here as one of a group on a hen weekend, we took all three cottages and the attention to detail in each cottage was superb. We arrived to lit fires and welcoming smiles. All kitchens were very well stocked and catered exceptionally well for large groups. Everything worked beautifully and a well written folder gave extra information. Kitchens, bathrooms and linen were spotlessly clean and many of us hope to make a return visit with our families.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, space and character of the cottages
Liked least: Slightly tricky recycling system
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cpalmer99...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Stunning”
Reviewed 8 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

I've just returned from an amazing stay at Dukes Farm. Myself and some friends stayed in the Swallow Barn and The Granary for a long weekend to celebrate my 30th Birthday.

What more could we ask for through cold December days and nights! Dukes has an amazing log fire burning away to keep you warm, lovely bedrooms, nice clean bathrooms, a well stocked kitched and beautiful living spaces. And better still, you wake in the morning with views across the valley to the black mountains.

We were made to feel very welcome (including our pooch) by Ruth and Ken, who also had extensive knowledge of the area and could recommend some stunning walks and nices pubs to eat and drink at.

We will certainly be returning to this idylic place,

Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful properties and and amazing views
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelbel20
Kent UK
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed 21 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed in all 3 of the barns for a long weekend - we were a party of 11 celebrating a 50th birthday.

When we arrived we met Ken who was very friendly and showed us around. We quickly found that the barns were very well equipped, from kitchen utensils, to games and a folder giving useful information about everything you could think of.

Everyone agreed how quickly they felt at home. I'm sure the warm log fire helped this, along with the beautiful view out of window in the living area.

For us as a large group, we found that having the 3 barns worked very well. We all made use of the large living and kitchen area in Swallow Barn, but were also very grateful of the extra space of the other barns.

During our stay we felt reassured that we could seek help/advice from Ruth or Ken if necessary, but were otherwise left to enjoy our weekend.

Unfortunately the weather was not kind to us during our stay so we were unable to explore the local area, but we all agreed that we would love to come back and do just that as we were so pleased with our stay.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sws19
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful, friendly, rare experience of rural idyll”
Reviewed 14 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed in Swallow Barn for a family celebration, and were all really impressed with the space, beautiful environment, wonderful views across the mountain valley and great kitchen for gathering and preparing a feast! The bedrooms were comfortable and the flexible space much appreciated by all of us. We also ate out in the nearby Bridge Inn, Michaelchurch Escley, which was very welcoming and served good food and the best pint of Butty Bach we found all week.
Two of us stayed for longer in Goose Cotts and enjoyed the warm and peace by the wood stove, in the middle of blustery weather.
Both properties are skilfully converted from barns with love and imaginative creativity. I loved the small details, good interesting pictures to look at, stone arrangements to appreciate, and the running babble of the stream. We walked to the ancient cist at the top of the farm, most interesting. Also, handy for Hay, great walking and cycling area, visited Arthur's Stones nearby - spectacular, lots to do.
Ken and Ruth are brilliant hosts and we enjoyed meeting them very much. This is a special place and we would love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and beauty
Liked least: Weather!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laatkins
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“We all loved it!”
Reviewed 11 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Dukes Farm was a perfect getaway for a city-family-reunion. It was well worth the journey, a beautiful easy drive, getting lost on the country roads, and far away enough from the stresses of life, and good motivation for us to get out and about. The directions to get there were fantastic for even map readers.

We were greeted with a warm smile, and lots of details for our stay and activities. The hosts have a great knowledge for the area, and were very hospitable in providing directions and all others things we needed (from boots to games, and even freshly picked apples). But the hosts were already fantastic when it came to communication in preparation for the trip, with all my family's questions. They also provided us with biscuits and option of tea or coffee for our stay, which is nice be welcomed to.

The kids excitedly ran around the house, chose their room and felt right at home, unpacked, and showed the rest of us around. We loved the atmosphere of the beautifully furnished barn, and especially the log fireplace. When we were all together, the living area fit us all comfortably, while the mothers were cooking in the fully well-supplied kitchen (which could have done with a knife sharpener and a pair of scissors). And the dining area sat us all, with 2 little ones in provided high chairs. With the big screen tv on in the background, wifi, games being played on the floor, kids and big kids running in and out to the games room, there was ample for all of us!

We were sad to not have used the Goose cottage much, apart from those that slept there, but it certainly was cosy for those in the family that needed a break from the kids, or even to watch something else. And the views of the valley from the adjoining terrace was spectacular to wake up to each morning.

A bit chilly in the morning and evening, but we had great weather for and Oct-Nov weekend. The kids enjoyed the trampoline, and the Wendy house. We really enjoyed walking their farmland. And we all felt safe and well-rested. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The real wood fire
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2015
Whoops! - didn't notice the kitchen scissors had gone AWOL until after you left. Sorry.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing