We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very comfortable place to stay in an amazing...”
other travellers have booked this property
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Listed properties, beautifully restored Well-appointed and stylish
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
172 reviews
Lovely living accommodation throughout
Listed properties, beautifully restored
Well-appointed and stylish
Above the vineyard on the southerly terrace, facing the clear mountain views
Mountain views from the lounge
Stunning style & character - indoors and out
Great wood stoves & free logs
Step out of the door for walks in our characterful farmland and onto the mountain
Dinner parties catered for
All king-size beds, best down duvets, pure cotton bedding
Huge showers, underfloor heating and sparkling livery in all the shower rooms
Slip out on to the sunlit terrace with a G&T, any time of day
Excellent games room - pub pool, competion standard table tennis table
Dogs welcome - there are 130 acres of grounds to run in!
Masses of Welsh poppies bloom from May to October
Dry hardwood logs being harvested for your unlimited use
The River Wye at Symonds Yat - great walks and rare Peregrine falcons
Llanthony Priory nearby
Iconic Hay Bluff in walking distance
The bedroom window views
Out on the south-facing terrace
Superbly equipped solid oak kitchens
Country antiques and regimented china & glassware
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Craswall, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 172 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sarajnash
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Very comfortable place to stay in an amazing setting”
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We used all three properties for a week long family get-together. Ruth and Ken, the owners were extremely friendly and helpful. The cottages were very well equipped with lovely comfortable beds. The facilities were perfect for all ages - the children particularly loved the trampoline - the grandparents loved the beautiful view whilst watching the children on the trampoline! We really didn't need to go far all week apart from local walks with the children and our dog. The games room was also well used during our stay as the weather wasn't brilliant. If you are looking to go out in the car and do lots of sightseeing it is probably not the place for you but if you a secluded setting, enjoy walking, cooking family meals in the large double oven and just enjoying the stunning scenery I would highly recommend Dukes Farm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful setting
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor679
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay at in wonderful countryside!”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We booked all the accommodation at Dukes Farm so that all our family could celebrate our Golden Wedding and it was an excellent choice. The farm is set in some spectacular scenery in a really remote place just sheep for company. The three cottages suited us ideally as we all had our own space but could meet up to eat or drink together in the evening. The young children loved it as they were able to hold the lambs, something they have never done before and were perfectly safe as there is no traffic to be aware of. We did some really good walks and when the weather was wet we drove out to Hereford, Brecon, Abergavenny, Hay on Wye which are places we have never been to before but are in easy reach although the very narrow lanes make it a bit hairy at times. Most things are provided for making it very comfortable we just arranged for a food drop from Tesco to see us through our five day stay. Everyone really enjoyed our stay and the children want to do it again, which always a good recommendation. Thank you Ruth and Ken.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark L
Old Basing, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I guarentee you will want to come back here”
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

There's so much positive that's been written about this place already... In summary it surpassed my expectations. All 3 cottages are very tastefully and stylishly furnished, spacious, and have everything you need. The view from the terrace will blow you away and you won't get tired of it. Ruth and Ken just let you get on with it and encourage you to make as much noise as you like. Just great accommodation, gorgeous area and perfect for large family bonding.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jem L
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous stay, in beautiful accommodation in lovely setting with wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We hired all 3 'cottages' for ourselves with friends in our softball team. It was a most successful break, and we all enjoyed it immensely. Our hosts Ruth and Ken, could not have been more helpful and welcoming. The accommodation is so well appointed and beautiful, and the wood burning stoves were wonderful.
We also loved the countryside with walks with our 2 dogs especially the 'Cat's Back'. Cooking the evening meals in the Swallow Barn, and playing board games was especially great fun, as was table tennis and pool in the games room.
Everyone enjoyed it immensely, and we want to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole package.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sloubylou
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mrr”
Reviewed 16 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This place is outstanding! Other than the amazing location, the owners are the kindest people and cannot do enough for you.

What a find, will definitely come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P V
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hush ......... don't tell anyone”
Reviewed 11 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Our stay was so good we really shouldn't be telling anyone!

Ruth and Ken are the perfect hosts, a warm welcome and there if you need them. Each property has a copy of Ruth's wonderful guide/history - it is certainly worth taking the time to read. The local area is incredibly beautiful and with amazing places to be found for good quality food at reasonable prices. Great books to be found in Hay and to have locals chat to us in pubs - well that's almost unheard of!!!

We loved our stay so much that we booked again as soon as we got home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and Ruth's book
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jim b
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm welcome, very helpful, stunning scenery”
Reviewed 23 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The communications from the owners were very good, so easy to find the farm. If you like the outdoors it is a perfect place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A cosy warm cottage surrounded by stunning scenery
Liked least: Condition of the roads
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing