We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and nice B&B”
Review of Gite McCallum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gite McCallum
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Danville
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed at Gite McCallum due to a golf event in Abestos. We had good sleep, bed was comfortable and room was clean. Breakfast was incredible !! Lynda and Eddie are lovely hosts. Will definitely recommend people to stay there. Best regards, Doug and Sharon

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharonlimht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

There is good reason that Gite McCallum has received consistent 5 stars....it deserves them.
There is nothing to criticize. The photos leave nothing out. Lynda and Eddie, the proprietors, have the perfect ballance of helpfulness and friendly distance. The property is a modest but very nice turn of the last century home, that they have authentically and tastefully restored. The furnishings and decorations are all comfortable. Two of the rooms are ample. The bedding up to date with piles of pillows and the bed very comfortable. The breakfast would be worth traveling for. Two courses with lots of side tastings of breads, jams and cheeses. Really something.

Danville has several good places to eat but will probably serve best as a hub for other activities.
(On one rainy day we took off after breakfast and had a great day in Old Quebec City. The two hour drive up 116(?) was quite scenic.

We liked this B&B so much that we might return just to stay here a couple of days. We don't have a huge experience with B&B's but this was the nicest we've been to.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tango9111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed at Gite McCallum on a recommendation and they were spot on! What a lovely B&B.
Lynda and Eddie are lovely hosts, and started our stay with a glass of wine and interesting conversation. The bed in the Connemarra Suite was great, and the good sleep was followed by an incredible breakfast. Lynda creates works of art which tasted great and Eddie cheerfully kept the coffee flowing! They were always available for local information or just to chat, and gave us bikes to use. We are B&B regulars and Gite McCallum is one of the Best!
Patti & Gregg

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelB0y61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

My wife and I went from Montreal to Quebec City (through Sherbrooke) cycling via la Route Verte. We only stayed at BnB's, while they were all great, this one got a bit of an extra edge. Hosts were super friendly we spent an hour or so of tea time with them talking about our travels, etc. Then they made a reservation on the town's restaurant (used to be a church, a must), which included a discount, and they drove us to it (even though it's a 10 min walk). The breakfast was the best, in term of attention to detail (wild boar paté, pollen sweetened yogurt, etc). The place is full of little details, like many books (picture books, children books, many Quebec related books). The place is spotless and beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCyBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Just got back from a 3 day stay in Gite McCallum,and I can honestly say this has been one of the best long weekend breaks we've ever had.

We are a family of three (husband, wife, 5 yr old girl) and stayed in the Connemara room which
was perfect for us. As a four star location this place has everything you could want to make you feel homely. Linda and Eddie are the perfect hosts, they offered a nice welcoming Sangria and waited for us to have settled in before mentioning that I shouldnt park on the lawn (nice touch!).

The breakfasts are fabulous - really inventive, tasty and original. Linda will offer a nice description of each cheese and its origin as well as a quick line about the flower on the dish.

The whole place is air conditioned, peaceful and artfully attired. The perfect combination, really it is superb.

Finally the pool - what a delightful oasis of fun and cooling this was on a hot summery weekend such as the one we just had. A lovely scenic view over the valley, a diving board and a slide. And its kept immaculately clean to boot. My daughter and I spent hours and hours playing in the pool, we really didnt feel the need to do almost anything else.

All in all I cannot recommend this bed and breakfast highly enough. Try it, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnehsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We have stayed at Gite McCallum in 2010 and 2011 while cycling the Green Route - La Route Verte.
The host, Linda, is extremely friendly and helpful. The house is beautiful on a lovely quiet street. The breakfasts are fabulous and very imaginative. A wonderful rest stop in a pretty town.
Ken/Diana

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenandDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Our favorite B&B in the Eastern Townships. A well-decorated and splendid Victorian house with 3 comfortable bedrooms, a beautiful lounge, surrounded by centenarian maple trees !
Breakfast meals were simply gorgeous, made of local food specialties : quail eggs, wild boar pâté, cheese, honey, etc.
Our host Lynda made our stay a memorable one, great service !
My wife and I are looking forward to going back in the summer time to try the splendid outdoor pool !
Serge G.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SergeG99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Danville
24.9 mi away
Hotel Le Floral
Hotel Le Floral
#1 of 16 in Sherbrooke
511 reviews
20.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 6 in Victoriaville
121 reviews
20.2 mi away
Z Plaza Hotel
Z Plaza Hotel
#4 of 6 in Victoriaville
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Aux Plaisirs Partages
Aux Plaisirs Partages
#2 of 3 in Warwick
6 reviews
11.7 mi away
Le Gite du Champayeur
Le Gite du Champayeur
#1 of 3 in Warwick
67 reviews
11.1 mi away
Auberge Papillon Lune
Auberge Papillon Lune
#2 of 2 in Richmond
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gite McCallum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gite McCallum

Address: 216 du Carmel | Danville, Danville, Quebec J0A 1A0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Danville
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Danville
Price Range: £76 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gite McCallum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Gite McCallum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing