We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A culinary adventure”
Review of La Cuisine - CLOSED

La Cuisine
Price range: US$15 - US$29
Cuisines: European, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Perigueux, France
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A culinary adventure”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We enjoyed an excellent lunch which cleverly combined the best of Perigordine products with innovative presentations. The proprietor took great care to explain the dishes on the menu to us, either in French or English, and we were pleasantly spoilt for choice. We chose a variety of dishes all of which were both interesting and tasty. We appreciated the simple pricing of the menu's, and were pleased to benefit from the "Wednesday Happy Day" half price offer.
The decor is modern and slightly quirky and the ambiance is light, airy and friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pompey252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    15
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cahors
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Imaginative food, modern atmosphere and welcoming host”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We picked La Cuisine based on TA reviews, so had great expectations. On arrival we were warmly welcomed into the modern interior. The food was explained in detail - important because it is prepared with great care using modern techniques (eg very long, very slow cooking).
I chose dishes I love, and even then was pleasantly surprised by the taste and presentation.
And don't think that refinement means you will leave hungry. Even the foie gras was served in generous portions.
We also appreciated the restaurants attitude to wine - a glass or a bottle or anything in between.
Sadly we didn't manage a desert; next time perhaps.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunnyandles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Coquille, France
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly rated”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful meal at La Cuisine today, the food was of a high standard,well presented and typically French at it's best. The menu was explained clearly, the food produced locally and we will be taking other friends and family there on a regular basis. The starter was one of the best that we have ever tasted. Excellent in Avery respect, and good value for money.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Germain Des Pres
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The place to eat.”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Top quality, local produce, perfectly cooked and artistically presented with dishes explained by warm hosts. You are made to feel welcome and You are the important one. In a hurry, just say so. Want to luxuriate over the food; you are not pressured to leave. Definitely the restaurant for 'foodies'.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sallepenche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shifnal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“imaginative, tasty; you are in Perigord”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Family run:The owner took the trouble to explain the dishes and their provenance ( real fresh food from the local area). Due to my interest he also gave me a dish for degustation( To taste).; fabulous food but NOT for those just wanting plain old chicken 'n chips+ a diet coke. (There's a McDonalds in Limoges) This is a proper restaurant ( to restore =restaurer).

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank anita51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cuisine also viewed

 
Thiviers, Dordogne
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing