We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely stunning”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
230 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Craswall, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 230 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Rose B
1 review
“Absolutely stunning”
Reviewed 20 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I would absolutely recommend staying at Duke's Farm in the lovely cottages. Ruth was a fantastic host, so very helpful and kind. I went with a large group of people for a hen party. We stayed in the Swallow and the Granary which adjoin each other and look out over the hills. It was the perfect setting, so relaxing and the views were breathtaking. Do not hesitate in booking to stay at Duke's Farm. Absolutely perfect stay.

Date of stay: June 2016
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
29 Jul 2016
Thanks, Rose!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca E
1 review
“Absolutely fantastic!!!”
Reviewed 25 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We hired all three cottages, and they were all absolutely fantastic. Prior to the trip I bombarded Ruth with question after question and nothing was too much trouble. The whole stay was everything we had hoped for and much more. The view is Incredible, the location is perfect. The cottages are beautiful and are very much 'home from home' equipt with everything you need. The local pub is about a mile away but within walking distance and does lovely food. Tesco delivered our groceries in the requested time frame and were very helpful. 12 of us visited Dukes Farm we all loved it. It was just a perfect family trip away. The accommodation and location are just first class. We will definitely go back to Dukes Farm. Thank you Ruth and Ken for all your help and for providing everything you could possibly need for a trip away.

Date of stay: May 2016
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetinpot
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Swallow Barn - Tranquil, Calm, Serene and much more...”
Reviewed 20 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Dr. P n me stayed here in April and got exactly what we came for – a good rest in a quiet peaceful location with fantastic views over the Black Mountains. Excuse the plagiarism but, the description on the box is 100% accurate, “…they have stunning mountain views in one of the most remote and scenic parts of southern Britain… …the accommodation is spacious and stylish to a luxurious standard with underfloor heating, English oak fittings, antique furniture, high quality white goods, pure down duvets and cotton bedding…”

As well as Ross-on Wye, Hay-on-Wye, Monmouth and many other places of interest, there are two ‘must see’ destinations nearby. The first is Ruth’s “off the wall” art studio (for want of a more accurate description). We’d love to know if Ruth managed to prise a lump of plaster of Paris off a piece of old oak fence post and turn it into a thing of beauty. The second is Ken’s "hobby shop", an understatement, ask Ken about it when you meet him, you may even be treated to a round trip via golf buggy – really!

We had all four seasons during our short break with snow on the hills to the West and glorious sunshine in the same day. If you want “quiet” then go and stay in Swallow Barn, there is no passing traffic (no through road) and no street lights to spoil the night sky, the stars are amazing.

Ruth and Ken are a pair of very talented individuals (wide and varied) who, as a team, make great hosts, never tiring at the zillions of questions I bombarded them with. They have rich historical knowledge of the area are are happy to share it.

Lastly, the fire was the icing on the cake for us, so easy to forget the time as you sit and stare into the flames with a glass of yer fave….

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet location and the fire
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn H
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in a stunning setting”
Reviewed 18 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Ruth made us feel so welcome from the second we arrived. We stayed in Goose Cotts which is much more spacious than the website describes. The kitchen is fantastically well equipped, the bed super comfortable and the shower is excellent. Its lovely to wake up to the sound of the spring outside the door and to sit outside in the sunshine. The location is stunningly beautiful and Ruth had lots of suggestions of places to go and things to see and do. The boot room was a lifesaver! Its full of maps, books, games, dvds and thank goodness suncream.

I cannot recommend Dukes Farm highly enough. We will definitely be back time and time again

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its a home away from home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey B
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous accommodation, welcoming hosts, superb scenery - already planning our next stay !”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A huge thank you to Ruth and Ken for hosting our Cousins Weekend 2016 (12 people/4 families) using all 3 accommodations. All facilities are excellent with obvious thought having been given to the small details. The ratio of bathrooms to bedrooms also a real positive for such a large group as ours. The main central barn easily accommodated our family meals and evening get together and the kitchen well stocked with all kitchen utensils needed for meal preparation. The views from Dukes Farm are very special, and the ridge walk nearby (Cats Back) an absolute must. Would highly recommend this accommodation, and as above, we are already planning our next visit!!

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything !
Liked least: Nothing !
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous accommodation in stunning setting”
Reviewed 24 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Our second visit to Dukes Farm and we stayed in the Granary again. It was just as comfortable and welcoming as our first stay. Beautifully appointed, full of character, quiet and peaceful, and so cosy thanks to the underfloor heating and the huge log burner. The view from the terrace towards the Black Mountains is simply breathtaking and we could have sat there all day admiring the view, watching the lambs and ewes, and listening to the birds. You are spoilt for choice with what to do in the area; we walked from the door up the Cat's Back, lots of other walks straight from the door too, and we also drove down to Abergavenny and walked up the Sugar Loaf for an amazing 360 degree vista. Easy to get to Hay on Wye, a lovely little market town with loads of book shops and good food outlets too. Not too far to get to the amazing National Trust Weir garden too. If you like ice cream head down to Rowlestone Court Farm for delicious ice cream made on the premises using milk from their own cows. There was simply so much to do in the area we ran out of time! As this has to be simply one of our favourite places in UK we're coming back for another week in September - hopefully the weather will be as kind as it was this month however if not there's nowhere we'd rather be 'holed up'! A last, but not least word about Ken and Ruth. Lovely, friendly, helpful owners - full of good advice about the area and great to have around, and nothing is too much trouble for them.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, owners and peace and quiet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarajnash
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very comfortable place to stay in an amazing setting”
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We used all three properties for a week long family get-together. Ruth and Ken, the owners were extremely friendly and helpful. The cottages were very well equipped with lovely comfortable beds. The facilities were perfect for all ages - the children particularly loved the trampoline - the grandparents loved the beautiful view whilst watching the children on the trampoline! We really didn't need to go far all week apart from local walks with the children and our dog. The games room was also well used during our stay as the weather wasn't brilliant. If you are looking to go out in the car and do lots of sightseeing it is probably not the place for you but if you a secluded setting, enjoy walking, cooking family meals in the large double oven and just enjoying the stunning scenery I would highly recommend Dukes Farm.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful setting
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.