We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful stay”
Review of Gite McCallum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gite McCallum
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Danville
Sherbrooke, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful stay”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The McCallum is a lovely place, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Lynda and Eddie are charming hosts. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and the breakfast is nothing less than a gastronomic work of art. After staying a night we were rested and ready to hit the road for the next section of our cycling trip. Thanks.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnandSteve2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
28
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

It's been three years since our last visit, and Lynda and Eddie have made this B&B even more attractive, if possible. They have built a backyard patio overlooking their beautiful garden, where guests can have their breakfast when weather permits. We were given the Donegal Room, a spacious unit with queen bed, couch and writing desk, plus all the bathroom toiletries one could want. Breakfast in the elegant dining room was truly a work of art: a blend of orange juice and blueberries, a colourful appetizer of fruit, berries and yogurt, followed by quail's eggs on a muffin with cheese sauce, all of which was complemented by bee pollen and edible nasturtium flowers and leaves, plus three kinds of toast, homemade jams and cheese. Lynda and Eddie are delightful, well-travelled and knowledgeable hosts. This B & B is a gem, if there ever was one. Be ready, though, for the $3.00 lodging tax plus almost 15% provincial and federal taxes.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wafljo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed at Gite McCallum due to a golf event in Abestos. We had good sleep, bed was comfortable and room was clean. Breakfast was incredible !! Lynda and Eddie are lovely hosts. Will definitely recommend people to stay there. Best regards, Doug and Sharon

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharonlimht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litchfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

There is good reason that Gite McCallum has received consistent 5 stars....it deserves them.
There is nothing to criticize. The photos leave nothing out. Lynda and Eddie, the proprietors, have the perfect ballance of helpfulness and friendly distance. The property is a modest but very nice turn of the last century home, that they have authentically and tastefully restored. The furnishings and decorations are all comfortable. Two of the rooms are ample. The bedding up to date with piles of pillows and the bed very comfortable. The breakfast would be worth traveling for. Two courses with lots of side tastings of breads, jams and cheeses. Really something.

Danville has several good places to eat but will probably serve best as a hub for other activities.
(On one rainy day we took off after breakfast and had a great day in Old Quebec City. The two hour drive up 116(?) was quite scenic.

We liked this B&B so much that we might return just to stay here a couple of days. We don't have a huge experience with B&B's but this was the nicest we've been to.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tango9111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed at Gite McCallum on a recommendation and they were spot on! What a lovely B&B.
Lynda and Eddie are lovely hosts, and started our stay with a glass of wine and interesting conversation. The bed in the Connemarra Suite was great, and the good sleep was followed by an incredible breakfast. Lynda creates works of art which tasted great and Eddie cheerfully kept the coffee flowing! They were always available for local information or just to chat, and gave us bikes to use. We are B&B regulars and Gite McCallum is one of the Best!
Patti & Gregg

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelB0y61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

My wife and I went from Montreal to Quebec City (through Sherbrooke) cycling via la Route Verte. We only stayed at BnB's, while they were all great, this one got a bit of an extra edge. Hosts were super friendly we spent an hour or so of tea time with them talking about our travels, etc. Then they made a reservation on the town's restaurant (used to be a church, a must), which included a discount, and they drove us to it (even though it's a 10 min walk). The breakfast was the best, in term of attention to detail (wild boar paté, pollen sweetened yogurt, etc). The place is full of little details, like many books (picture books, children books, many Quebec related books). The place is spotless and beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCyBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Just got back from a 3 day stay in Gite McCallum,and I can honestly say this has been one of the best long weekend breaks we've ever had.

We are a family of three (husband, wife, 5 yr old girl) and stayed in the Connemara room which
was perfect for us. As a four star location this place has everything you could want to make you feel homely. Linda and Eddie are the perfect hosts, they offered a nice welcoming Sangria and waited for us to have settled in before mentioning that I shouldnt park on the lawn (nice touch!).

The breakfasts are fabulous - really inventive, tasty and original. Linda will offer a nice description of each cheese and its origin as well as a quick line about the flower on the dish.

The whole place is air conditioned, peaceful and artfully attired. The perfect combination, really it is superb.

Finally the pool - what a delightful oasis of fun and cooling this was on a hot summery weekend such as the one we just had. A lovely scenic view over the valley, a diving board and a slide. And its kept immaculately clean to boot. My daughter and I spent hours and hours playing in the pool, we really didnt feel the need to do almost anything else.

All in all I cannot recommend this bed and breakfast highly enough. Try it, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnehsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Danville
24.9 mi away
Hotel Le Floral
Hotel Le Floral
#1 of 16 in Sherbrooke
478 reviews
20.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 6 in Victoriaville
116 reviews
11.6 mi away
Le Gite du Champayeur
Le Gite du Champayeur
#1 of 3 in Warwick
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Auberge au Fil des Saisons
Auberge au Fil des Saisons
#1 of 7 in Victoriaville
34 reviews
11.7 mi away
Aux Plaisirs Partages
Aux Plaisirs Partages
#2 of 3 in Warwick
6 reviews
23.9 mi away
Auberge A La Bonne Votre
Auberge A La Bonne Votre
#1 of 4 in Drummondville
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gite McCallum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gite McCallum

Property: Gite McCallum
Address: 216 du Carmel | Danville, Danville, Quebec J0A 1A0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Danville
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Danville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gite McCallum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Gite McCallum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing